We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic twist to Indian food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Undaal - CLOSED

Undaal
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
essex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic twist to Indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

we oftern go to Undaals and love the choice of different dishes from fish to meat and with a fantastic selection of sides and deserts. Ray and the team are always friendly and always manage to find us a table even when full! Celebrated couple of my birthdays in there and the team and chefs have always been accomdating and the home made birthday cake was the best. been going since it opened and will continue - thank you Undaals

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sashab25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abdul H, Guest Relations Manager at Undaal, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for your wonderful feedback! It is great to hear such positive customer feedback. I will share your warm sentiments with the entire team, who will be delighted to hear that you have been supporting us since opening.

See you soon
Undaal X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    2
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
“Food ok, service awful”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

I visited Undaal as part of a group for a friends 28th birthday last week and wasn't impressed. We waited 20 minutes to be given a menu and weren't served food for one hour and fourty minutes. When the food arrived it was of a good quality so I can't complain on that, although admittedly it was lower quality than Chutney Joes in the high street or the Pilgrims Korai.

I always think that delays aren't the end of the world and can often be justifiable and the more important factor is how the staff deal with it such as explaining the problem, offering a free drink or simply apologising. What we actually received were the comments "You're not the only person in the restaurant" (even though there were only 2 other tables) and on recognising my friend whose birthday it was "You're regulars so you'll come back" - which after this display of arrogance now is most definately not true.

Overall it might be a better experience if there are no problems with your evening such as delays as this would involve talking to the waiters who don't appear to have any sense of customer service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abdul H, Guest Relations Manager at Undaal, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Hello Stuart,

Thankyou for the review
Bit taken back with this review its not how we treat our Guest at Undaal and defo not the way we deal with guest that have chosen Undaal as their birthday venue.

with one 1 review not sure what to make of it.

please email us undaal@hotmail.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This restaurant is well hidden in a small side street and is unimpressive from the outside but the inside is quite contemporary and has a nice relaxed atmosphere.
My partner wanted to try some of the rare meats (kangaroo, springbox etc) and Wagyu beef that they advertise, however, they did have any of this in stock when he inquired so he was very disappointed. The staff were all pleasant enough and made us feel welcome.
When the meal came they had missed one portion of rice of our order. The prices were reasonable but not sure if id go again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank susieholliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abdul H, Guest Relations Manager at Undaal, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Hello Susie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, i am glad the atomosphere, inside decor and staff were to your liking... though I am sorry to hear that there were some minor issues on this occasion of no wild meats instock, i apologies for this due to a good xmas bookings our stock went fast and the supplier could not keep up! really sorry on this occassion. I hope you do visit us again and please say hello

Can you kindly contact us at: undaal@hotmail.co.uk so we can discuss further?

We hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,
Haadi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best by far...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

After being a fan of another Indian restaurant for many years, stumbled upon Undaal by chance. Have never been anywhere else since.
From the first time of going in the staff are friendly and welcoming. Have even on occasion popped in to say hello when passing.
I have tried a different dish each time in dining and have eaten there with friends who all agree the food and service is excellent.
As mentioned in one review, don't be put off if sometimes it is not full - the welcome is second to none...

Helpful?
Thank Declan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abdul H, Guest Relations Manager at Undaal, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Hi Declan, Thank you for the wonderful review, we love the idea of of guest poping to say hello we like to call our guest friends and its a nice gesture. I am glad you have been enjoying the food and service with your friends and love coming back its our reward for the hard work team Undaal do 6 days a week.


Thank you
Undaal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“undall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Discovered this great contempery styled restuarant just off the high st (nice to eat in a quite location without pass byers peering in). great menu varing from good old favorites, through to special dishes inc exotic meats! was lucky to be greeted by the owner, lovely guy who explained some of the specials, have returned many times, also had the sunday buffet, resonable price and still great food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clifford C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abdul H, Guest Relations Manager at Undaal, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Hello Clifford,

Thank you so much for your positive review. We make an effort to please our guest and we are very grateful you have taken the time to share it with others. We happy to see u and serve you often it is a pleasure. Yes Ray loves his guest and spends time to explain and suggest our special menu.
Thank you for pointing out our buffet which one of the best in essex.


Thank you
Undaal Brentwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Undaal also viewed

 
Brentwood, Essex
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing