We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor and not ever using their service again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis London Barking
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Barking
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor and not ever using their service again”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

From the first reception meeting, I knew I had made a mistake. Hidden charges, when booking, there was no indication that parking is charged. Also when bookin I indicated a chups and when I asked for a baby cot, they said I needed to have requested ahead and this was not on the website either. The room is not very clean, I currently have a cobweb hanging on the ceiling. I was unable to use the kettle, it is dirty inside. Compared to other competitors I have visited, they are the worst for me.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Omohafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBISBARKING, General Manager at Ibis London Barking, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
I am sorry that on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I am currently investigating this matter. Please feel free to contact me on h2042-gm@accor.com. Kind regards, Mounia Lejmi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    164
    106
    40
    35
See reviews for
74
143
35
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denbighshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had two rooms for four nights during the Paralympics Games. The hotel location was chosen for this reason. The hotel is a 15-20min walk to the train/tube station. A neighbouring 24hr Tesco is a bonus. We did not have breakfast at the hotel so can not comment on it.
Clean rooms. The staff were very helpful; the first room we were given smelt of cigarette smoke and upon mentioning it to the staff, the room was changed straight away.
The rooms were warm during the night but due to the traffic noise, the window needed to remain closed. Some rooms are carpeted, others a laminate wood finish.
Bathroom reminded me of a ferry crossing but practical & clean. Fantastic absorbent towels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jante069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBISBARKING, General Manager at Ibis London Barking, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Mounia Lejmi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Good budget hotel, nice and clean ,
good service and staff
Located close to v busy main road but noise not too intrusive
Food in resataurant OK, Breakfast fine also. Internet is available but cost extra

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blazing-Saddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBISBARKING, General Manager at Ibis London Barking, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Mounia Lejmi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Was expecting a bit more from
The ibis barking. Breakfast had no eggs available on a full English would have expected staff to get eggs  from nearby supermarket.
The Bed kept moving about not stable as it is not in anyway attached to the headboard or floor.
Requested travel cot get moved from room as it was taking up too much space as room is definitely not big enough to accommodate more than 2 people, however no one turned up to pick it up after 30 minutes I removed it myself and put it outside the room. 15 minute service rule failed here. 
Heat in the room when arrived was 25 degrees, staff provided a fan which made no difference as thy told us temperature is centrally controlled. Switched on ac which bought temp down to 23 degrees but still too hot especially with a baby in
The room. I found that this hotel is not the best choice if you have a child/family. Good points parking cheap and convenient and shower very powerful. 

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riono5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBISBARKING, General Manager at Ibis London Barking, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be investigating this matter accordingly. Kind regards, Mounia Lejmi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barking hotels

Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Very poor service - got off to a poor start and went downhill from there; door wouldn't open without great difficulty; an awful breakfast, certainly not value for money.

I shan't be staying at this hotel again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daviddoakdunelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBISBARKING, General Manager at Ibis London Barking, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
I was sorry to learn that your stay on this occasion fell short of your expectations and I apologise for any discomfort or inconvenience caused. Please feel free to contact me on h2042-gm@accor.com. Mounia Lejmi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Only comment is that the beds tended to slide when you are sitting up since there was no headboard connect to the bed and the floor was wooden. Overall a good stay other than that. Good quality and clean other than that. Area in barking is not ideal but it is close to Tesco 24hour so handy for basic shopping. Bus access is good to starford station also.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dGamemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBISBARKING, Manager at Ibis London Barking, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Your comments will be shared with the team and I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Mounia Lejmi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barking
Whitechapel
Hotel ibis budget London Whitechapel - Brick Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hotel ibis budget London City Airport
Real Dreams Hotel
#5 of 6 in Barking
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis London Barking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London Barking

Property: Ibis London Barking
Address: Highbridge Road, Barking IG11 7BA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Barking
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Barking
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis London Barking 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently refurbished hotel is only 10 minutes walk away from the Barking tube station, 10 minutes' drive from the O2 and ExCeL exhibition centres and 20 minutes from Tower Bridge and central London. Reception is open 24 hours a day and there is a restaurant and bar on site. The bar serves snacks around the clock and breakfast is available any time from 06.30 until 10.00 a'clock on weekdays with a late riser offer until 12.00 pm and from 06.30 until 12.00 pm on weekends. The hotel has 86 rooms with large double beds and built in freeview HD TVs. All rooms have warm air heating as well as air cooling, power jet showers and WIFI access. Each room has tea/coffee making facilities. The hotel's 15-minute satisfaction guarantee promises to provide a solution to any problem the hotel may be responsible for, within 15 minutes, or your room is free of charge. You can pick up a snack or light meal in the FOGG'S restaurant, or relax with a nightcap in the friendly bar. Hotel has on-site parking (£3/day) for up to 60 cars.Guests driving must register car at reception. The Ibis London Barking hotel is a modern London hotel with 86 rooms. Located only 15 minutes drive from the ExCel Exhibition Centre and London City Airport. The City and London Bridge are a short drive away. Our contemporary rooms comes with satellite, Freeview TV & air cooling. You can pick up a snack or light meal in the FOGG'S restaurant, or relax with a nightcap in the friendly bar. Hotel has on-site parking (£3/day) for up to 60 cars.Guests driving must register car at reception. We are currently undergoing modernization work. Disruption will be kept to a minimum and should not impact on your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, ACCOR, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis London Barking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis London Barking Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing