We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning house and views, supreme relaxation.”

Review of Waterside Manor

View from the drive
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the drive
Main Galleried Hall Master suite with dressing room & large bathroom with power bath & shower
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
View from the drive
Main Galleried Hall
Master suite with dressing room & large bathroom with power bath & shower
Large kitchen & Orangery.
4 door Aga, electric oven & hob
Aerial view
Sunrise, taken from terrace
Triple aspect Drawing Room with large Inglenook & woodburner
Dining Room can seat 18 or more
Table Tennis & Pool Table
French doors to terrace & garden
Gun Room, TV Sky, BT sport, Open Fire
Galleried Landing
Triple aspect, kingsize bed, ensuite shower & bath
Juliette balcony, kingsize bed, ensuite shower
Main ensuite, large power shower & power bath, double basin
Wine Room, ground floor,  wash basin
Top floor ensuite power shower
Ensuite power shower & bath
Kingsize bed, ensuite
French doors from  Orangery to terrace
View from garden
Bluebells, preceded by daffodils lining the drive
Boats on Bewl Water
Jacuzzi overlooking the lake
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
8 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Wadhurst, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
vitorgtr
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning house and views, supreme relaxation.”
Reviewed November 1, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We stayed at Waterside Manor for a 30th weekend getaway and could not have been happier w our choice. Bewl Water is magnificent and the manor is something to behold. Helen is an excellent host and everything went smoothly. Would highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2017
Many thanks for your kind words - so glad you all had such a great time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonJChi...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The most perfect place for our wedding celebration”
Reviewed October 8, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had the most amazing weekend at Waterside Manor celebrating our wedding in September 2017.
The location is amazing, very secluded, with large spacious, well-kept gardens and some fantastic views over the lake.
The house is grand and has everything you need for a great time. There are plenty of rooms and bathrooms. The beds are really comfortable. The kitchen is well equipped and the games room is a great hangout place for young (and old!). It was great to have enough rooms for our family and close friends to stay with us during this special occasion.
Every single one of our guests was wowed when they arrived at the house.
It’s an absolutely amazing place to spend the weekend and we feel so lucky to have been able to celebrate our wedding there.
Helen is extremely friendly, helpful and easy to deal with. Everyone had a great time at the weekend and we hope to come back to celebrate our wedding anniversary at some point in the future!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2017
Many thanks Simon for this lovely review - I'm so pleased you all enjoyed the weekend.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilidat
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Simply amazing - highly recommend ”
Reviewed September 26, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

I booked Waterside Manor for a birthday weekend. I'm a returning guest and cannot recommend this property enough.

We arranged catering with Kitchens of Kent and the lovely Russell and team provided the catering which was locally sourced and absolutely delicious.

Helen the owner recommended catering and really looked after us. My friends were excited to return to this house we went out walking and to the local pub.

If you are looking for a house with incredible views and pure luxury I cannot recommend Waterside more highly you will not be disappointed..... we were sad to leave as we enjoyed our weekend so much.

The house is simply perfect for a group or large family / wedding.

Thank you to Helen again for allowing us the opportunity to stay at Waterside manor we will definitely return.

I should add we have stayed at other properties in the area and they simply don't compare to Waterside manor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2017
Thank you so much for the lovely review - it's much appreciated and hope to welcome you back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted K
Pensacola, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“There really are no words to describe how spectacular this house is!”
Reviewed August 26, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

After spending many days at sea, our group, sixteen people in total (ages 2 yo to 52 yo) decided to find a summer home that we could relax in while exploring the English countryside.

Wow! Did we luck out!

The house is simply magnificent. I remember making our way through the winding roads leading to the house, going through the gate, rounding the corner, and as soon as the house was in view the gasps in the van from our party must have sucked all the oxygen from the air. We just couldn't believe how beautiful the house was, in such a lovely setting.

Add to the structure of the house, Helen, the owner, whose warmth and hospitality welcomed us and make us feel right at home. She really made our week both adventurous and restful.

We also had the opportunity to enjoy a chef/catering service at the house, "Clever Cooks", Andrea and Pippa who cared and fed us from the day we arrived until we had to say our goodbyes. Homemade English cooking, local produce and cheeses, fresh strawberries and cherries abounded in the area, it was a true feast all week long.

We also took the opportunity to explore the countryside, castles and palaces from times gone by, and even spent a day in London. Every day we returned from our explorations we were welcomed back by a home that embraced and nourished us.

The house has more than ample space to provide both intimate evenings amongst friends and family or a secluded place where one can listen to the quiets of nature and curl up with a good book.

The reservoir, which the home is situated on, provides all sorts of activities for those interested. Kayaking, sailing, bicycling, hiking, to name just a few. All within walking distance.

The jacuzzi outside will be a fond memory for all of us, outside at night under the stars.

The dining room has room for 16 people, a game room and each bedroom is more of a suite than a room with ample space.

There is also an interesting history to the home which I won't share here, I'll let Helen intrigue and surprise you.

We had a glorious time and cannot recommend this home, and it's heart - Helen, enough. What a beautiful way to spend some time away or use as a venue for a much larger gathering.

Thank you for a blessed vacation!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2017
It was a pleasure to have you all at Waterside Manor.
Lovely family and welcome back anytime.
Many thanks for your indepth review - hugely appreciated
Best wishes
Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marekgldn
london
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing, breathtakingly wedding house”
Reviewed July 15, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We booked Manor House directly through Helen the owner for our wedding in March 2017 for our family. We felt in love in the house from the very first time we saw it. Beautiful drive, well kept garden, view over the lake and the house itself...all exclusive, private, just perfect for our ocassion and Helen could not be more helpful and welcoming. The house offers a fully equipped kitchen, all bedrooms with bathrooms, beautiful dining room, 2 reception
rooms, a play room for kids, amazing entrance hall, patio with a view over the lake, hot jacuzzi, parking...We had a small music band (seduced), local catering and florist.
We (18 people) stayed there 4 days and we loved every minute of it. Out families met and felt like at home-not a hotel. We were very lucky to have an amazing weather on that weekend, BBQ lunch in the gardens for all visiting guests (about 50 people). Every guest just couldn't believe how pretty this place it is!
Highly recommend! Scott & Rob

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2017
Thank you - it was a pleasure to have you at the house

Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside69...
1 review
“Perfect house for the family to come together for a special occasion”
Reviewed July 8, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We brought 3 generations together for a family celebration for my husband's 50th and had the most amazing weekend.

The house has everything you need for a luxury weekend away, set in the most spectacular location with glorious views over Bewl Water.

We were 10 adults and 8 children ranging from 10 weeks to 13 years; the bigger kids loved having the second floor to themselves - a girls side and a boys side - whilst the littler ones were easily accommodated in their parents' rooms thanks to Helen moving and making up truckle beds etc.

We were there only 3 nights but it felt like a week's holiday: Playing on/near the lake, cycling, bbq's, chilling, chatting, kids monopolising the hot tub (which we made as cool as possible because we had such amazing weather). Hubby even got to nurse his hangover watching motor racing in the gun room whilst everyone else was happily occupied....

Helen recommended Russell from Kitchen of Kent to cater a wonderful dinner party on the Saturday night for the adults, which worked perfectly.

We made some amazing memories and couldn't fault the facilities - when it's a special occasion you don't want to risk anything but the best, and this is absolutely top class.

Our 5 year old nephew keeps asking when he can go back to Uncle James' party house and we took loads of photos of good design ideas for future projects at home.

Thank you Helen!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2017
Thank you so much - it was a pleasure to have you.

Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing