We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Brickwall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sedlescombe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I booked 4 rooms for family reunion at this hotel it proved to be a very good choice, the staff here are extremley good the booking dealt with by Natalie went very well her "after care" was excellent, the restaurant staff were very attentive and always happy some of the best I have seen in this country. The food here was unbelievably Good, 8 people for 3 days and not one complaint in fact every meal received a compliment to be taken back to the chef. We visited 3 N/Trust properties all within 30 mins of the hotel another good reason to choose this hotel. we will go again Just for the food!!!. well done to all at The Brickwall hotel.

Room Tip: all 4 rooms we had were good, front rooms overlook village scene.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terry f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
There are newer reviews for The Brickwall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 275 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2014

We had a very good weekend , staying with relations
The hotel is is extremely good value and the food that was served was very good and extremely hot. Breakfast was an excellent choice. The staff were extremely efficient and couldn't do enough to help.
The original room we were offered did not have a shower, so we asked to be changed. They dealt with extremely efficiently and moved us to a larger room with shower

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a shower if needed as the original room did not have one
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We have just returned from a 2day break to Kent,and booked a 1night stay at The Brick Wall Hotel,at Sedlescombe.
We chose this district as we were visiting national trust houses and there were 2close bye also a castle.
Booking in was quick and we were in our room in 10 min,the room no 6 was at the front and had a good view of the village green also the geese,the king size bed was very comfortable and the room also had coffee making facilities.
We decided to eat at the hotel after checking out the local pub meals,which seemed to be about the same price.
We had pre dinner drinks in the courtyard and it was nice to be offered nuts and crisps with our drinks,the meal and service was 1st class,the one downside was that we couldn't manage a sweet as we were so full.
The breakfast was also a good experience with plenty of variety,all in all we really enjoyed our stay and looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: No 6 overlooking the green
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnandjanetross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This was our 25th annual re-union and in that time we have chosen various hotels around the country visiting several times in some cases but this was our first at Brickwall Hotel. What a delight. We play bridge and they set up a room for us and were so helpful and obliging in this respect. The food was excellent and the waiting staff charming and the weather superb but the owner did tell us that was usual for Sedlescombe….. we will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silvertwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Ever thought of renewing your wedding vows? We did and chose The Brick wall Hotel at Sedlescombe in the beautiful Sussex countryside. What an excellent choice we made! The hotel has excellent facilities for an occasion such as we had. We met the events manager Aldo and explained to him what we wanted to do. He was very keen to host it as it would be be the first time the hotel had done a renewal of wedding vows. We met many times to finalise arrangements and Aldo was very thorough in all of the long processes.
On the day everything went very well thanks to the help and support of the General Manager, Events Manager Aldo and all of the excellent support staff. The meal was superb as was the service by the friendly,cheerful and polite staff. Breakfast was also very good! All in all, it was a brilliant day and would recommend The Brick wall Hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms 6 & 7 both are probably the best for views
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Our criteria for deciding on where to have a brief half-term escape is to find a place within a 2-hour or so drive of SE London with a bar and restaurant, some nearby local diversions (a nearby tea-room or pub), some good local walks and maybe a town or village to huddle down in if the weather is not so good for outdoor walking.

The Brickwall at Sedlescombe ticked most of these boxes being situated in a pleasant village and near to some interesting places (including Battle, Burwash and Royal Tunbridge Wells). Also my other half had been here before some 30 or so years ago.

On arrival the place seemed a little old fashioned and dated (a bit like stepping back into the 1990s). The welcome was warm however and although not luxurious, our room was clean and comfortable enough with WIFI access which was useful.

After a visit to Battle and then a stroll around the village (we only made it as far as the nearby pub and back - managing to avoid the gaggle of gees clustered on the village green), we wandered into the bar to be seated and presented with menus and glasses of chilled house wine.

Service throughout dinner was excellent and the food was very good also. Overall a relaxing and enjoyable dinner with no hassle in quiet comfortable surroundings - exactly what we wanted.

The next morning we slept in courtesy of the comfortable bed, despite the dawn horus from outside our window and the tangle of sheets and blankets (we realise now why we prefer sleeping under a quilt). As usual we were nearly late turning up for breakfast which we enjoyed and set us up up nicely for a lengthy walk around nearby Burwash.

Sadly the weather wasn't so great that we could made use of the swimming pool which looked very inviting - perhaps we will on our next visit.

Overall an enjoyable visit and we look forward to returning in the not so distant future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sub_three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

From the moment you step inside you are swept back in time to another era - the hotel is one of cottage style, wooden doors, steep stairs and beautiful flowers are everywhere. The rooms are as delightful as everything else at the Brickwall, the service, especially in the restaurant is one of smart chic, caring and quiet, nothing is to much trouble, whatever you want is what you can have. The food is as always excellent.

Room Tip: All rooms in my opinion are good.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedlescombe
1.7 mi away
Claverton Country House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Leeford Place Hotel
Leeford Place Hotel
#2 of 5 in Battle
428 reviews
3.2 mi away
PowderMills Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sedlescombe Golf Hotel
Sedlescombe Golf Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sedlescombe
265 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
988 reviews
8.8 mi away
The George in Rye
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brickwall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brickwall Hotel

Address: The Green, Sedlescombe TN33 0QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Sedlescombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sedlescombe
Price Range: $129 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brickwall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brickwall Hotel in Sedlescombe, on the outskirts of Battle, is a charming 16th century Tudor Mansion in the heart of the East Sussex countryside. The hotel is conveniently situated just off the A21, within easy reach of Hastings, Bexhill on Sea, Rye, Tenterden, Eastbourne, Tunbridge Wells, the A259 and M25. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Brickwall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brickwall Hotel Sedlescombe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing