We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food... Slightly abrupt staff...”
Review of Masalla Indian Restaurant - CLOSED

Masalla Indian Restaurant
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Good food... Slightly abrupt staff...”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

It was on recommendation of a friend that we dined here on a Monday evening recently. The place wasn't empty (a good sign) and we were shown to a large table and given a high-chair for the grandson (a plus indeed for a family with a youngster who will know how hard it is to find an Indian restaurant with a high-chair).

The dips that arrived with our pupadums were predictable apart from the mint and yoghurt — which was not minty but creamy and very nice. Well done whoever thought that one up!

I ordered a Chicken Tikka Madras and wasn't over impressed - but I tried my wife's Chicken Tikka Masalla Balti and must say, the standard of this dish was superb. Not the usual glowing red and so rich it makes you wince... no... this was NOT too rich, good taste and contained a wide variety of spices that worked well.

The staff serve you reasonably well although they do push past you when laying items on the table (not good) and were slightly 'abrupt' which didn't go down too well as we were a large group spending a fair bit of money of a Monday evening — ANY restaurant will be very polite as they hope to regain the midweek trade (which we are unsure if we shall return on that fact alone).

We did not order sweets as the meals were filling. I was slightly disappointed that the chapatis were 'wholemeal' as it may be trendy to eat healthy - but there is a completely different taste to the items when using wholemeal - maybe 'ask' the customer which they would prefer?

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Usuzumiishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welliesLondon, Owner at Masalla Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for the comments on the food, as for the service I am disappointed you have felt like this.You should have had a word with the manager on the day, I am sure it would have been sorted there and than. Please accept my apologies and I hope to see you again and give us a chance to redeem ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    14
    0
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I am a big fan of Indian food and have been to quite a few Indian restaurants but this is most certainly one of the best!! To start with, the service is second to none. They couldn't be more helpful. The waiters are more than happy to recommend dishes if you are unsure or if you just fancy trying something different! A must have is the naan breads! They are perfect!! Overall, this restaurant is a favourite of ours and we will continue to be customers for some time! See you again very soon Masalla!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElHawk101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is one of our favourite places to go on a couples night out. Really fabulous, reasonably priced Indian food. The service is great and after you have been there a couple of times they greet you like old friends. They can even accommodate my weird request of cooking without ghee and they do it with a smile and can't wait to go back soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vgils1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another fantastic meal”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten at masalla for a few times now and I have to say the food and quality of the dishes, attentiveness of the staff is consistent throughout each visit.
I went with my kids and wife and had a fantastic meal. I would happily recommend this restaurant to all my friends and the good folk of Braintree

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeditesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanzarote, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great evening out”
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Firstly sorrty it has taken so long to write my review...
We had a fantastic evening here there was nine of us in the party.
All of our food was fantastic and was excellent. Value for mobey the staff were very friendly and really helpfull a few members of the party are die hard curry experts ( or so they think...) and the staff really hepled them with there choice of curry making it very hot and spicy leaving them very full and contented when we are next in Braintree i know where our first stop will be.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainbow_32187477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masalla Indian Restaurant also viewed

Great Bardfield, Braintree
Bradwell, Braintree
 
Black Notley, Braintree
 
Great Bardfield, Braintree
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing