We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, well run venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sedlescombe Golf Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sedlescombe
Certificate of Excellence
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent, well run venue”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed 2 nights as part of a golf package. The room was fantastic - only improvement would be a proper shower - however after a full day of golf, the bath was wonderful.

Breakfast was excellent, food in the evening was first class - excellent fresh fish, collected to order.

Sports bar was great for football and relaxing in the evening.

All of the staff were very friendly and helpful and the golf facilities are first class.

Great length par 3 course for practice and a decent 18 hole course. Golf tuition and facilities are some of the best I have seen.

A great package - well done1

Room Tip: My room - 17 - was enormous with a big, comfortable double bed and two single beds. Air con and sate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonLo_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    66
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
101
52
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Booked into the Hotel, as my hubbie is playing golf here tomorrow. I didn't expect the golf lodge to be as comfortable as it is, huge room, fabulous bath and lashings of hot water ... Great for a long soak after the chilly walk at Hastings seafront .... But the jewel in the crown, is the food! Just had a starter and main course for £22, best deep fried Camembert ever! (And have sampled a few :-) ) and the special board duck breast was enormous ....only downside was that I was so full that I could not manage dessert! Staff were very attentive. Really looking forward to breakfast tomorrow. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happytourist2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
433 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Booked twin room for late night stop over through Booking.com for £69.00.
Got a call at 7pm from hotel checking arrival time and gig z great welcome when we eventually arrived at 21:30. Asked for early breakfast and no problem. Rooms very large, good TV and excellent free wifi plus even face towels in bathroom!

Full English Breakfast was a feast so we made bacon toasters for elevenses instead of leaving stuff on the plate. Coffee fresh and bread seemed to be homemade. Service extremely friendly and prompt.

Great value pity we didn't have time for some golf...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshire1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Enjoyed a Saturday One night break with two other couples after booking with Late Rooms.com, great rate inclusive of breakfast, and a great time was had by all.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful throughout our stay, our room (No 14), was clean, spacious, with very nice views across the course and spacious bathroom.
The meal in the restaurant was first class, as was breakfast.
The full size par 3 nine hole course is free to use for Hotel guests and was in good condition, unfortunately didn't get the chance to try out the 18 hole course, due to the appalling weather, will definitely look to return in the spring.

Room Tip: Room 14, great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LIMPIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pwllmeyric
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

You will be very pleased with the accommodation at this venue. The rooms are very well appointed & very comfortable. We have stayed several times and are never disappointed. The clubhouse, where you have breakfast is not luxurious but perfectly adequate & the good news is that everything is freshly cooked with a good choice. You can have snacks throughout the day & dinner in the evening was very nice. If you pre-order you can a choice of fresh fish which is excellent. The service in the restaurant was first class despite them being fairly busy. The staff are all extremely pleasant. Everything is geared up for golfers with the pro shop just outside the clubhouse. A good course for all standards of golfers. This venue can outstrip many 4* golf hotels we have been to in the past & would have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: Ask for a queen room as they are slightly larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CruisingCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The Golf Club is set in lovely grounds away from the main road. On arrival we went to reception which is the bar in the clubhouse restaurant. The reception were very friendly and informative. As we were staying for golf lessons they provided clear information of where and when to meet the coach. We were given two key cards for the lodge and the code for the main lodge door which is always locked.

The lodge is situated away from the clubhouse so it is quiet. We were so happy because we arrived on the Sunday of the Ryder Cup and it was very busy.

There is parking right next to the lodge. It is on two floors. We were in room 8 which was a large king size room on the ground floor in a corner. The only downside is this room is next to the lift. The lift was out of order and the lodge was quite quiet. I do wonder what the noise would have been like had the lift been working and the lodge was full. There is also second staircase next to the lift with a fire door. We did not experience the door banging shut. But there we not many people resident in the lodge.

The room was large and very clean. The bedroom furniture was old pine and fitted in lovely with the decor. There was a large double wardrobe, large set of drawers, a settee, chair and two bedside cabinets. Our room had a small decked area with two loungers. The cushions for them are in the wardrobe. Unfortunately the poor weather did not allow us to sit out and enjoy the views over a number of the fairways. If you need it the TV has a number of channels with good reception.

The only downside was the wireless broadband in the lodge did not reach our room. There is a note in the room highlighting that it does not work in all rooms. It did work in the golf club bar and restaurant with a reasonable speed. I did find that a Three network 3G dongle worked no problems in the room. Reception with o2 was a pity patchy, but that nothing new with o2.

The bathroom has a large corner bath. Although there is shower head you have to sit in the bath as there is no shower screen. There are two sinks with set in a large work top. The hot water is very hot, with signs warning you. There is a good supply of toiletries and fresh towels.

There is a hair drier in the bathroom with a three pin plug. Unfortunately like other comments say this is pointless as there is no electric socket next to a mirror to enable you to use a hair drier. Neither is there an electric socket close to a mirror in the room. Please please can you sort this as it is repeated in the feedback and will finish of such nice rooms.

The bed was very soft for our liking. It had quite a bounce. But this is personal preference. The bedding was lovely and crisp and clean.

As it was the start of October it was cool. The heating is provided by the air conditioning unit above the door. I do not think I would like to stay during the winter as it takes such a long time to warm up. The power to the room is activated by placing the room card key into a slot by the door. When you leave the power is then cut to the room. Once it warmed up it was very cozy. The advice is to read the instructions on using the air con unit so it does not wake you up in the night.

Tea, coffee, milk and biscuits are provided. It was good to see that they included decaf coffee.

The lodge has a locker room by the main door with individual lockers for your golf clubs and bags. Each locker can take two tour size bags (if you have two bags you cannot fit in a trolley). The key is provided when you check in.

Breakfast was provided and is served in the golf club restaurant between 7.30-8.30am. There is a buffet style for limited cereal (cornflakes or muesli), bread and orange juice. Tea and coffee is brought to your table. But you must try the cooked breakfasts. The staff are very efficient and will take your order for a cooked breakfast straight away. This is important as it is cooked fresh, none of the hot plates as in other hotel restaurants. The salmon and scrambled eggs is divine. The choices change each day but there is always the full breakfast. The are also newspapers available.

During the day we used the bar for morning coffee. There are plenty of seats and the members make you feel welcome. There are two large flat screen TVs but the volume is kept low. In the afternoon is was a great place for a sociable drink.

Although extra we had our evening meal in the restaurant. If you like fish this is the place to go. You can order what type of fish you want in the morning and it is collected fresh that day. It will then be cooked to your liking that evening. The homemade pies are out of this world. They have very thin pastry and are packed full of large chunks of tender meat. the chicken and ham was excellent. The chips are something else. They are chunky style and we were sure that they were double cooked as they were crispy yet had a flowery middle. As with breakfast everything is cooked fresh and is lovely. We had no complaints at all with the quality of the food. The service is excellent with very friendly staff who do their best to make sure you enjoy your stay.

As to the extra costs, alcohol, food and tea/coffee we received a very pleasant shock at the end of the stay. It was much cheaper than we had anticipated. Another guest also commented on how reasonable the costs were.

We used the golf school on site which was excellent. They have quite a unique way of teaching. For example we did not hit a golf ball for the first day. Day one was spent on the swing and hitting the tee. It certainly worked. There is a nice 9 hole course for beginners. It is a bit hilly and the fairways are narrow so it makes you concentrate on your swing and not distance.

Would I return? The answer is yes. Would I recommend for golfers? Yes. Would I recommend for none golfers? Yes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diver2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, Middx
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife and I had a very enjoyable 2 night stay. The room and bathroom were large and clean and the bed was very comfortable. The decor was plain and could be softened with a little colour. There were curtains and blinds, but neither were of blackout material.
The restaurant was not of fine dining standard, but the produce was of high quality and well cooked, making for very tasty meals. In the morning fresh fish can be ordered for dinner, which is a nice touch. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful, which compensated for some amusing amateurishness.
The excellent breakfast was available until 11.00 am; other establishments please take note.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Popesgrotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedlescombe
0.6 mi away
Claverton Country House Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Brickwall Hotel
The Brickwall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sedlescombe
270 reviews
2.2 mi away
Leeford Place Hotel
Leeford Place Hotel
#2 of 5 in Battle
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#5 of 5 in Battle
198 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in Battle
104 reviews
24.1 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sedlescombe Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedlescombe Golf Hotel

Property: Sedlescombe Golf Hotel
Address: Kent Street | A21, Sedlescombe TN33 0SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Sedlescombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sedlescombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sedlescombe Golf Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sedlescombe Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing