We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Rooms,Food and location”
Review of Bell Inn Ticehurst

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bell Inn Ticehurst
Ranked #1 of 2 Ticehurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fabulous Rooms,Food and location”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Having attended a wedding locally to Ticehurst we stayed at the bell and are so happy this beautiful venue was recommended to us! We stayed in 'benefit of the doubt' room which is beautiful,overlooking the village centre. The original features have been peppered with eclectic touches all over including a tree through the main part of the room, forks and spoons for hangers and a stunning copper roll top bath.
The pub area is extensive but cosy at the same time, with little nooks and separate rooms including a little library which is perfect for a party of 6-10.
The breakfast is simply amazing, we chose the full english which was lovely, and the most friendly and funny waitress who cheered us out of our hangovers!
I dont know the area but definitely choose this hotel if visiting locally!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jhonnie D, General Manager at Bell Inn Ticehurst, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Hi Sophie
What a lovely review! Glad that Helen helped with the hangover!
Thank you for taking the time to post. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    89
    37
    16
    8
See reviews for
40
202
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Lovely property, the owner has obviously put a lot of thought into the design of the rooms- from the top notch toiletries to the filter coffee, quirky art work and very comfortable bed linen. However the evening meal we had in the restaurant left a lot to be desired, in fact it was awful. We did complain on the day and the Brazilian owner was very accommodating and compensated accordingly however we wouldn't return. There are a multitude of great pubs/restaurants in the surrounding villages and sadly whilst we wanted to love the Bell Inn we left feeling disappointed.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MagentaBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jhonnie D, General Manager at Bell Inn Ticehurst, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post. We’re glad you were happy with your room but are disappointed with the feedback regarding your evening meal. I can only apologise again and assure you that all feedback is addressed with the team to ensure continual reassessment of our offering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Having searched on the internet for a different and relaxing place to eat lunch, we ended up at The Bell in Ticehurst. We were not disappointed. The food was absolutely delicious and service exceptional. The prices were slightly more expensive than the average 'corporate pub' - we paid £55.00 - for four soft drinks, one starter, two main meals, one pudding and a coffee and tea - but I have to say this price reflected the quality of the food. The pub itself offers a quirky atmosphere with lamp shades made out of bowler hats, and apparently trombone type instruments as urinals in the mens toilets!!

We would definitely be doing a return trip back to this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jhonnie D, General Manager at Bell Inn Ticehurst, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Hi Sue
Thank you for taking the time to post and for such a lovely review.
Hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

We were lucky enough to have our wedding here last May and it was truly magical.
Having stayed there on a whim we completely and instantly fell in love with the venue, the decor was just us and although we were engaged but had no imminent plans for a wedding yet we decided this was where we had to do it and booked then and there. 11 weeks later we got married and it was the most perfect day imaginable. Without wanting to sound like a review of my wedding everything was amazing, the rooms suited the people we allocated to them and they all wanted (and lots have) to return, the management of the event was seamless and being a venue manager myself I know what that means. The food was out of this world, we had lamb shank which couldn't have been better.
I think however the best thing and what they should be most proud of is the staff, they all seem to love working there, have the utmost professional manor but keep a friendly buzz about the place which so many places loose.

I could go on but this is a review not a novel...

We have since then returned a couple of times for lunch and each has been just as good. We stayed for our anniversary this May and not only was it like we never left but with they're new builds and ideas coming together ensures that we will keep coming back time after time... (Hopefully they will not tire of us before then)

Paul & Kaela Bailey

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank psobailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jhonnie D, General Manager at Bell Inn Ticehurst, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Hi Paul and Kaela
Thank you so much for your glowing review. We love a good wedding and enjoyed being part of yours. We are very proud of our team here and I will pass on your kind words.
And we are always delighted to see you and hope to welcome you one day soon when our new lodges will be ready.
Thank you for taking the time to post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed here for one night. It was truly amazing. Our room was so well decorated with little touches to add interest. Bed was so comfortable it was a struggle to get up in the morning. We ate at The Bell in the evening and had breakfast the following day the food was brilliant we couldn't fault it. All the staff were friendly and so helpful even though it was a very busy bank holiday Monday. Would definitely go back again the only problem would be which room to choose next time. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so memorable

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank angel56xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jhonnie D, General Manager at Bell Inn Ticehurst, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burwash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We booked a table for four on Easter Sunday, the food was ok. I do think its a little mean to just give 7 chips with a home made burger! I was looking forward to a lamb roast but, unfortunately they did not have lamb on the menu it was haggot, not quite mutton but in the way. My other half had the haggot it was extremely fatty as lamb is but to the point where there was a lot more fat on the plate than meet. Last thing I was say about service is when we asked for a vegetarian option we where told that they don't have one but they could take the meet out of the roast! I'm really easy to please but this was very dissapointing.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Limetab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jhonnie D, General Manager at Bell Inn Ticehurst, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you taking the time to post. We're sorry you were disappointed with your Sunday lunch.

The chips are hand cut and triple cooked which we feel gives a better quality of chip. The chips are larger than you would receive in many other pubs and are not taken from the freezer, so as far as potato content goes you will receive more here than at our competitors.

There was a vegetarian option on the menu and I'm sorry if this wasn't made clear. (Gnocchi, a potato dumpling, pan fried and served with sautéed wild mushrooms). As regards one of our staff members suggesting a roast without the meat, we find this hard to believe as this is not how they have been trained and we will investigate.

Finally, hogget is a lamb in its second year which we use as, having lived longer, it has a deeper flavour. The meat is sourced from our local farm, Coopers Farm, and our Head Chef, Richard Kirkwood, finds their meat second to none in terms of flavour, texture and consistency. Our chefs were conscious that there was slightly more fat on the meat compared to lamb so were removing it.

Once again, our apologies that your meal didn't come up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Attended a wedding here,although "quirky" I found it very dark and gloomy. Floors pretty uneven and rather too many steps, several trip hazards if you aren't careful. Wedding breakfast not great . Staff very helpful and polite.Rooms, once again dark and no mirrors in convenient places.Bathroom fine but again very dark.Bed big and comfortable. The owners have tried to make it different but to an older person I wouldn't recommend it , although young people would probably like it. I wouldn't stay again.

Helpful?
1 Thank toneshirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jhonnie D, General Manager at Bell Inn Ticehurst, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your views with us. You raise some valid points. The Bell is quirky and different to most venues, intentionally so. We do have a number of older guests who just love the place but we do appreciate that it is not going to be everyone's cup of tea. Your kind comments about our staff are very much appreciated by all those who work hard to make the bride and groom's day special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ticehurst
0.7 mi away
Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club
15.1 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
15.6 mi away
The George in Rye
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Star & Eagle Hotel
Star & Eagle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goudhurst
139 reviews
12.6 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
8.5 mi away
Leeford Place Hotel
Leeford Place Hotel
#3 of 5 in Battle
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Inn Ticehurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Inn Ticehurst

Property: Bell Inn Ticehurst
Address: High Street, Ticehurst TN5 7AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Ticehurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ticehurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bell Inn Ticehurst 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bell is a truly quirky hotel and pub in the heart of the village of Ticehurst, East Sussex. Bedrooms in the main building are warm and comfortable, some featuring a copper roll top bath. There are four lodges built around a fire pit in the garden and include the extraordinary Love Nest. The restaurant serves modern British prepared from local and seasonal ingredients, whilst locals gather in the pub for local real ales and a roaring fire in winter. Weddings and celebrations a bit of a speciality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Bell Inn Ticehurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Inn Ticehurst East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing