We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best yet”
Review of Chalk Farm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chalk Farm Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Willingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We have used this Hotel for many family occasions, birthdays, family weddings etc: It was where George Orwell wrote Animal Farm, It has an ambiance that you only get from a well loved happy home, It is quirky and old and atmospheric, I adore it. The setting is glorious nestled in the South Downs and has a beautiful garden. It has a garden centre and tea rooms and is run by a charity. It also serves very good food. Annie the manager and her staff are very pleasant and accommodating and helpful , An utterly charming place, I can't wait for our next family event. Thank you Annie and Chalk Farm.

Room Tip: Most are really good with some lovely views of the downs or garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 86 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

Chalk Farm was recommended to us by friends who were putting on a 60th Birthday party at the Hotel. We studied all details of the hotel prior to booking in and it looked great. We were not disappointed one bit on our arrival and found the staff warm and friendly. Becky was the most welcoming person i had met for a long time. Very polite and would do anything for you and always with a smile..Thank you Becky x
We had room number 7 which overlooked the working farm with a lovely hillside backdrop and sheep in the fields.
The beds were comfortable and we both slept like logs. The room was clean and well decorated and towels were provided.
The price was reasonable and the bar prices were good. £3 for a pint.
Breakfast was full English if required as well as much tea/coffee as you want. Cereals, toast, fresh orange juice, jams and spreads were all there for you.
There was a buffet provided for the party which was fantastic. Lots and lots of food. Sandwiches, chicken, sausage rolls etc.. All really fresh.
The gardens are lovely, with a wide variety of interesting shrubs and flowers and there is even a plant nursery behind the hotel which is open to the public.
All in all,, can't knock this hotel one bit and look forward to going back again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sibucka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked Chalk Farm for a funeral reception for a family member.
The reception by the staff was outstanding and very understanding for a sombre occasion.
Buffet food was plentiful and of great quality. Tea and coffee was supplied on demand and replenished on call.
I could not fault the staff on their service and attitude, which was second to none.
I would definitely use Chalk Farm for any other occasions, and did recommend it to our neighbour, who also had a sad loss. They were very happy with the venue and asked to pass on their thanks.
Well done Chalk Farm. You made a sad occasion very easy and a pleasurable experience.

Martin Koch.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Our party of twenty six recently visited the hotel for a celebratory meal to celebrate our Grandad reaching the tender age of 90 years young! The venue was very attractive from the outside and didn't disappoint inside either.
We had a lovely three course meal which was fantastic value for money, served by friendly staff, all of whom made us feel very welcome.
A number of our party who had travelled from afar stayed overnight and reported that the rooms were very adequate and comfortable.
I would not hesitate in recommending this lovely hotel/restaurant and look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We live locally (willingdon) and decided to have Mums funeral reception at The Chalk Farm.
As someone with Hotel Management experience I really can't praise this venue enough. Everything was not only perfect, food, beverage and not least the excellent, pleasant service, the charges were extraordinarily reasonable.
I would have no reservation booking there again. Hopefully, for a more pleasant occasion :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Very cute place and good decoration but without a shower in most of the rooms and with a very poor service... You become surprised when you kearn from the receptionist that they buy eggs from supermarket in spite of the fact that the hotel gives the impression of belonging or related to the farm!

In the first day there was no kitter box in ghe bathroom and it was placed only in the scond day. The receptionist seems to live in anorher planet with no sense of service. You become even more surprised when you are reminded by banging on the door that in this hotel
The check out time is only 10:30 am !...

if you can stand having no shower at all and not surprised when you ask for a cheese in your breakfast because they don't normally serve it, then stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Utku67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Great place for non-church wedding. Excellent weather set the mood for civil marriage & our Annie (Smith) had everything organized as planned. Good buffet & friendly bar staff.
Disco in evening including another buffet enjoyed by everyone. Well done!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willingdon
3.1 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,691 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,922 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,060 reviews
4.2 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Eastbourne Willingdon Drove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalk Farm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalk Farm Hotel

Address: Coopers Hill, Willingdon, Eastbourne BN20 9JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne > Willingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Willingdon
Price Range: $88 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalk Farm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Chalk Farm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalk Farm Hotel Willingdon, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing