We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise”
Review of Rose and Crown - CLOSED

Rose and Crown
Price range: $7 - $26
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: An exciting fusion of a traditional British Pub with authentic Thai dining. The Rose and Crown is a striking, newly refurbished pub that offers an extensive range of authentic Thai cuisine and traditional British dishes. We look forward very much to welcoming you to either our restaurant, or our traditional bar.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Just had my first visit to the Rose & Crown Thai restaurant and was pleasantly surprised by the quality of food and how surprisingly spacious the restaurant is.
Unlike many other restaurants in the area tables, aren't rammed up so close to each other that you can hear the slurping and chomping of strangers.

Service was quick and efficient and the food was reasonably priced. Will return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ianodream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    22
    11
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a let down! Won't be going back”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Eleven of us went but they skimped severely on portion size. Not enough food at all - had to complain -they bought out more food but it was too late
Won't be going back!!! £55 per head and not even full.....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Allmeadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice place. A bit on the dark side.”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Food was fairly good. I've had better and worse. The tiger prawns were not great. A bit chewy. It's very dark inside. The lighting is not good and the menu print size was very small. I couldn't read it even with my glasses on. A torch would have been handy. The staff were very friendly. Their card machine wasn't working so I had to go out and find a cash machine to pay cash whilst my guests waited. They were not offered a complimentary drink for the inconvenience which I thought was a bit mean. I will give it another chance though.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeoffEssex_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
2 reviews
“Nice”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Lovely to have a Thai in Brentwood, great atmos and good location as its the perfect distance away from Brentwood but close if you want to go for a drink when finished

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brentwood UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good service and nice food”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Reasonably priced.Attentive service and the food was good.Most tables are close together but that is a particular pet hate of mine and may not bother some people.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose and Crown also viewed

Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing