We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”
Review of Masalla Indian Restaurant - CLOSED

Masalla Indian Restaurant
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Weve had many a takeaway since moving to the Braintree area, and enjoyed our first meal in the restaurant just after Christmas. Wow great food and service that makes you want to go back, and we will.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    14
    0
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good quality indian”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Service at this restaurant is very good.Attention to detail that gives this place class.Food is perfectly spiced so your taste buds think their in heaven.Will always go back again and again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gingerlover_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Had to eat on vomit filled floor”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

This was remarkably the worst ever experience I had eating out. One night my fiancée and I decide to go out for a meal and spend some nice quiet time together.

What we experienced was being sat between a group of very loud drunk people. And to top it all up, there was vomit all over the floor. The whole restaurant smelled of dirty vomit and the management paid no heed and were least concerned for other customers there.

When I spoke to the the manager about this he said there was nothing he can do and this apparently happens all the time. After constant protesting about the filth and arguing for an hour, he finally hesitantly agreed to give us a discount of £3.60 on a bill of £25.

Will never go back there and will never recommend anyone to go there.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welliesLondon, Manager at Masalla Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
This was NOT a regular occurrence which you state this was on Lady who was ill.
You had eaten already and was put on another side of the restaurant than wanted the whole bill for free.
You tried to take advantage of a situation which we did not have control over.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex England
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Group of 11 visited on 10th November - delayed by London traffic by 1 hour but no problem with table / food from staff at The Masalla. Very good value for money. Cannot understand the negative reviews. Certainly at present the best Indian restaraunt in Braintree

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank itomcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubrin, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian food served with a smile.”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Tripadvisor users will note that this restaurant has numbers of five star reviews interspersed with a number of one star reviews. Those who look in depth will note that the latter are generally written by people who have no other reviews to their credit and no proper profile. It is clear also from the responses by the management of the Masala that they believe that the poor reviews are the product of a concerted attack by another restaurant ( not in Braintree itself). My experience on a Friday night might seem to indicate that something like that could be happening.
We visited as a large family group and were greeted with a smile and taken through the well furnished and contemporary interior to our table. Popadums were brought quickly and drinks too were quickly provided. In common with all Braintree Indian restaurants beer prices are over-inflated but a bottle of Rioja was reasonably priced.
The pickles with the popadums were reasonable if not exceptional but the starters that followed were interesting. Salmon Tikka and Crab Peri Peri were two interesting choices.
The main courses quickly followed and were of a very high standard. The special shashlik which is flamed was superb as were the hotter curries. The butter chicken was too sweet for my taste but enjoyed by the person ordering it. Naans were great , The Green version with Coriander and Chili was not only very unusual but very tasty.
Puddings were the usual Indian fare and we abstained.

Throughout the meal the staff were unfailingly helpful and cheery. The food was hot and tasty and the general ambiance was friendly and calm.

Masala provides a different experience to its nearest rival ( Merchant Spice ) but is none the worse for that, Visit the truly exceptional pub ,The Wagon and Horses ,across the road first and you will have an excellent night out regardless of what the 'one reviewers' might think.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ptrcvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masalla Indian Restaurant also viewed

Great Bardfield, Braintree
Bradwell, Braintree
 
Black Notley, Braintree
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing