We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and beautiful view”
Review of Alec's Restaurant

Alec's Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 159 Restaurants in Brentwood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Tonbridge
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food and beautiful view”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I went for lunch with friends . The food was fantastic and the view was breathtaking.
It wasnt too busy but the staff were very good

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    737
    214
    98
    37
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“good customer service food a little disappointing”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

excellent customer service including sun cream on a hot day ! would however expect sun shades outside at a restaurant of this standard. starter and mains good quality could do with pepper mill on table , chips dreadful other veg good if a little overcooked. dessert disappointing some dreadful cheap sauce on the icecream sundae tasted very synthetic needs to be changed . overall an enjoyable experience. not as good as last visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juliet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Everything a restaurant should be”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is definitely one of the best restaurants in Essex. From the friendly, efficient and professional staff, to the fantastic food, all wrapped up in a very well decorated dining room. My only problem was what to pick to have. There wasn't anything on the menu that I wouldn't eat. The fish is superb and the meat looked great to. The wine list was good without being overly expensive. Alec's isn't cheap, you probably pay London prices, but then again you are eating food certainly as doos as most decent London places, in a beautiful location. Worth going.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank londonCityGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Just WOW!!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We were taken to Alec's by friends, to celebrate our Pearl Anniversary. We have previously been to Smith's (which was pretty awesome), and Alec's has everything that Smith's has to offer, and then some! Our friends had requested an outside table, and we were in luck. We sat on the patio, in glorious sunshine, with the rolling countryside as a backdrop. All the staff were very attentive, and our wine glasses were kept nicely topped-up (always a nice touch). The food was absolutely stunning, both in taste and presentation. Not cheap, but not massively over-priced (around £45 each for 3 courses with side dishes), considering the quality. The place was pretty rammed, even for a Wednesday night; which bears testament to their "product." Will definitely return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul1960_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“BRILLIANT!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We love Alec's restaurant, we have been a couple of times, even though we have to catch a cab to get there, so it's more of a special occasion restaurant for us. One of our favourites is the scallops for starters, we both also enjoy the steaks for main. My partner enjoyed a seafood main and we think he had the biggest prawn EVER, it was huge and delicious. I would really recommend this place for occasions and the wine list is very reasonably priced in my opinion. We want to go back again soon, next option for main- the lobster!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carly244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alec's Restaurant also viewed

 
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 

Been to Alec's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing