We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Braintree

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Braintree
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Braintree
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

A warm friendly welcome awaits you at the Premier Inn Freeport Village Braintree. Staff go out of their way to make you feel a valued guest, especially Carolyn on the front desk. Rooms were super clean and quiet. Location is a must for the Designer Village and of course you can enjoy a lovely meal across the street at The Fowlers Farm (Vintage Inn Pub with excellent food). Plenty of restaurants in the village also. There is also a massive garden centre next door for additional shopping which caters for everything from the garden to your pet!. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    109
    18
    6
    8
See reviews for
125
167
17
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

Situated only 10 minutes or so from Stansted airport this hotel is in a great location. It also has a reasonable pub next door (The Fowlers Arms), which is handy. The receptionists and staff were all very helpful and friendly and the rooms are clean, bright, tidy and well equiped. I was especially impressed by the staff at breakfast when we arrived late, we'd either misheard or were misinformed as to when breakfast finished but whichever they apologised and let us have a continental breakfast free of charge. Definitely a good overnight stop forn Stansted if you have a car. At only 29.99 for our nights stay this was exceptional value.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterinengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Please note this relates to the one to the south of the A120 dual carriageway next to a garden centre. Typical overnight stop whilst on a business trip and very typical Premier Inn room. I only had minimal contact with the staff, but the two I dealt with were very pleasant. I had a ground floor room which was very quiet. The adjacent pub was very popular with locals (a good sign) and provided a satisfactory meal.

Only minor gripe is that it could be better sign posted for a first time visitor.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChorleyAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

Graham C
My partner & I stayed for one night after attending a wedding at Leez Priory. We were both
warmly welcomed in the early hours of the morning and found everything about the stay excellent. Everything was very clean and functional. This was the first time we have used Premier Inn and have no problem recommending them to friends, family and anyone else.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

We have always used Travelodge in the past and never get a good night, beds are uncomfortable, its noisy, rooms are not clean and staff are not very helpful. This was my first time staying at a Premier inn and it was complete opposite to Travelodge. The rooms are very comfortable and they have notices asking people to respect others peace. Staff are very helpful. I would definately stay at any Premier inn again. I am soooo happy i have found somewhere i can now stay and have a peaceful and comfortable nights sleep.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed at this Premier Inn, whilst working in the area. What a friendly, warm welcome we got as we walked in through the door.Check in was easy and my receipt was sent to my email address, so no paperwork to worry about. The room was very comfortable and offered all the usual facilities - tea and coffee/decent tv and spare pillows. The bathroom was spacious, but note it only had a shower, no bath. Lovely big, white towels, too!
The Fowlers Farm pub is literally just across the car park and the food was very good and reasonably priced.
We opted for the Premier breakfast, which was freshly cooked, all you can eat and exceptionally good value.
For £29 a night this was a great value weekend and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cakemaker7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

My partner and I spent one night here while attending a wedding and evening reception in the local area. We were both impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, as well as the neat and tidy appearance of the hotel and our room. Things are basic, but everything you need - bed was comfortable and the climate controls in the room allowed us to set things up for a 'just right' temperature. The hotel was quiet and we did indeed have a good nights sleep. Breakfast next morning was very good, we both had as much to eat as we needed and it set us up well for the trip home. The staff were efficient and sorted a local taxi for us as soon as I asked, then wished us both a good evening out as well as asking if we'd had a nice time when we returned. Overall very impressed for the price - definitely good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braintree
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Braintree (A120) Hotel
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Braintree
1.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#4 of 5 in Braintree
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 1 in Halstead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
5.3 mi away
Essex Golf & Country Club
Essex Golf & Country Club
#1 of 2 in Earls Colne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
9.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Braintree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Braintree

Property: Premier Inn Braintree
Address: Cressing Road | Fowlers Farm, Braintree CM77 8DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Braintree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Braintree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Premier Inn Braintree 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bag some bargains at the Premier Inn Hotel Braintree Freeport Village - peacefully situated just over half a mile from Freeport Designer Village. We're the same distance from the Freeport Train Station with fast links to Stansted Airport and Greater London. Business guests are also well placed here. Retail might be less on your mind though if you're on the guest list at wedding venues The Fennes, Gosfield Hall and Leez Priory. Or if you fancy history at Hedingham Castle or some outdoor fun at Great Notley Country Park. Whatever brings you to Braintree, enjoy all the comforts you'd expect including an onsite restaurant, a spacious room and a comfy bed. Please note that this Premier Inn does not have a lift. Guests requiring an easily accessible room please contact the hotel direct. Please be aware this Premier Inn only has showers. Please note that all twin rooms at this hotel consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. This Premier Inn is located near a major road, bedrooms are insulated to minimise noise. Directions: From the M11 junction 8, follow signs to A120 Colchester & Freeport Shopping Village. At Galley's Corner Roundabout, take forth exit and then left into Wyevale Garden Centre. The hotel is adjacent to Fowlers Farm and garden centre. Transport and local information: Braintree Train Station 2 miles Riverside Sports 1 Mile Castle Headingham 8 Miles Stanstead Airport 16.5 Miles Cinema Complex & Bowling Alley ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Braintree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Braintree (Freeport Village) Hotel Braintree
Holiday Inn Braintree
Premier Inn Braintree Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing