We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel”
Review of Chalk Farm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chalk Farm Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Willingdon
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Superb hotel”
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a family celebration at the Chalk Farm Hotel and it was a wonderful experience on every level. All of the staff were friendly and helpful, even with the demands of the rowdier children in our party! Nothing was too much trouble and someone was always on hand to look after us. We had a celebration meal in the Saturday night and I was genuinely surprised at the high quality of the food that was served. A variety of dishes were served and I sampled all of them - all were on a par with a really decent gastro pub. The breakfast the next day was just as good and everyone's dietary requirements were accommodated without question. The room we had was very comfortable and clean, and the bed and pillows were very comfortable. For anyone interested in the works of George Orwell the hotel was previously a farm, and the inspiration for Manor Farm in the book Animal Farm. You can even walk down to the Red Lion pub in the village, which also features in Orwell's novel. The rooms are all named after characters in the book. The hotel dates back to the 17th Century, which means that it is wonderfully quirky and features many original features, whilst also providing modern amenities and facilities. I cannot recommend Chalk Farm Hotel highly enough, either for individuals or for a group celebration. Many Thanks to all of the staff.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Banjo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    15
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
36
12
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I got married at chalk farm hotel on 6th July 2013. We had the hotel over the while weekend. From the moment we viewed this hotel for our wedding to the day we got married, we received nothing but the best from Annie and her team, nothing was too much for them. Myself and my husband and both of our families had the most amazing wedding and stay at chalk farm.
Every need was met, even the smallest preparations were helped with, the service was amazing, the hotel itself was very clean and tidy, the food was awesome and the staff were spectacular, everything we wanted, we got and they put up with a lot from my loud family lol
We couldn't have asked for a better wedding day, thankyou very much for everything you did and for making our wedding day so perfect

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tanya607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We spent out wedding night here, and 30 years on (!) my husband booked us in for the night for a surprise treat. Our en suite room (Clover) was just lovely, recently refurbished I understand. Everything was of good quality and spotlessly clean. Service was really friendly and attentive- we were made to feel welcome and special. It's a peaceful spot at the foot of the South Downs with a lovely little garden. Breakfast was cooked to order, with cereal and fruit juice if that was not enough- it was all more than we could eat! I believe evening meals can sometimes be booked in advance but we had a superb meal at the Thai restaurant just a 2 minute walk away, and there are also 2 pubs that serve good food which are even closer. Would happily recommend giving this place a try.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferM54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

friendly informal atmosphere in lovely surroundings, great for adults and children with pretty gardens. The hog roast was really tasty with the evening buffet just as good, well presented good quality food very friendly staff would recommend for weddings or any function.

Room Tip: Cannot comment on hotel quality as was just there for a wedding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacehaven
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We got married at Chalk Farm Hotel in March 2013 and what an amazing place this is! Annie and her fantastic team were just great in every way! The communication was great, food was absolutely lovely! Everything was perfect would highly recommend this beautiful hotel for a wedding or any other occasion !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My sister-in-law had her 60th Birthday Celebration here at Chalk Farm Hotel. It is a beautiful, cosy hotel, there is a lovely bar area and then a restaurant area for the meal. The food was fantastic. It has a lovely cosy, personal feel and the staff were really friendly and helpful. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to people.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingston1Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2013

As a guest I went to chalk farm I was very impressed with the high level of standards , every room had been excellently prepared with ever minor detail attended to , the staff were excellent with us and I would highly recommend this hotel whether or a short break a family or business function or just a lovely meal out :) it also has a lovely garden with home grown vegetables and some animals, and the prettiest views and garden x

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina220980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willingdon
4.1 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
2.9 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Eastbourne Willingdon Drove
2.9 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
888 reviews
3.1 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalk Farm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalk Farm Hotel

Property: Chalk Farm Hotel
Address: Coopers Hill, Willingdon, Eastbourne BN20 9JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne > Willingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Willingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalk Farm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chalk Farm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalk Farm Hotel Willingdon, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing