We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining in the restaurant.”
Review of Brickwall Hotel

Brickwall Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dining in the restaurant.”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Have posted a separate review on this restaurant , well worth a visit if in the area. Might be worth booking beforehand as can get very busy.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    32
    8
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Cannot recommend this enough. Food fantastic. Service fantastic. Setting fantastic. Had a meal here with our friends for our anniversary and there pre wedding meal and we was not dissapointed. Great flavours great portions. 3 of had the steak and it was cooked perfectly and the sauce was lovely. Cheesecake to die for apparently from our friend.

Helpful?
Thank cjacaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We have stayed at the Brickwall a few times going back to the same place is something we don't
Normaly do, but the Brickwall is a real find for good food, service , and a step back in time relax
And the area is just lovely

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janet c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairlight
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in the district”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The Brickwall for me is one of the best, the service is always perfect and the food the same, the atmosphere is soothing with absolutely no background noise at all. I have been to this hotel many many times before and will never stop going. The hotel is old and what is so wonderful is they are not trying to spoil it with modern refurbishments, the conservatory is delightful and great for parties of 20 where you can be noisy without disturbing others. A lovely step back in time for me.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank margaret h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional service!”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

I recently had a meal at the Brickwall Hotel with my partner, and we were joined by some relatives who were staying there. This was their first visit, and they were very impressed with the service throughout their stay. Our dining experience was undoubtedly one of the best we have had at any restaurant. The food was well prepared and presented, and the service was exceptional. The staff were attentive and charming, and nothing was too much trouble. In fact at the end of the evening we were in the unfortunate position of not being able to find a taxi for our return journey. However, not to disappoint us, the staff arranged for one of their members to take us to our destination! It was indeed a unique dining experience. No doubt it will not be our last visit there, as we are shortly due to move into our new house which is almost opposite this delightful hotel.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brickwall Hotel also viewed

Sedlescombe, East Sussex
Westfield, East Sussex
 

Been to Brickwall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing