We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must try for food”
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Willingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A must try for food”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Having moved to the area I have driven past the Red Lion often and decided to pop in one evening with my partner. On entering the main bar you are met with a warm welcome, both in terms of the decor and the bar staff. On ordering our drinks we sat down at our table and began to read the menu.
It was refreshing to see some modern and fresh alternatives to the usual pub menu. Sirloin or rump served by the oz which is freshly cut in the kitchen. A mixed seafood risotto, and pork belly to name but a few options.
We opted for the whitebait and pate as our starters. Both came swiftly and tasted delicious. Each came with a small salad which was fresh and tasty, and most of all well seasoned!

Following this I opted for the chicken and chorizo risotto which I thoroughly enjoyed, albeit if I was to criticise I would suggest the portion size was a little generous. My parter went for the burger which looked and tasted equally as good. The chips were by far the best I have eaten for a long time.

This place is somewhere I deffinately plan to return to. They serve takeaway fish and chips which is a nice touch, and while the prices aren't cheapt, it is on par with a decent pub serving quality food, and certainly won't break the bank.

Go on give it a try.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sussexlad81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    27
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great village Pub”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great food,excellent and friendly service,comfortable surroundings. Massively improved since recent new management took over.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 821RW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“fantastic village pub”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Nicki and gavin have done wonders here....It is simply transformed...revamped,wood burner,best ever food (seriously good) warm friendly welcome from staff and clientel,quite simply a fantastic village pub...love it...in fact I`m going for a pint right now :-)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_H_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Simply Excellent”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We live close to the Red Lion and visit frequently and it just gets better and better. Since Gavin & Nicki took over last year they have really raised the bar. We visited at the weekend for my husband’s birthday and had a fantastic meal of pork fillet wrapped in bacon with potato croquettes and seasonal vegetables. The portions are ample and served with a smile. I would recommend the place to anyone. Well done guys, keep up the good work.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_R_of_Sussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

They do a midweek roast plus starter and pudding for £9.50, 2 courses for £7.50 (Mon, Tues and Weds)!!! The roast is either beef, pork or lamb with vege nut roast too. My partner had the beef,very generous portion, perfectly cooked, fantastic roast potatoes and home made yorkshire pudding. Nut roast was amazing, home made perfection! Apple crumble out of this world - cooked with a little ginger surprise.

Incredible value, great service, friendly chatty staff, SUPERB!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicks_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Pevensey, East Sussex
Willingdon, Eastbourne
 
Eastbourne, East Sussex
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 
Eastbourne, East Sussex
Jevington, East Sussex
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing