We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Braintree
Nearby Hotels
White Hart Hotel(Braintree)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Braintree (A120) Hotel(Braintree)(Great Value!)
$65
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bull Hotel(Halstead)
$48
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Drapers Hotel(Earls Colne)
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Colchester Feering(Feering)(Great Value!)
$58
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Stansted Great Dunmow(Great Dunmow)(Great Value!)
$51
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (359)
Filter reviews
359 results
Traveler rating
109
144
72
23
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
144
72
23
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstoby carveryscrambled eggsbeansair confree wifihi expressdecent sizebreakfast includedyogurtstaff were so helpfultoby innbusy roadhot breakfastvery comfortable roomthe breakfast areabooked this hotelplenty of parking
Filter
Updating list...
350 - 355 of 359 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I needed a hotel urgently as my house was sold and I couldn't get in to the new place, so I booked in here for four days. The staff are lovely and very helpful, but there were some issues in changing to Holiday Inn Express as it is now.

There was no Wi-Fi, although the signal was there, no one had the code to log on, and the number on the help sheet in the room was "number unavailable" So I had to buy a dongle. I have emailed their HQ about this, but they say it will take up to 14 days to reply to it, which is hardly customer service.

The room was clean, although the hand wash was empty and the shower bracket was broken, so it could not be angled. The room was of a very good size, for this type of hotel.

The breakfast was not up to expectation, the sausages must have been vegetarian as they seemed to have no meat in them. Scrambled eggs and beans accompanied them, although the last morning the beans were off the menu. I had one evening meal which was awful, not a chef in site and from the microwave.

I won't say don't stay because I think once the transformation has completed it will be better and the staff will have to stop apologising for what isn't working, or missing.

HIE, need to make it look a tad more cozy, it was like walking in to a modern hospital, very clinical, and look after those staff, they are an asset.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greyandgrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Bit of a strange on this, I stay at HIE's all the time but this one feels different.

The reason of course is that is has just been taken over from Hampton Inns so the room design is different and, I have to say, not as nice, certainly not as nice as the new design HIE.

Check in was very friendly as was check out. Didn't have breakfast as had early flight from Stansted (about 15 minutes drive at that time in the morning). Did order from the dinner menu the night before though and I got a stuffed crust Chicagotown pizza that you buy in the supermarket, anyway it was fine.

I guess the biggest issue, and I presume this will only be a temporary one, is that there is a large travelers camp right outside the hotel. Apologies if my concern upsets anyone and I don't wish to perpetuate stereotypes, but there was a lot of dog barking etc coming from outside the caravans and this kinds of made me a bit nervous about the car but they had posted a security guard to patrol the area overnight so I am sure everything was safe.

I guess I will try it again a few months and see if it has settled more into a HIE groove!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank animalthatswims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Only stayed 1 night. We have 2 dogs and notified them on booking. Ground floor room supplied with plenty of room for dog beds. Really helpful staff. Meals could be taken in our room. REALLY comfy bed and a great night's sleep. Hotel became a HI Express in Nov 2012, Lots of fresh painting and exceptionally clean and tidy.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JULIE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

At the end of the day, this is exactly what it says on the tin: a chain hotel, situated on a dual carriageway, on the outskirts of a town struggling to cope with high drugs/crime/unemployment, illegal immigrants and very near to an International Airport. You can't really expect (especially at these prices) to be getting any sense of luxury here. That said, it does fit the bill - sometimes all you need is a 'stopping-off point' - if you have an early start from Stansted, or you are desperate for that bargain from the sales at the Designer Outlet near by, then obviously this may well be the answer to your dreams. There's a friendly face on reception, a well-stocked bar and fairly well-equipped rooms. More importantly for many perhaps (especially given its fairly 'remote' location - in terms of safely accessible places to eat on foot that is) is the free hot breakfast that is included.
Particularly disappointments were the air-con not working and the hot water ran out in the morning (a common issue apparently) and the dirt in the 'common' areas. The rooms could benefit from a refurb and overall this isn't a place I'd feel safe to be in if I was alone (female). However, as I said, for some occasions I can see this place would be suitable as a place to stay. I wouldn't have a ground-floor room. Who knows who's lurking around this car-park at night?

Room Tip: Stay on the side away from the dual carriageway (noise), but on the second floor for safety.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wowzap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews