We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I can't vouch for the accommodation as I visited for a meal but was so impressed not only by the food, but the wonderful service. I would definately recommend this gem of a venue. The atmosphere was lovely, the food probably the best I have ever eaten. It was expensive but I believe in this case you pay for quality.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loupo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    255
    96
    26
    38
See reviews for
241
273
32
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here while visiting Essex for a friend's wedding. He booked us in here thinking that we Yanks could use a little "oldy worldy" place with some character. He was right. We were perfectly happy with our first garden-view room but upon arrival maintenance arrived to tell us the heat was leaking. Without a single word on our part they upgraded us to a small suite in the newer part of the hotel and it was lovely. Very comfortable, very quiet.
The food in the pub is grand. My husband is STILL raving about the Shepherd's Pie a month later.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate12NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were given a voucher for afternoon tea as a gift. I had no idea this gem of a hotel existed, and what a lovely surprise. Tea was delicious! Perfect sandwiches, lovely cakes, and amazing scones. The waiters were superb. Great atmosphere. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeggyAnderson19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Very positive experience for a first time business meeting held in the Samuel Pepys Room. Light and airy, fully equipped - refreshments very good. Staff very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Will certainly look to using the venue again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We visited here in early June and will certainly return when visiting this area. It's in a great location set back from the main road with ample parking. The initial view of the building is pleasing on the eye both inside and out. All the staff were very helpful and attentive. We had a garden room which was spotlessly clean, of good size and well appointed. the only criticism of the bedroom was that the frame of the bed protruded from the mattress and was not obvious due to the valance sheet; my wife bruised her shin. Food in the restaurant was lovely, salted or un salted butter is not that pretentious! All in all a very pleasant hotel that I recommend to couples or single travellers

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Best hotel for staying in Brentwood when visiting HQ of Ford UK. Loads of history in the buildings. Bedrooms, meeting rooms and common areas are full of exposed beams, low ceilings etc.. Not your average bland business hotel. Staff are very engaging but border on the Fawlty Towers kind of hospitality, charming but just not quite getting it right!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hector18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lot-et-Garonne, France
Level Contributor
515 reviews
247 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night on a business trip. Marygreen Manor is a historic building that has obviously been adapted for use as a hotel. Unfortunately, elements of it are ruined. The car park and reception area really need sorting out - they are just so unattractive. My room was one of those outside of the main building around a little quadrangle at the back. It only had windows on one side, meaning that the bathroom and bedroom had no window. It is strangely designed in that you have to climb up a big step to get into the small sitting area, then go up a couple more steps into the bedroom and yet more to the bathroom. It would be a nightmare for anyone with mobility issues. The room itself was fine and clean. The mineral water and trouser press were welcome features.

I had dinner at the hotel in the main restaurant. It's probably one of the most pretentious hotel restaurants I've been to in years! When traveling on business one really wants something simple, healthy, fresh and well cooked. The menu is complicated and OTT. Bread with 2 types of butter, amuse bouche, a pre-desert desert (yes, you did read that right!) and so on. All completely unnessary and just calories for that sake of calories!

Perhaps this hotel doesn't want business travellers - it does seem very wedding orientated - but if they do then I'd suggest a simpler menu option.

Breakfast was good and the coffee delicious.

I might stay here again but would think twice about it unless some more appropriate dining options are available.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francophileonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brentwood
1.7 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
701 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Brentwood
Holiday Inn Brentwood
#4 of 4 in Brentwood
620 reviews
8.1 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
396 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Bell Inn Hotel
The Bell Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Horndon-on-the-Hill
294 reviews
8.0 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Chelmsford
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marygreen Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marygreen Manor Hotel

Property: Marygreen Manor Hotel
Address: London Road, Brentwood CM14 4NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Borough of Brentwood > Brentwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marygreen Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marygreen Manor Hotel is a fine example of early sixteenth-century architecture in Brentwood, Essex. Beautifully presented and centrally located, just minutes from M25/J28, with easy access to London & the Home Counties. Our Tudor Manor House offers a variety of accommodation from Luxurious 4 Poster Tudor Suites to our Delightful Courtyard Garden Rooms. Marygreen Manor is also home to the 2AA Rosette Tudors Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Marygreen Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marygreen Manor Brentwood
Marygreen Manor Hotel Brentwood, Essex, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing