We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Definetly Recommend”
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Braintree
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My mum, myself and my daughter stayed at this hotel we checked in on the 1st and out on the 3rd of march 2013.
The decor of the hotel is very tired but there where new door frames etc being put on when we where there and we really dont know if there are more changes in the pipe-line. i think the fact the place is old does give the impression the place is not as clean as you would want but the bedding, towels, cups etc are spotless.
Where the hotel may lack in apperance the staff are amazing and nothing is too much trouble, they are attentive, happy and take the time to have a wee chat which makes it more personal. Also the food is top notch, the portions are big and everything was just right (my family love our food and would be the first to complain if something was bad) i would recommend this place to all of my family and freinds. Once again i would like to congratulate Steve and Helen for their wonderful choice of staff.
We have travelled alot and this is the first time we have bought a thank you card for the staff. x

Room Tip: I cannot comment on other rooms but ours was ideal for our needs.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Afro21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your kind comments. It was a pleasure to have you here and thank you for the lovely card.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
There are newer reviews for White Hart Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 391 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

We spent our honeymoon here over 41 years ago, so it was with mixed feelings that we returned for an overnight stay to attend a family event nearby. In honesty the price £45 including breakfast was what attracted us and in fairness we had a very enjoyable visit. The main building is old but has a warm cosy atmosphere and the bar, lounge and restaurant were full of people and character. The rooms along the side and back are in a relatively newer block and at first sight are in need of a complete refurbishment. However I suspect this is reflected in the low price and in fairness the room although a little tired was clean, warm and comfortable, with a radiator and a portable heater as back up. Comfortable chairs were available and there was plenty of room. There was Tea and Coffee in the room. We were concerned as we were overlooking the back entrance and thought it might be noisy but in fact we had a good nights sleep. Again the bathroom looked tired but was functional with clean towels and plenty of hot water. There is a car park at the back and you are given a voucher for your stay. The hotel is very central for the town and shops. The full English breakfast was very good and it was nice to sit in the lounge afterwards and read the Sunday papers with the sunlight streaming through the window and a log fire blazing. The staff from the reception to the dining room were polite, cheerful and helpful. You felt welcome. On balance leaving aside the initial disappointment with the dated decor in the room we had a very enjoyable stay and at this price would certainly stay again, probably when we get divorced.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eonaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to put your comments online. I am glad that Steve and the team at The White Hart Hotel looked after you and you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We were staying in the Braintree because my partner had business in the area, and although we only stayed for one night, I can't fault the room. The hotel is centrally located for local shops, bars and the railway station.The open log fires are a distinct attraction. The bedroom was very warm and clean and the bed was the most comfortable I have slept in for a long time. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I wish we had had time to sample the food because it smelled delicious!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reets681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

We really appreciate you taking the time to pass on your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at the White Hart Hotel and look forward to welcoming you back again, when hopefully you will get the chance to dine with us as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights last month and had a very enjoyable and comfortable stay. The atmosphere was very relaxing, the food was good and the service friendly. Being centrally located in the centre of town we were very well placed to walk around the Saturday market and visit the local museum (which was well worth the visit).

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank hl20q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to put your comments online. I am glad that Steve and the team at The White Hart Hotel looked after you and you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Our family booked a number of rooms for one night prior to a family funeral the next day. The hotel, a 16th Century building in the main part, had ensuite rooms. Our room, although a little in need of some TLC was exceptionally clean, comfortable and warm. There was a tray of tea and coffee etc. and a large wardrobe in which to hang clothes. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean and had more than adequate hot water in the shower, with clean white towels provided.

They also have a four poster room, although, sadly, this was already booked...

On arrival the Car Park and Reception were easy to find, although you had to walk past the smoking area to enter the hotel from the car park - not too pleasant, as a non-smoker. The member of staff on reception was very friendly and welcoming and happy to change our room to a lower floor. There are a number of stairs to access some of the rooms but wide and easy to climb.

The food was excellent and the bar area very comfortable, we spent the evening on the sofas and comfy chairs and there was draught Guinness.

The service was excellent. The staff were friendly, sensitive and went out of their way to help us. They came across as very caring and kept checking we were all alright. They laid up breakfast tables together as one large one for us, so we could all sit together as a family, which was very much appreciated.

The parking was good and the hotel is central, and within a few minutes walking distance to the town; also located not far from the station, which was easy for one of our sons, who was travelling up by train, to meet us at the hotel in the morning.

I would recommend this hotel and is certainly an option when we return to Braintree.

Room Tip: Our room was facing a road and was very quiet. There was secondary glazing in our room, so no compl...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CACGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind comments. These are much appreciated and we hope you return to Old English Inns soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My fiance and I had my parents come to visit us for the day and we wanted to take them somewhere nice for dinner. I had heard good reviews of the meals served here from other people and thought we'd give it a try.
It has a lovely feeling to the place and we were seated and our orders taken nice and quickly. We all had starters which came up promptly and were delicious. I ordered duck spring rolls and they were so packed with meat, they were delicious. Two of us had steak for our main course and it was most probably the best steak i've ever had. It was so tender and just wonderful.
We had a lovely experience and had would definetly come back again. The staff are friendly, the food was amazing and the price was reasonable. Well Done :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback . We are very pleased that you and your parents enjoyed your meal with us and were happy with the service you received from the White Hart team . We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We've been staying here for many years because we come from the states to visit family at Christmas and it used to feel like a home. This trip felt very unwelcome. We were greeted by the mgr, Steve, who was friendly and accommodating but when we woke up on Christmas day it went downhill. They were very stressed getting ready for Christmas lunch so it felt like customer service went out the window. We got dirty looks for sitting in the bar area on the couch while my son opened presents. Then when we wanted to enjoy a pre lunch drink we were told sorry we can't serve you only paying lunch guests get served. Last time I checked I thought paying hotel guests were as important. Guess not. It feels like when you fly thousands of miles to stay in a strange place at Christmas your lodging should make you feel as comfortable as they can. Not the white hart. It's too bad. Think we'll be looking elsewhere in the future. On the bright side the house keeping ladies are so sweet and maybe the most welcoming in the whole place. Shame on you white hart.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsscoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for letting us know about your disappointing experience at Christmas. We do try to ensure that all of our guests enjoy the festive period with us so we are sorry that on this occasion we did not meet your expectation. We do hope that you choose to come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braintree
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Braintree
5.8 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coggeshall
340 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 1 in Halstead
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Rivenhall Hotel
Rivenhall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Witham
397 reviews
6.1 mi away
Essex Golf & Country Club
Essex Golf & Country Club
#1 of 2 in Earls Colne
336 reviews
7.7 mi away
Travelodge Stansted Great Dunmow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Address: Bocking End, Braintree CM7 9AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Braintree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Braintree
Price Range: $77 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Braintree
White Hart Hotel Braintree, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing