We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Farm'.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old MacDonald's Farm

Old MacDonald's Farm
Ranked #4 of 34 things to do in Brentwood
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Animal attraction with farmyard favourites, exotic animals, rides, slides and unique animated singing chickens and frogs all included in the entry fee. Set on the edge of the M25 and handy for east London as well as Essex and all points north and south, this award winning leisure farm is educational and fun.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“'Farm'.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Went to Old Macdonald farm today, where do i start, apparently you are allowed to pet the animals according to the website, but there is a rope barrier, and then wire fencing. you have to poor foood though a metal tube to get to the animals, this is not classed as feeding the animals. most of the animals were in tiny enclosures with no space to move around etc! (rabbits, chinchillas, hours') A horse was in a tiny field with a huge power line in it! and there was work carrying on right next to him in his 'field' . in the rabbits: soiled sawdust gathering mould in corners, mouldy water bottles. the state of most anaimals was horrible. One of the cats had really matted hair, just not looked after at all. The place over all is just tacky stupid rides that look like they would break and plastic cows dressed as cow boys ets. And they have the cheek to charge you £15 to get in! absolutely outrageous. It seems that have spent all their money on attractions and forgotten the well-being of the anmials. and considering its a FARM i think its not right. Sort it out.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank becky_kaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macdonald F, Owner at Old MacDonald's Farm, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Saw this review today, to coin a phrase, where do I start? You are allowed to pet the animals in sections of the farm where there are adjacent washing facilities, but in others in accordance with the guidelines of the Health and Safety Executive access is restricted to ensure the safety of children. This follows some children getting ill at other animal attractions in the past and a sensible parent would understand that, or if they did not then at least ask someone. The chutes are there for parents who do not want their children to touch the animals; they are optional. The power lines that run across the farm were there before we were, and if we cut them down then the entire county of Essex would have no lights! I am not sure if the contributor thought we put them up! The horses' fields are a minimum of three quarters of an acre each and the work that is going on alongside them does not disturb them as horses are working animals. Our cats are in great health and are very popular and the rabbits and small mammals have superb specifically designed enclosures but sometimes they do what comes naturally in the corners.
We are not and have never suggested we are a working farm but a leisure farm and our rides, and the decorated figures around the farm, are fun and encourage children to stay for hours when they visit. However what is more disturbing is the statement that the entry fee is £15. That is totally untrue. Paying at the door is £13.50 for adults, less for children and others, and booking on line gives a £2 saving. Plus you can pick up one of our brochures and save £10 on the door fee. So please do not print statements that are completely false as it discredits all the rest of the comments. The usual problem with Trip Advisor reviews. People cannot help but tell falsehoods for effect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    186
    118
    80
    111
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic day out on half term”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I don't know why there has been some bad reviews but I took my two children of 10 and 6 and they lovvveedd the farm :) The rides and slides were greatly enjoyed by both my children and we spent 4hrs at the farm they didn't want to go home! We all enjoyed the activities and perfect for any weather conditions. Would recommend anyone to go to the farm don't listen to the previous reviews!!! We all enjoyed the day out!!! excellent!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank saljones77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunkport, Maine
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Disgusting! please read 21/02/2013”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

well i thought i would give this farm the benefit of doubt as people have there own opinions but must say i agree with majority of the reviews on here. were do i start,the prices to get in are way to expensive ,the official site boasts of being able to pet the animals which is just not true there was a rope barrier then wire fencing so no petting could be done unless u had go gadget arms ,you had to pour the food through a hole which does not in in my 8yr and 4yr old class as feeding the animals ,only one ride was open today .As far as animal welfare goes this is very poor again there was no shelter ,water ,food available for a range of animals ,there was a tortoise with a burnt shell from the heat lamps being to low and no food or fresh water! and as for the so called manager Jason who is rude and very unhelpful as when we put to him the state some animals and our concerns he did not want to listen ,i also requested a refund as was only there 30 mins he just said that they do not do refunds . TOTAL WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY ,DO NOT GO!!!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kdeehy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macdonald F, Owner at Old MacDonald's Farm, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
I do not know how we missed this review but remember the reviewer and do not miss him. When someone comes in and abuses in the foulest and unlawful way a member of staff they are asked to leave, and then threaten and blackmail the staff with putting a review on Trip Advisor. We did report this, but now see the review is still here. Hey ho. Still, whoever Jason is we will speak to them. We do not have a Jason here, and hopefully do not ever have this person back again! Anyone who uses capital letters in an email or review is slightly suspect. This person I am afraid is totally appalling. Our sympathies to his family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Too expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

This place is ok for maybe 2 hours max. Prices for entry are ridiculous. Food could be a lot better. Suggest take your own food and drink.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank GeoffEssex_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macdonald F, Owner at Old MacDonald's Farm, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We are always sorry when customers are disappointed and do regret that. Of course people are welcome to bring their own food and drink and we have lots of picnic areas around the farm but our cafe does offer lots of options with kiddie meals, jackets, sandwiches and other food, and people always enjoy the range as well as our first class coffee too.

On the entry fee, we offer our wide range of farmyard favourites and also exotic animals such as the meerkats, otters, wallabies and the range of owls with the snowy chicks but this week our guests have enjoyed seeing the new born goat kids, just a few days old when this person visited, and they are delightful. Also on top of that are the rides and slides, with the carousel, train ride, mechanical horse ride and as it is a school holiday, the roller coaster every afternoon, all in the entry fee and all advertised on our website and publicity. Then there are the animated shows with the singing chickens, bull frog trio and the trouble with the truck, plus indoor play facilities with soft play and the barn battles in another building. We have the outdoor construction site play area and have just re designed our adventure play zone.

So with all this in our entry fee our customers average stay is 4.5 hours, as it takes at least 2 hours to just walk around our 16 acre site to meet the animals which is of course the main reason to come, and then at least two more to enjoy the rides which you can go on as many times as you like.

So perhaps this person would like to get in touch, come again as our guest, and then we can ensure they receive the full experience to make up for any disappointment felt. We always welcome constructive criticism and many of our changes here are visitor led by us receiving positive ideas from our thousands of happy clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Very expensive for not alot!
took our own lunch , but bought food for the aniamls , was a rather expensive day out but we wasnt even there long, could do with more animals!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macdonald F, Owner at Old MacDonald's Farm, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
It is always a shame on the rare occasions our visitors do not think they have value for money, but we are a little surprised that this visitor did not think we have many animals. We have a wide range of farmyard favourites with sheep, many breeds of goats, some of whom have spring kids already, Kune Kune pigs and cattle, plus Alpacas and Llamas, Rheas, Wallabies, Reindeer, Fallow Deer and more. We have meerkats and otters, plus owls including some snowy chicks and our European Eagle Annie, and an aviary with a variety of exotic birds. We have rabbits and guinea pigs plus ferrets and chipmunks and so much more, as well as the rides, slides, indoor and outdoor play areas and the carousel too all in the entry fee. So if the customer would get in touch with us we would love her to come back and visit again to see if we can change her mind on our value for money animal attraction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old MacDonald's Farm also viewed

 

Been to Old MacDonald's Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing