We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always excels”

The White Napkin Restaurant
Ranked #44 of 159 Restaurants in Brentwood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $26
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Experience our excellent food and selection of fine wines while dining at The White Napkin Restaurant and Bar which can be used by our guests, and is open to the public. We serve superb European neo-classical cuisine. All our food is locally sourced where possible and freshly prepared by our team of young talented chefs.
Romford, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always excels”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This was a return visit for the Champagne Afternoon Tea at the White Napkin and was just as excellent as my first experience last year.

The service is impeccable and subtle but not without personality, the atmosphere in general is cosy and welcoming. The champagne you are greeted with is gorgeous and one of the only glasses of fizz I can drink without heartburn resulting, then there are sandwiches* and scones perfectly presented and full of taste. Slivers of sweet treats finish the food experience in fabulous fashion and it's all washed down with a perfect pot of your chosen tea or coffee.

This visit was a chance for my sister and I to catch up after a busy few months so we lingered much longer than usual for the ocassion but were never made to feel rushed.

All in all we felt extremely looked after whilst eating lovely food in a very pretty place surrounded by attentive and friendly staff. I can't wait to return again and encourage locals to seek out this hidden treasure and tourists to make the effort to find it.

*We had also forgotten to mention when booking one of us is diabetic so we wanted brown bread only for our sandwiches but the chef organised it for us immediately. Gold star for service to diabetics!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    10
    7
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch - good - probably a 3 and 1/2!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Four of us had Sunday lunch. It is a pleasant setting with about 30 covers. 3 of us had the traditional roast, one of us chose the cod, which was not available but they offered sea bass as an alternative which was a little dry. The roast beef and lamb was fine, with a decent selection of veggies. We were a little disappointed that cheese is not offered as a dessert (also not available on Friday's 'steak night'. The reason given is that there is no time for the preparation - a little odd. Service is ok, even though the bottle of water we ordered never turned up. I was a little surprised that the only decaf coffee on offer was instant! We will go back, we had a nice time, just a couple of things need tweaking. We will try the a la carte menu next time, with the cheese!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MV1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic little restaurant”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We went for afternoon tea today at the kiln hotel and what a lovely time we had . We had opted for the champagne afternoon tea which cost £23.95 per person and it was worth every penny.
On arrival we were greeted by a warm friendly reception and a lovely glass of champagne , the decor was beautiful and very modern but in a warm cosy way, the staff attended to all of our needs and extremely friendly and helpful.
The sandwiches were stunning and the scones to die for, of which was warm and served with clotted cream and jam as well has a few miniature cakes . This has to be one of the best afternoon teas I have had and would recommend anyone to go .... This place is a little gem loved it !!!!!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brentwood
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Stunning steak night”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I took my family (including two under 7 year old children) to the steak night at The Kilns on Friday 28th Dec 2012 and we had a great evening.

We tend to be fussy eaters, particularly with the quality of our steak and how we individually prefer it to be cooked. However, it was no problem and all our tastes were catered for. To be fair, none of us were disappointed....even my dad who is a steak connoisseur !

Prices ranged from 28 day aged 6oz Sirloin £7.95, 10oz fillet was £22.95 ,12oz rib eye was £16.95 and they also do a mix grill of a 6oz sirloin with lamb kofte and Cumberland sausage which was £11.95.

All mains came with triple fried chips, onions, sauce (mojo, peppercorn, red wine etc), mushrooms and big tomatoes. We added sides of chicken wings and salads.

There was also peter head cod and vegetarian options available.

Our young children felt very comfortable and were welcomed in the restaurant.

The staff were attentive, the quality of food was excellent and reasonably priced, as was the wine. We wouldn't hesitate recommending this restaurant and shall be returning very soon.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doobuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant, a nice change from Brentwood chains”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Thought i'd write a review as we've been here a few times now and couldn't see a review on TA. Generally enjoyed every visit, best experience was the Sunday lunch, excellent food and really good value. Best I've had out in a long time. A la carte is a little pricey but again food was really nice. Also went for the steak night and while the steak was not the best I've ever had it was very reasonably priced. No problem with service on all visits. Overall definitely worth considering if you want a good Sunday lunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FishyFlipFlop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Napkin Restaurant also viewed

Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 

Been to The White Napkin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing