We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Braintree
united kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed at the White Hart Hotel first time around, 3 years ago and in the newer side of the building. Overall it was a pleasant stay...BUT this time round it was lovely, it has had a refurb,our room was in the old building and was stunning, bath room beautiful, beds comfy, good size family room. Breakfast was delicious, evening meal I had pasta, was over cooked in microwave. Yes bar prices are, we think pricey but we still had a lovely stay, Would definitely go again

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the old building, above reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Sonia

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay here. Thank you for writing a review and we hope to see you again (but don't leave it 3 years next time!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    109
    72
    32
    49
See reviews for
85
125
10
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Another pleasant evening spent in the White Hart with friends/family. Usually have the set menu which is really good value for money and a nice wine recommend by staff and we have not been disappointed with their choice. Staff, as usual, were friendly and attentive. Will be back again soon.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AWR8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
I am very pleased that you have enjoyed another visit to the White Hart. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stay at Old English Inns regularly and found The White Hart Hotel to be typical of the standards expected. The hotel was in the centre of the town and very convenient for the shops, banks and pubs (nice Wetherspoons a few minutes walk away), The building was lovely, and bar and restaurant areas pleasant. The bedrooms were clean and comfortable but bathroom could do with a bit of TLC. We ate at the hotel on the first night and the food was nice and good value for money but the staff were very busy and although friendly they looked very stressed. Breakfasts as usual were lovely. I was not disappointed and will continue to use Old English Inns.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kate r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Kate

Thank you for your review - we always appreciate constructive feedback and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I am glad that you are a fan of Old English Inns and hope that you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
401 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

My husband and I have popped in a few times in the past - but it has not always been our first option. Reasons have been around cost, varying standards of staff and a mediocre service. We popped in for sunday lunch with family - since it had been refurbished, we decided to give it another go. I was pleasantly surprised, the decor looks much better - not so old and tired like before, service from staff was much better.
The roasts were great - I was pleased with the roast pork, the gravy was a bit salty though.
All in all, the improvement as been significant - let's hope it stays that way.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Michelle

I am very pleased that you came back to the White Hart since the refurbishment - it really has done wonders for the hotel. I am also glad that you enjoyed your Sunday roast dinners, which we serve all day every Sunday. I'm sorry that the gravy was salty for you and will check with the kitchen team that this does not happen again. We hope you come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

A large group of us stayed here recently for a friend's wedding, and the hotel staff were extremely accommodating and really made our stay stress free. We arrived early at around 10.30am (so we could check in and get ready) and obviously this was way before normal check in time. The staff went out of their way to prepare a room straight away and we were in the room by 11am. The hotel was really reasonable, £35 for a double room plus breakfast, and an early check-in with no hassle!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Rachel

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay here recently. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit and that the team were able to assist you and your party to have a fantastic wedding celebration. We hope that you come back to visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

stayed one night, room was cold, tea and coffe in cupboard so did not find them till we checked out, why not put them out on the table ?
b/fast in the morning had to wait 1 hour, other people turn up after me and got them first ?
when we did get b/fast cold food.
seems not enough staff, hotel rooms all full, will not go back sorry

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank altomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. I do appreciate your comments and thank you for taking the time to post them. We are always happy to deal with any issues that you have at the time of your visit so that we have an opportunity to resolve them there and then. Thank you for bringing these matters to my attention and, once again, I am sorry that you were disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Braintree hotels

Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Pity, but not much has changed. Ate with my family and although the meals were nice the drinks service was really poor, half my party waited 30 minutes at least for their initial drink after ordering from the waiter at the table, I didn't as I fetched my own from the bar. We tried to get more drinks but again it took for ever. I also noticed queues of people waiting for drinks, not just restaurant customers but people who had just come for a drink. It really is quite dire but they do not seem to want to do anything about it, shame as otherwise it is a nice meal, quite local and I would use it more often.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Verykeengolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for writing a review of your visit. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the drinks service in the restaurant and we will work to address this issue. We are always keen to hear how we can improve and we are more than happy to hear from you at the time of your visit so that we can resolve the matter for you there and then. I hope that you do return to see the improvement and thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braintree
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Braintree
Premier Inn Braintree
#1 of 5 in Braintree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Braintree
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Braintree (A120) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coggeshall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 1 in Halstead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
6.1 mi away
Essex Golf & Country Club
Essex Golf & Country Club
#1 of 2 in Earls Colne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: Bocking End, Braintree CM7 9AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Braintree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Braintree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Braintree
White Hart Hotel Braintree, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing