We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In our opinion, the best of British Pub Food in a perfect country location”
Review of The Queen's Head

The Queen's Head
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“In our opinion, the best of British Pub Food in a perfect country location”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We called in to The Queens Head on the off chance for dinner on our way home one evening earlier this week. I can honestly say that we had the one of the best meals ever had.

The Queens Head is a lovely country setting in the small village of Sedlescombe in East Sussex.

We have always been a fan of home cooked "Real" food. The Queens Head met and exceeded our expectations.

The staff were lovely. Really friendly, courteous and attentive. Obviously worked together as an efficient team.

We enjoyed the meal so much we returned 2 days later and this time had lunch there. We drove 5 miles out of our way to visit the pub again.

The meal we had (twice running) was the lemon sole with samphire and dauphinoise potatoes and king prawn linguini with a sweet chilli sauce. Their Sticky toffee pudding is one of the best that we have had.

We really do recommend it. We will certainly be going back again, soon I hope.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter&Alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    92
    18
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Etchingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great friendly pub”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Top rated establishment this. Great staff, good food and well kept beer.

The garden is great for children to let off steam.

Booking necessary at weekends but well worth the effort.

Helpful?
1 Thank The_Ejaculator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First Rate”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Food well cooked,plenty of it,The Lamb was the Best I tasted for a long time,The Staff first class.Can not fault it,will go back when ever I can.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Finally!”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The Queens Head In Sedlescombe, near Battle, is your typical Pub. It is in a great location and there is a lovely outlook over the village green with Geese that roam freely through the Village. It really is picture perfect, so why it has been in a state of decline for years has baffeld me. FINALLY!! Someone that has recognised the pub for what it is and all its potential has taken over and made it into the pub it always should have been. It is clean, Airy with a welcoming and calm atmosphere. The food is great. I have had the burger and a roast, not all at once!!! and both times it was excellent, Friends that came with me all enjoyed their meals too. I would really recommend this pub for locals,tourists and people just passing by.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a pleasure!”
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

I have visited The Queens Head a few years ago and I am local, but I took my elderly father and my daughter last Sunday, and I have to say it was an absolute pleasure. The Landlord was very welcoming, we were asked if we were eating that day, very attentive staff. We were not eating that day but I would certainly like to one day.
Very very rarely does anyone ever bother to speak to you when you arrive in a pub these days, so it was was an extremely welcoming experience.
Thank you Queens Head.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Queen's Head also viewed

 
Westfield, East Sussex
Battle, East Sussex
 

Been to The Queen's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing