We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely bedroom but expensive restaurant”
Review of The Kilns Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Kilns Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Brentwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed here in Feb for one night on a group on deal. We had bedroom number two, which was very modern, warm and clean. Plenty of hot water large comfy bed friendly check in. However in the room there was no information concerning the restaurant or breakfast.we were told later when we went to the bar we had to per order our breakfast choices. We felt the restaurant was very expensiveso we went to the Thatchers Arms up the road. The restaurant menu also stated that all the veg was el dente,whether you wanted it like that or not and also veg couldn't be swapped between dishes.but not having eaten in the. Restaurant we couldn't comment. But the cooked breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillmenzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 310 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

I visited The Kiln on Saturday 26th Jan - 3pm. Im not sure who served us but the service and detail was spot on. The food was really lovely. The bar and eating area is very tastefully done...simple and understated....The power of understatement is always mighty in my book.

Thank you for a lovely afternoon .....Essex best kept secret!!!

See you again very soon.

Marie L

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stay at kiln logde saturday evening on a groupon deal, what a wonderful hotel ,On arrival was greeted by Patrick an exteremly pleasant and helpful chap, The food was first class , the rooms very clean ,warm ,and comfortable.Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and we will definitely be returning to this hotel and restaurant with the high standard that it has .

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The serving staff and the food were excellent. However the room was far too hot for us to be able to sleep and this was on the first weekend in January. We had to open the window and the traffic noise did not help the situation.

When we complained we were told they had not been told this before even though there are, which we found subsequently, reviews on this website citing the exact same problem that had been responded to by the manager.

We then emailed the manager but have not received a response.

It was a shame as it ruined our anniversary night away from the kids.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Just returned from an overnight stay at the Kilns, having taken advantage of an online deal. On arrival we were greeted by the reception/barman a very welcoming chap. The room was clean and comfortable with a decent bathroom. Arriving at the bar before dinner our host was friendly and was looking after several guests/parties all with ease. The biggest problem of the weekend was choosing what to have off the menu, as for my palate -I could have had everything! What we did have was 12 out of 10, all 3 courses. The steak cooked to perfection and not too much food, just right. We couldn't wait to return for breakfast this morning, which was just as nice!

The waiting staff/reception are a credit to the hotel and deserve a well done. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel and especially the restaurant.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

How this place managed to deliver the high quality Christmas Dinner with all the problems of flooded roads around them escapes me. Lots of people were delayed as the A127 was shut along with several roads surrounding, and many only passable with care due to the amount of rain water, this meant that we had to have an extra drink waiting for our table to be ready as others who were late had to finish their dinners, it was no great problem for us as we just enjoyed the company in nice surroundings in the lounge, the poor waiting and bar staff were really snowed under, but managed to keep a smile on their faces, tho it must have been hard. The Christmas dinner was excellent, our veggies were perfect, and the portions generous. I hope the staff got a wee bonus for managing what could have been a disaster, it was much appreciated by our party of 9,

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stugrmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Christmas day lunch £52.95 . What a disappointment. Understaffed/inexperienced.
Menu - Starters not served altogether first two served warm soup with a hard roll next two served 10 mins later. Mains - Meats ok and generously served but the presentation and accompaniments rendered the meals completely unappetising i.e. roasted vegetables were black. We decided to vacate the place at this point. The bar was laden with dirty glasses and the staff very stressed. Not an Xmas Decoration in sight as the Proprietors believe Xmas should not be celebrated!! That being the case then charge EveryDay Prices and NOT cash in with Festive Rates. The Kilns Hotel should at least have the decency to warn potential customers what they will be getting so that customers can stay away!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Sylvia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilns, Owner at The Kilns Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Sylvie B,
We do remember you from our staff feedback, you appeared to be a little disgruntled when you arrived and remained that way until the time you left. We put it down to the bad weather and the difficulty people were experiencing to just arrive here on the day. You may recollect the weather conditions caused serious delays as many local roads, including the A127, being closed by the police due to flooding. Many of our guests were seated as the arrived, over an hour late in some instances. In addition, you may not have known that we were let down by agency staff which put our staff members under more pressure than we would have wanted. However, as the service industry requires, even on Christmas Day, our staff were here, on time ready to serve you. They are ALL experienced and they performed well in light of the situation.

In respect to the food we offer, whether that be special occasions such as this or our usual week day menus, we pride ourselves on the highest quality food served, excellent presentation and a fair and reasonably priced dining experience. We think our reputation speaks for itself and after investigation find no reason here to defend that. We try our best to please everyone but realise it is impossible at times no matter how hard we my try. This is an example of that fact. WE are always unhappy when our guests are not pleased with their experience here and always invite constructive feed back. Both the manager and a director were working that day and it would have been nice to have had the opportunity to correct anything you found not to your liking, but we were not given the chance to do that. Instead of ungraciously finding the time to write what we feel is an unfair description of our event. Nevertheless, you should remember that although most of the main courses we served you was eaten, you neglected to mention in your comment we did deduct 50% off your food bill in good spirit.
 
With regards to your comments about the owners personal views or beliefs regarding Christmas, we find this an irrelevant statement “Not an Xmas Decoration in sight”, as our regulars know, and yourselves on arrival, our premises is not large enough to house ‘in your face’ decorations, nor do the management or owners like tacky paraphernalia, hence our decision on décor for the occasion was subtle with poinsettias, flower arrangements, candles and LED lighting. In respects to anyone’s beliefs, we would not impose the beliefs of others on those enjoying a festive celebration. Guests bring their own festive spirit with them, and enjoy the occasion as they would with others.
 
We understand that we have to be thick skinned in this industry because, unfortunately, we understand that people will complain no matter how the situation was solved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brentwood hotels
1 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
771 reviews
2.7 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
1,046 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Brentwood
Holiday Inn Brentwood
#4 of 4 in Brentwood
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Brentwood Hotel
2.6 mi away
Brentwood Guesthouse
Brentwood Guesthouse
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kilns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kilns Hotel

Address: Warley Street | Great Warley, Brentwood CM13 3LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Borough of Brentwood > Brentwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Brentwood
Price Range: $75 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kilns Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built Circa 16th century, The Kilns Hotel is a classical Grade II listed Queen Anne’s building having undergone many period changes over the years. A favorite with business travelers and people visiting friends or just Brentwood.The hotel retains much of its original charm and character. However, much of its period features have been lost over time but has now evolved into an extremely comfortable, modern and contemporary style petite hotel with an air of sophistication, rarely found outside central London.During your stay, you can experience our excellent food and selection of fine wines while dining at The White Napkin Restaurant and Bar (Essex Food & Drink Awards 2010/11 finalists) which can be used by our residents, and is open to non-residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Kilns Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kilns Hotel Brentwood, Essex, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing