We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Chinese” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Masefield Take Away

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Masefield Take Away
Ranked #75 of 122 Restaurants in Braintree
Cuisines: Fast Food, Chinese
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Braintree, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Chinese”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

I have tried a lot of Chinese restaurants in my time but none of them are as good as this one.

The food is always well cooked and they will even modify it to your tastes. Lin is an absolute diamond and always goes out of her way to be helpful.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

I've had takeaways from most of the restaurants in Braintree and this is the one I've kept on going back to, always fresh and when I ordered for work they would throw in a dish for us to try for free.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent - best chinese takeaway in Braintree”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have used Masefield takeaway on a regular basis both as a large group and just for two! - They never disappoint, the staff are friendly, polite and the food is all ways delicious and prompt whether collection or delivery.

I would have no reservations in recommending them & suggest you give them a go!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mini_bitz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely people, lovely food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Fantastic, Lin is amazing and the food is always delicious !! Top marks!!.. It's a great family business with a warm and friendly atmosphere.. The food can be cooked to how you would like it.. And Lin will happily make it a bit more spicy if you want! Absolutely brilliant!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jb88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“hard to find a good one!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Since moving to Braintree from Durham this is now our local chinese takeaway and I'm pleased we found the Masefield, staff are lovely and the food is really nice too, its hard to find a good chinese but we have found one here!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Masefield Take Away also viewed

 
 

Been to The Masefield Take Away? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing