We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Went to a joint 70th birthday and Silver Wedding Anniversary party at the weekend. Had afternoon tea in the conservatory. It was lovely, more sandwiches and cakes than could be eaten and fabulous warm scones with jam and cream . Yummy. Nothing was too much trouble for the attentive waiting staff who were all polite and cheerful. The happy couple stayed the night in one of the rooms in the garden. They said it was perfect. Although did not eat in the restaurant it looked lovely and like stepping back in time, Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank LJ3007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,046)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

788 - 794 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

Nine of us visited for Sunday Lunch for our Mum's 80th Birthday. We started off in the very comfortable lounge where some seats were reserved for us. We had a drink there, ordered and then called through when our table was ready. The staff were incredibly helpful and the food was really lovely. To top it all, Mum was so pleased when her dessert was served to her with Happy Birthday written on the plate in chocolate sauce! It made her day. In fact, Mum was treated so lovely, she telephoned today to thank them. After our meal, we returned to the lounge for coffee. Very relaxing. Have been before and would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristina2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Dreadful place, just checked out of this overpriced hole. Found the reception desk staff unfriendly and unhelpful, both in the check-in and the check-out. Our room looked like it was a converted stable and resembled a motel at best. On the plus side, the room was clean, however the convection fan in the bathroom was so noisy, especially in the middle of the night when I had to use to loo, and woke my partner up. To add insult to injury, we were presented with a bill for £160 for a room only basis, when we were originally told that the room rate was £100 including breakfast. I did mention this to the foreign chap on checking out, but he didn't want to go. Do yourself a favour and avoid this place if you can.

Room Tip: A room in another hotel would be our tip!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyrobertsEssexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Wow what a place went last Saturday for a romantic meal.
As soon as we walked in the history hit you, We were asked for a drink immediately and were given nibbles-nice touch.
The menu was nice and easy to select something.
We were show to the table and what a delight, the restaurant was amazing and to think that was where the stables was 500 years ago.
My steak and presentation was -well it just looked to beautiful to eat, but I did ,tender was the steak. The service was friendly and efficient .
The ladies toilet oh so cute little fluffy white face cloths to wipe your hands and the lilac detail and drapes on the walls.
This is the best toilet I've been too .
I will return to the manor.......It is wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salliechannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I booked lunch for myself and eight friends (two of whom were staying at the hotel and were quite sarisified with their accommodation in clean comfortable rooms in the annexe ) for our annual get together after many years meeting at international insurance conferences. We are now long retired but still enjoy meeting to catch up and exchange the latest news of each other and our families etc. - one couple lives in Switzerland and another in Italy so meeting in the UK is always a very special time for us. I am pleased to report that our choice of the Tudors Restaurant was perfect for this occasion, We were seated at a beautifully set round table in the vaulted room in front of the magnificent period fireplace - and were attended with enthusiastic but unobtrusive professionalism by the Head Waiter Brian - for whom nothing was too much trouble! We all chose from the 3- course Menu du Jour at £21.95 which was excellent value and provided sufficient choice for all . We selected a Prosecco for our toast (and first course) followed by an Italian Red recommended by Brian and endorsed by one of our Swiss members who hails from Florence! The service from Brian and his staff was timely but unhurried and after the meal we were invited to take our coffee and petits fours amongst the comfy chairs and sofas in the lounge. This proved to be a great way to end the meal and, reluctant to rouse ourselves from our post prandial relaxation, we were in danger of staying for dinner too! However, we all bade our farewells at about 5pm vowing in the not too distant future to repeat this enjoyable experience at the Marygreen Manor.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here for two nights as our daughter Sarah was getting married locally. Our daughter stayed in one of the suites. We would have rated the hotel excellent, however a piercing fire alarm was sounded, in error, in all the rooms in the early hours twice within 15 minutes and this is not conducive to a bride getting a good nights sleep. Furthermore the next day the reception staff were dismissive when it came to being sorry and later the next day I was told by another person who lives locally that they had had a problem with the fire alarms.Notwithstanding this my comments are as follows:-

We had an additional bed put in the room for my mother and for two nights this worked well.

Character and ambiance of the main hotel is lovely and very impressive

The gardens in the courtyard around which the garden rooms face are lovely.

Service at breakfast was excellent and the English breakfast was good.

We had dinner in the lounge with friends and the food was very good. It did appear later that we could have had a set meal (2 or 3 course). We were not offered this choice and only became aware of it when we were offered the dessert menu. Service again from our waiter was excellent.

Everything considered I would recommend the Mary Green and without the fire alarm experience the rating would have been excellent . I think some reaction from the hotel about the alarm would have helped, particularly as most residents had been woken and some reassurance at the time should have been given.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenandJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGMManagement, General Manager at Marygreen Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for your review. We were glad to read you were happy with the majority of your stay with us.

Our fire alarm system is provided for the safety of our guests. Modern systems are very sensitive and false alarms can be caused by a number of factors including insects, hair spray, cigarette smoke in rooms or, in this particular case, a faulty detector head. We are very sorry for the inconvenience caused. Our system is serviced regularly to maintain performance and I would like to advise you that our last false alarm was over 12 months ago. Unfortunately you have been misinformed by your local source as we certainly do not have a "problem" with our alarm.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed here for a few nights and I will be honest and say I wasn't sure what to expect... However I received a warm welcome, a very good room with a spa bath...

Staff were excellent, very attentive and very helpful... can't really say much more!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fraser M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brentwood
1.7 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
770 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Brentwood Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Brentwood
Holiday Inn Brentwood
#4 of 4 in Brentwood
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
8 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Margaretting
390 reviews
8 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marygreen Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marygreen Manor Hotel

Address: London Road, Brentwood CM14 4NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Borough of Brentwood > Brentwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Price Range: $76 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marygreen Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marygreen Manor Hotel is a fine example of early sixteenth-century architecture in Brentwood, Essex. Beautifully presented and centrally located, just minutes from M25/J28, with easy access to London & the Home Counties. Our Tudor Manor House offers a variety of accommodation from Luxurious 4 Poster Tudor Suites to our Delightful Courtyard Garden Rooms. Marygreen Manor is also home to the 2AA Rosette Tudors Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marygreen Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marygreen Manor Brentwood
Marygreen Manor Hotel Brentwood, Essex, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing