We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Hotel Braintree Freeport Village
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braintree
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed here for the first time yesterday. Comfortable room, clean and spacious and friendly pleasant staff. Would definitely stay again. Food in the restaurant was good and service was prompt and efficient

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank FrankandJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 486 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

With Premier Inn you know what to expect, and this one is a pleasant surprise. It's conveniently located, has plenty of parking, and appears to have been recently renovated so is in very good condition.
The rooms are somewhat on the small side, but have everything needed - a comfy bed, choice of pillows, decent desk to work at, and a nice tv, mounted on the wall. There's heating (but no air-con) but the windows open so rooms can be ventilated adequately.
Carpets are in good nick - so no feeling the need to wear shoes or slippers (unlike some other budget hotels)
The bathrooms are again rather small, but well laid out, with the door closeable either over the main bathroom doorway (providing a shower cubicle, basin and toilet as one room) or it can be closed across the toilet doorway, so someone can use the shower / basin while the toilet is occupied (not sure I explained that very well)
The towels are clean and a good size, and there is adequate space in the bathroom for towels and other bits and bobs.
There are no mini toiletries provided, however the bathroom has a spray soap dispenser and a shower gel dispenser so they're really not needed. The dispensers in both rooms I stayed in were a bit temperamental.
The shower (no baths in this hotel) are fixed overhead and at first seemed a bit pathetic - I then discovered the little jets were just a bit blocked through hard water, so after running a fingernail over them I got quite good shower).
There is an open shelving / wardrobe thing which is very well thought out, and has space for hanging clothes, bags, shoes and other bits. There's also a reasonable hairdryer, and a rather good 'natural lighting' switch by the mirror which is great for hair styling / makeup (SO often neglected in far more expensive hotels!)
Breakfast in the hotel is not included, but is GBP 5.25 for continental, or 8.25 for full breakfast (which looked delicious, not greasy). It's an unlimited buffet, with hot items cooked freshly to order.
The nearby pub (Fowler's Farm) is quite nice, serving reasonable food.

Finally, the staff here are just LOVELY. They can't do enough to help and ensure a comfortable stay. I chatted to them on both visits, and they were all really keen to provide restaurant recommendations or any other help. In fact I provided feedback via the online form after my last stay (noting that the one thing they could improve was the overwhelming bleach smell in the bathrooms), and on my second visit it had gone! Maybe a coincidence, who knows.

The one thing I did find a bit not to my liking is that the duvets are quite thick. Anyone who prefers a lighter duvet might be a bit warm. I left the window open and that meant I got a good night sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden centre get a bit of noise in the morning (forklifts etc!) - but not too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire_fowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Agree with all previous comments. Staff friendly. Room comfortable although it could be a bit warmer. Room 120 took long time to heat up and never really reached a warm temperature. Not sure how good this hotel would be on a cold winter's night.
Breakfast good. Room clean. Very quiet although our son and family also stayed in another part of the building and were disturbed by some very noisy guests in the early hours of the morning. However, they did get their money back due to the fact that the shower was not working properly. The good night guarantee really does work as my son didnot complain but only pointed out that maybe the shower head needed cleaning. After being refunded their money, they then mentioned the disturbance in the night.
The Fowlers Farm pub across the path is very good. However, it is advisable to book as at the weekend it is very busy and we were lucky to get a table. The reception staff at the hotel had not pointed this out or offered to book a table.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dillyeastsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

very friendly and welcoming staff, rooms are clean but small (but for £60 thats fine), breakfasts very nice and good value too. beds quite small but comfortable. very good motel quality. if you're on a budget then perfectly acceptable

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is really what you want from a hotel chain: friendly staff, clean room, good bed and a power shower (I hate these showers over a bath!). Also loved the fact that you can close off the toilet so someone else can still use the bathroom; brilliant. And very quiet at night so you can open the window and get some fresh air in. Totally agree with previous reviews; this Premier inn has more than most others: excellent flat screen TV and additional lighting which makes for those extra luxury touches you wouldnt expect when you pay under £35 a night!

Room Tip: The room we had on the ground floor was lovely and cool despite the warm weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leontine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

plus ideally placed for freeport. a very clean inn with very friendly staff and good accommodation. simply can not beat for value for money. nice pub attached and other fast food outlets across the road.
paid only 19 pounds for firdt night and 39 pounds for the second. huge flat screen tv on wall and air conditioning. unbratable!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAPfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We've stayed in many premier inns and this has to be the one with the best room. We had a good shower (no bath) and a larger tv (wall mounted) than in other premier inns. There was a floor lamp and a table lamp which gave the room a cosy feel and the comfy bed ensured we had a good night's sleep. The hotel was not at all noisy inside or outside which has sometimes been a problem in other hotels. We would strongly recommend premier inn, Braintree especially if on a saver rate.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braintree
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Braintree
1.5 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#4 of 4 in Braintree
419 reviews
9 mi away
Best Western Marks Tey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Travelodge Colchester Feering
6.7 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
598 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 1 in Halstead
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Hotel Braintree Freeport Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Hotel Braintree Freeport Village

Address: Cressing Road | Fowlers Farm, Braintree CM77 8DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Braintree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braintree
Price Range: $67 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Premier Inn Hotel Braintree Freeport Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bag some bargains at the Premier Inn Hotel Braintree Freeport Village - peacefully situated just over half a mile from Freeport Designer Village. We're the same distance from the Freeport Train Station with fast links to Stansted Airport and Greater London. Business guests are also well placed here. Retail might be less on your mind though if you're on the guest list at wedding venues The Fennes, Gosfield Hall and Leez Priory. Or if you fancy history at Hedingham Castle or some outdoor fun at Great Notley Country Park. Whatever brings you to Braintree, enjoy all the comforts you'd expect including an onsite restaurant, a spacious room and a comfy bed. Please note that this Premier Inn does not have a lift. Guests requiring an easily accessible room please contact the hotel direct. Please be aware this Premier Inn only has showers. Please note that all twin rooms at this hotel consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. This Premier Inn is located near a major road, bedrooms are insulated to minimise noise. Directions: From the M11 junction 8, follow signs to A120 Colchester & Freeport Shopping Village. At Galley's Corner Roundabout, take forth exit and then left into Wyevale Garden Centre. The hotel is adjacent to Fowlers Farm and garden centre. Transport and local information: Braintree Train Station 2 miles Riverside Sports 1 Mile Castle Headingham 8 Miles Stanstead Airport 16.5 Miles Cinema Complex & Bowling Alley ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Hotel Braintree Freeport Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Braintree (Freeport Village) Hotel Braintree
Holiday Inn Braintree
Premier Inn Hotel Braintree Freeport Village Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing