We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for hangover breakfast cure”
Review of Murphys Sports Bar

Murphys Sports Bar
Ranked #51 of 159 Restaurants in Brentwood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We are essex's premier sports bar. As our name suggests we are predominantly a sports bar but we also serve good quality home cooked food freshly prepared on the premises.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for hangover breakfast cure”
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

We ate here the next morning after a night out in Brentwood sugarhut, best hangover cure. Breakfast and for great value, friendly staff, and they were fine that we had brought a birthday cake in to sing happy birthday to one of the girls in the group.
Highly recommend for good value breakfast

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rlsteward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marko1969, Manager at Murphys Sports Bar, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your breakfast after your evening out. We have only been serving breakfasts for four weeks on Saturdays & Sundays 9:30-12 so it was very nice to get such a positive review so quickly.
Thank you and come again

Wendy Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    17
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A little noisy but drinks are good”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went to a private party here. Licencee really accomodating and we felt like we weren't intruding on the regular clients. Not the easiest place to park at night.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexDavidos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marko1969, Manager at Murphys Sports Bar, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Glad you enjoyed tyourself during your visit to Mirphys. Sorry to,hear it was too loud (no pun intended) but with a few parties using us as a starting point on a Friday and Saturday night they do seem to like the music louder. As for the parking after 7pm there is a car lark available at the rear of the building which patrons are welcome to use after 7pm due to office hours.

Marko Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Girls Night Out”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Although this is a sports bar, and I hate sport, it's one of my favourite bars in Brentwood. I rack up on a Saturday Night, with the girls, after the football has finished and it starts to thin out. We crank up the juke box, get the shots in and sit in a booth that easily sits all eight of us and have a fantastic laugh. It's comfy, great atmosphere, spacious and a great land lady.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank FredFoster1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marko1969, Manager at Murphys Sports Bar, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately some people forget that when the sport is over we don't just shut the doors so its lovely to have a good review from someone who isn't even a sports fan but enjoys our bar. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex uk
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“over the top reviews”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

! ate there about a year the food was just ok,there are some fine restaurants in the Brentwood area and this certainly isn't one of them but looking at some of the previous reviews they suggest in their ratings that this is one of the greatest gastronomic experiences that the area has to offer,I would feel sorry for anyone who has been lead to have great expectations ,for they will see it was much to do about nothing

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank featheduster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marko1969, Manager at Murphys Sports Bar, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
I am glad that your food was ok. As for,your comment of over the top reviews I'm quite sure after reading all the reviews no one is trying to imply this is a Michalin Starred resteraunt. We are not a food led bar but the food we serve is prepared freshly on the premises and not a typical microwave and boil in a bag meal that you will find in most bars these days so is appreciated by our regular and irregular customers.

Marko K Howard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“terrible food”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

When we moved to the area we stopped by for a bit of lunch - i have fairly low expectations of the food in most bars but this was truly awful.

Helpful?
2 Thank rachel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Murphys Sports Bar, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
As we have had NO complaints in the bar (I am there virtually every lunch time) and you have not said what you ate, when you ate or what was wrong with your food there isn't alot I can say to this review! If your food were truly terrible I'm sure you just may have mentioned it to myself or one of my staff members as you havent im confident enough in our chef to state your review is utter nonsense! If it was that you just didn't "like" the food we apologise our menu wasn't to your taste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murphys Sports Bar also viewed

Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 

Been to Murphys Sports Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing