We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Review Highlights
Some of the best food and drink festivals I've been to.

The barns host lots of festivals and shows. My daughter and I have gone to the food and drink... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
48chrissyg
,
Braintree, United Kingdom
Good visit

There’s always something going on here besides having a wonder around these magnificent barns. Look... read more

Reviewed September 3, 2019
Mermaid48
,
Braintree, United Kingdom
Read all 227 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Braintree
from $14.85
More Info
from $5.42
More Info
from $44.54
More Info
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveler rating
122
74
12
11
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
122
74
12
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walled garden knights templar tea room tiptree jam food festival food fair awe inspiring interesting venue craft fayre for sale information boards scones free entry great place to visit cafe on site family visit lovely sunny day
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 227 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2019

There’s always something going on here besides having a wonder around these magnificent barns. Look out for different events going on here from outdoor cinema, vintage cars, war enactments, food and craft events. Medieval dinner events, murder mystery evenings plays. Also a tip tree tea room here.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Mermaid48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2019

The location and premises are good - the food nice but not special. service average.

we ordered the specials (group of 3) 2 ham egg and wedges and a quiche salad. and 2 kiddies jackets.

Food qulity was good but 3 adults and we only got 2 at the table than after querying about 20 mins later the 3rd arrived after our questioning, at first thaey said we had not ordered then backtracked after checking and a timid sorry, not with any sincerity we felt.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank 652graham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2019

Great place for 2-3 hours particularly on a nice summers day which it was for us - so go there and enjoy

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank williamgiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2019 via mobile

Free of charge to enter! The site includes two enormous barns built by the Knights Templar in the 13th century. These are wonderful to stand inside and appreciate the wooden structures. They are the oldest standing wooden barns in the world. The Peasants’ Revolt passed through here. They are therefore of import in national history. With several outbuildings with, for example, blacksmith’s tools, and a walled garden with herbs, fruits and vegetables which is excellently maintained, the site is very pleasant to walk around. The site is curiously understaffed - perhaps because it is owned by Essex council, and on a quiet day you can have the whole site to yourself! There are plenty of information boards to give context though. For a free offering, it is great.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank BeginsInWonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2019

We enjoy bringing our overseas visitors here and also meeting up with our family for a superb breakfast

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank Freda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews