We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very enjoyable experience all round”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pizza Express

Pizza Express
Ranked #70 of 123 Restaurants in Braintree
Price range: $43 - $43
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bright and modern, PizzaExpress Braintree offers an exciting reinvention of Italian classics. A vibrant menu includes wholesome Romana-style pizzas with adventurous topping combinations, as well as fresh salads, an impressive range behind the bar and aromatic coffee blends. Family-friendly Pizza Express gives kids the chance to design their own pizzas.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable experience all round”
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

I have been here quite a few times and I really enjoy this restaurant.

The food always tastes great - especially the bruschetta starter & their chicken Caesar salad can't be beaten! Kids meals are also fab & it's my sons favourite place to eat.

Could do with more comfortable seating, does have a couple of booths but despite the recent revamp it does have a slight cafeteria feel which is the only let down to a very nice restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bubbalou-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    52
    36
    25
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice enough”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Popped in for a few beers and a few starters after a nearby footy match. They made us welcome and fitted the bill.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiptree, England
Level Contributor
163 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Nice enough, but expensive without a voucher”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I took my daughter to this restaurant last week and used my Tastecard. I have to say the food was reasonable but would have been expensive without the 2 for 1 offer of the tastecard. The drinks are extortionate too! It was reasonably busy as it was the school holidays and was incredible loud but remained without a great atmosphere. Service was ok but not anything special I have certainly had better.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DCull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, UK
Level Contributor
337 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Usual high standard”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My first visit to this branch and we liked the retro decor and the airy atmosphere.

The staff were all friendly, efficient and helpful.

Pizzas were very good and served quickly. I'll be happy to return to this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nigeljcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne Engaine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good food, but what have they done to the decor?”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

I really like Pizza Express food and was looking forward to a meal there. The food didn't disappoint, neither did the service. But the decor!! The only saving grace were the lampshades! They have gone for a retro black and red theme, but it looks so cheap. It just doesn't feel special anymore. The menu design has also gone downhill. I'll go back for lunch, but not for an evening out. :(

Helpful?
Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pizza Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing