We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ticehurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The room was ok, the hotel was ok, the breakfast was ok. Nothing amazing about any of it. We had a room facing the car park at the front which was quite noisy in the morning with laundry loads, chatty golfers and cars. Ask for a room facing the other way if you can. We were going to a wedding in Ticehurst and it is a very dark 'good' 20 minute walk into the town. There are no cabs. Consider this if you are doing anything in Ticehurst itself.

The room was a decent size, the bathroom was very small but completely functional. Good for what we wanted.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Sparkles38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlRundgren, General Manager at Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

For the readers of this site, I would say the walk from our entrance into Ticehurst village will take about 10 minutes, it is less than 2 minutes to drive by car.

Thank you for the review, it seems everything was ok.

Regards
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (519)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 519 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

From the moment we checked in to the time we checked out everyone we met offered a great standard of service. The food was of a very high standard from.bar snacks through dinner and onto breakfast. The bedrooms were of a reasonable size and we'll equipped. The bath was small, but there was a separate shower. My only criticism was that the pillows were well past their best.
We were on a golf weekend away. Both courses are excellent, the Woosnam is one of the best I have ever played.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F1roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlRundgren, General Manager at Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

A very pleasing review. All aspects of your stay from the actual rooms to the service and food received and to condition and quality of the golf courses were all above your expectations and that is what we aim to achieve for all our guests.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we hope to see you back at some point in the future.

Best Wishes
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I choose Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club for my Lady Captain's Away weekend and I could not have been more satisfied with the whole weekend. The golf courses were excellent and both in good condition, the rooms were spacious, clean and well equipped and the food was excellent. We were a group of 24 ladies and not one bad comment from anyone which, in itself is a result! The staff could not do enough for us and catered for our every need. The reservation staff were exceptionally accommodating and nothing appeared to be too much trouble for them. I would go back to this hotel in a heartbeat, definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor and overlooked the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlRundgren, General Manager at Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

A fantastic review and one which I am very proud of. I will ensure all the staff are made aware of your kind comments and I do hope we will indeed be able to welcome you back for another stay at some point.

Kind Regards
Carl Rundgren
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed here with a group of friends and played both courses. The Woosnam Course, is a course everyone should play at least once and it would be a good idea to have a buggy. Their other course is just as good but they obviously spend the time looking after their signature course. Could have been given more on the dinner plate but was tasty. The breakfast the following morning was a disappointment. We had to wait for nearly all the trays to be filled as they didn't prepare enough. You could say they were penny pinching so as not to have any waste.
Another disappointment was the bar, nowhere near enough staff or choice.
Overall, this is worth a try, but, having been to many other venues, this place is a bit pricey.

Room Tip: Get a buggy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BigmanBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlRundgren, General Manager at Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear BigmanBrighton

Thank you for your very kind comments reference the golf courses. Our green keeping team at Dale Hill have worked very hard in getting the courses into the shape they currently are enjoying and are a delight to play.

I apologise for the lack of filling up the hot food at breakfast. We do not overfill our buffets, our preference is to keep putting freshly prepared food in small quantites and often so as to ensure all guests receive a hot and tasty breakfast. Apologies if this service was a bit slow in the morning.

Your experience you describe in your review is not up to our usual high standards and I can assure you it will be better on your next visit. If you do decide to visit again in the future please do get in touch with me direct and I will personally look after the details of your next booking.

Kind Regards
Carl Rundgren
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful week's stay at Dale Hill. The staff went out of their way to look after us, the food was superb and the room was very comfortable. The golf courses were in excellent condition, and were very well marshalled. The Woosnam Course must be in a class of its own. We have played on many top courses in Europe, Australia and America and the Woosnam Course compares very favourably with these. In addition, Dale Hill is situated in a beautiful part of Sussex with many interesting places nearby to visit. I am very surprised at some of the negative comments - Dale Hill is a very special place.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Suffolkgolfer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlRundgren, General Manager at Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am so pleased that the whole week was enjoyed by you and your husband and that all aspects of your stay were positive. Your positive comment reference the marshalling is most pleasing, they do a very difficult job and do not always get the credit they deserve. I will pass your kind comments onto the whole team.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back for your next stay shortly.

Best Wishes
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

This was my annual golf trip with friends and we got a great deal of DBB and two rounds of golf. Firstly the hotel. Nice staff (2guys in pro shop on the first day were the exception) We got a private dinning room for dinner which was nice and the food was good. We stayed late in the bar and were never felt it was time to leave. Breakfast was fine - you won't go hungry. Rooms were good I with everything you would need.
Golf was great with the highlight the Ian Woosnam course on the second day which was outstanding and in great shape. Only little disappointment was no 9th hole drinks or buggy which I would expect from a golf course of this standards. Otherwise a great trip and I would return.

Room Tip: Golf breaks do a great deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Backpackernomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlRundgren, General Manager at Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Great review and thank you for your kind comments.

We are looking into the cost implications of running a drinks buggy so this may be up and running for your next visit.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Dale Hill in the future.

Best Wishes
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

I recently stayed overnight with a party of 24 Ladies playing golf on both courses. The Hotel staff were friendly and helpful - upgraded to executive room overlooking the course - worth doing - had very comfy bed, shower and bath, some rooms didn't have a bath! Woosnam course the best but a bit hilly on a hot afternoon! Dinner was as advertised although sweet very expensive and not worth the money. Played the Old course next day - not so interesting or challenging - disappointed with NO FACILITIES on either course - particularly on two hot days when a cool drink would have been most welcome think they are missing an opportunity there.
Would go back over night and Play Woosnam again if on a good deal.

Room Tip: Upgrade to over look the course and more relaxing space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlRundgren, General Manager at Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear sue b

Thank you for your review. I was made aware of your group's comments regarding the lack of toilet facilities.

I am currently looking into the costs of having some facilities (either permanent or temporary) out on the Woosnam Course. If these costs are deemed favourable then that may go ahead as a project over the winter months or Spring 2015. The Old Course's 10th Green is near to the clubhouse (as is the 3rd and 5th green) so we don't believe there is any need to put in place some facilities on this course.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the hotel and its staff and I can assure you we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back for another stay in the future.

Best Wishes
Carl Rundgren
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ticehurst
15.9 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,267 reviews
8.2 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
14.2 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
T & J Motel
T & J Motel
#1 of 1 in Flimwell
22 reviews
15 mi away
The Cooden Beach Hotel
The Cooden Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bexhill-on-Sea
978 reviews
5.8 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cranbrook
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club

Address: Dale Hill, Ticehurst TN5 7DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Ticehurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ticehurst
Price Range: $104 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dale Hill Hotel has a lot more to offer than just two delightful golf courses as you will soon find out. It has all the first-class facilities that you would expect of a four-star hotel and a few more besides. With 35 en-suite bedrooms, an award-winning restaurant, an informal brasserie, several bars, comfortable lounges, Sky TV in the bar, conference and banqueting facilities, indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and air-conditioned gymnasium, it’s simply a great place to unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dale Hill Hotel And Golf Club Ticehurst, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing