We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value and poor quality”
Review of The Dolphin

The Dolphin
Ranked #11 of 126 Restaurants in Braintree
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Poor value and poor quality”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Sunday roast was double price of some places so expected something a bit special - but was VERY disappointed. I was embarrassed to have suggested it for a family meal. Some time ago it used to be excellent.

Pleasant but not particularly friendly or happy staff. Overpriced drinks compared with other places. Some food items were not warm let alone hot, the meat was cold and the cabbage was stone cold.

Don't bother paying extra £1 for 'mixed meats' as the quantity is EXACTLY same as if chosen a single meat - goodness knows how they justify that?! I definitely would not recommend - there are so many other establishments cheaper, better value, friendlier, better portion sizes etc

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Ieuan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    115
    36
    23
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Miserable reception followed by rank food! ”
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Visited twice now for some reason went back to confirm that it was as bad ! Ordering the food with the lady of house, was met with answerable face, who could not be bothered, advising me constantly that we have an hour before the next party arrived.... Food was boiled at best (not great for a roast) and for the 5 of us came to 121.68 including drinks!! An absolute rip off the food is disgusting, and the management poor! The worst pub in Braintree there's many more better that don't have a swag bag and wear a mask! Ps- 2 pints £9.10 are u sure????

Helpful?
8 Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very Impressed”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Have just enjoyed a delicious meal at the Dolphin. The food was tasty,well presented and generously proportioned. Excellent value in a lovely traditional style country pub. Homemade banana ice cream superb! Would highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nearly missed a great meal”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We were on the way to the overnight ferry, and nearly missed this place, so glad we did a U turn, lovely meal a great atmosphere and good service, will be eating here again .

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigredNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Easter Monday lunch”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Have passed this pub many times but never stopped.This time we did and a very pleasant experience it was.The food,service and quality of food was excellent.
Would go back again if passing and wpuld recommend it to my friends.
Thank you for a great lunch.

Helpful?
Thank george w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dolphin also viewed

Great Bardfield, Braintree
 

Been to The Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing