We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Brentwood
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Croydon
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, and friendly staff”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night when going to Sugar Hut. We had previously stayed in the Travelodge Brentwood, but decided to try this hotel as its much closer to Brentwood High Street (only £6.50 in a cab).

We booked a family room for 3 adults, which had a double bed and double sofa bed. The room was clean, and comfortable just what we needed for an overnight stay.

The reception staff were really welcoming on our arrival, and provided all the info we needed for our stay.

We had breakfast included in our room rate. The breakfast was ok, though could have been a bit warmer and the buffet should be monitored as the ran out of items which then took ages to be refilled. However the waitress staff were really friendly and provided a good service.

Would stay here again when going to Sugar Hut, just right for an over night stay :-)

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AngelaThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    174
    147
    72
    70
See reviews for
89
92
25
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Very disappointed with this hotel. Found the staff attitude to be appalling. Slow service in the evening at the bar, mainly due to not enough staff on. Communication was also a barrier, as English wasn't the first language of the staff working that night. We had the awkward scenario of having to account for our drinks and meals individually and as there were almost 20 of us this did take a bit of organising. The waiter huffed and puffed his way through it though, making it clear that he wasn't happy! Breakfast was an experience with some of us being completely ignored by the lady offering tea and coffee, and depending on where you sat the staff constantly bumped into you (without apology) as the tables were too close together. Having said that I did enjoy an early morning swim; pool area and showers overdue for refurb but still ok.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5LW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Brentwood, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear 5LW,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I am deeply sorry for the unacceptable service you have received from our staff. I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

We all hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The title says it all really.
Firstly I am an Intercontinental Ambassador and stay in hotels all around the world. This establishment falls within one of the worst I have ever had the misfortune to stay in.
The website is somewhat decieving and when you do finally arrive in charmless Essex you will see what I mean.
It's January, been snowing and they haven't made the effort to even clear a pathway for their patrons.
Receptionist does nothing to enthuse me and I am not greeted as I am normally. I get given my room key after asking for a CC authorisation despite my Abassador file having an active number loaded. Just as she remembers I get a voucher for a drink and snack at the bar.
When I have walked to the far end of the hotel I reach my delapidated room. Once inside I overlook even more of an uncleared car park.
By this point I just want to get out of this place. I order room service and unpack.
Bedding was frayed and air conditioning faulty.
The food arrives with not much service.
I eat, I sleep and wake up early the next morning to depart.
Little did I expect a queue before 5am in the morning and more so someone who has to spread their small hotel bill over multiple credit cards. Sums up the area really.
Would not recommend or stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrumpLasVegasNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Brentwood, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear TrumpLasVegasNV,

Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay with. I am deeply sorry you received services that was less than satisfactory. We are hospitality professionals and pride ourselves on delivering world class service. You are welcome to send an email regarding the details of your experience at IHGCare@ihg.com.

I look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brentwood hotels

Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Thankfully we only stayed one night and only for sleeping, the room we had, being number 19, was overall rather dirty in terms of the carpet which had bad stains, looked like 'blood' in places, with the 2 chairs being worn and tired. The bed appeared clean and was quite comfortable, the shower area needed that 'little extra' on the cleaning front and the noise from the traffic outside should be noted from the A12 which is only short distance away.
Reception staff were friendly, we did not try the breakfast as we were time restrained but overall the cleanliness of the rooms need to be questioned from our experience - more like a 2 star facility therefore this should be reflected in the charges. The walkways leading to the rooms were outdated, in places rather dirty, personally I think it is due to the cleaning staff not taking too much care in their day to day duties which is so much in evidence these days wherever you go.
Being a Holiday Inn I was very surprised on the quality of the establishment having stayed in many on business trips Globally, is it the worse I have stayed at?, well yes which confirms what has been said by a previous reviewer based upon the cleanliness of the room especially the blood on the carpet which is unforgivable!

Room Tip: Do not choose a room A12 side of the hotel as noise can be disturbing during busy times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Brentwood, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear John C,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of the room. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2013

10 of us Ladies stayed at the Holiday Inn In Brentwood Last night and the Hotel was perfect for what we wanted. We arrived around 2pm and just by walking in the reception I knew it was going to be a good hotel to stay in for the night. We were able to check in Straight away and the receptionist's were very friendly, offering to change money for us from pound coins to notes for our Mini bus (In which they did not have to do). When we were walking up the corridor we could tell it was clean which is a main priority for me!!!

We had four rooms between 10 of us, in which we were all put next to each other. As we entered our hotel Rooms we were very impressed with how clean and spacious the room was, to be honest it is one of the best Hotels I've personally stayed in for a girls night out!! It had everything we needed... Plenty of room to hang up clothes, a double bed and also a single bed (as there were 3 of us in a room), A flat screen Tv, 3 mirrors (leaving us with one each to get ourselves ready in), A dressing table, The beds were comfortable and The bathroom was also a decent size. Also as we were put next to each other we were able to open a door from our room into our friends room which we found very good and were quite excited about!! (This is usually locked though if your not staying next to each other and the people next door cannot get through to your room unless you open it for them).

The only down side to the hotel we found was when we had drinks at the bar they were quite slow serving and as it got busy they only had 1 member of staff on. In the morning we all had breakfast which was quite expensive for what it was, we also had to wait at the bar for about 10 minutes before a member of staff came to serve us.

Overall I would 100% recommend this hotel and I will deffinately stay in it again when I return to Brentwood in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GirlsBigNightsOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I felt I should review the Holiday Inn Brentwood as it seems to have had a bit of a slating on here and I think it's largely undeserved.

True, the hotel needs a fair bit of redecoration. However, I was in room 228 and it was spotlessly clean,quiet and the bed was comfortable. I love the blackout curtains which ensure that you are not woken up at dawn. I put a 'do not disturb' up and I was not disturbed. I know this might seem like a silly comment but I have often done this in the past only to be woken at 7 by vacuuming outside of my room!

Gemma checked me in and she was incredibly polite, friendly and she genuinely seemed happy in her work. She is a credit to the team. At breakfast all the servers were very friendly, nothing was too much trouble and everything was done with a smile. Whenever you passed a member of staff in the hotel they smiled and said hello. This is definitely not the case everywhere.

I used the swimming pool, steam room and sauna. Again, it is fair to say that the swimming pool area could use some redecoration but I did not let this put me off.

Yes, the walk in prices are pretty high but don't forget that this hotel is only half an hour from The City. Plus, I am sure most people book in advance online for a reasonable rate. I got my room plus breakfast for £80. I was also upgraded as my Priority Club status was recognised and I also got a free drink in the bar for the same reason.

I can imagine that this is a different hotel at the weekends but for the facilities and service I think it's good value for money. That's why I always stay here when I am in this area for business.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexxxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I recently stayed in the hotel for a week and a half for a business trip. The overall experience was very poor.

The hotel is very dated and just old. The bed is very poor and not comfortable. The couch in the room was very worn and not comfortable. The window glass is thin and it seemed like it was open, such that I could hear everything in the car park.

The hallways and stairwells are also dated and dirty. I often saw dishes in the hall (from room service); the same dishes in the morning that I saw the night before. In the stairwell there was a ketchup packet on a step when I checked in, and it was still there when I checked out.

It snowed during my stay, and the hotel made no effort to clear the snow. Days after, it was still there, and we had to trudge through the slush on the way to the car.

The restaurant was good, but expensive for the food, and level of service. The Hotel does have a nice gym.

As a IHG Gold member, I have stayed in numerous Holiday Inn Hotels around the world, and this was, by far, the worst.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank dbier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Brentwood, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear dbier,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brentwood
0.4 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
1.7 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Brentwood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
12.3 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
8.1 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Brentwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Brentwood

Property: Holiday Inn Brentwood
Address: Brook Street | M25, Jct 28, Brentwood CM14 5NF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Borough of Brentwood > Brentwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Brentwood 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Brentwood is located just off junction 28 of the M25 and only 1 mile away from Ford Motor Company in Warley, and 0.5 miles from British Telecom offices. Holiday Inn Brentwood is 15 minutes from Lakeside Shopping Centre, 25 minutes from Stansted Airport, 40 minutes from Central London and is the perfect choice for business and leisure travellers alike staying in and around Essex. At the Holiday Inn Brentwood all guest rooms have air conditioning and are non-smoking. Offering a choice of standard and executive bedrooms as well as Family and 2 Accessible Bedrooms. High Speed internet access is available in guest rooms, lounge and The Academy. We offer a la carte dining in our restaurant, 24 hour room service or bar snacks. Unwind after a hard days work in our fully equipped health club, including beauty and fitness facilities, indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Holiday Inn Brentwood is a popular venue for meetings and events and can accommodate a variety of functions in The Academy which can cater for 120 people theatre style, and offers breakout facilties. Events over the forthcoming months close to us:May - Southend Air ShowFree Car Parking available. Kids Stay & Eat Free* *Terms and conditions apply. Restaurant Closed on Sundays ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, IHG, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Brentwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Brentwood Hotel Brentwood
Brentwood Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Brentwood Essex, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing