We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Brickwall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sedlescombe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Although I only had the pleasure to stay one night I can truly say that this hotel is a lovely place. The staff is very nice, the food is delicious (I had dinner and breakfast), the rooms are really clean and neatly prepared. Traditionally english with english quality! 5 out of 5 from me!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RazvanSj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 276 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

A very bit thank you for the effort made by everyone . It made a fantastic event as 30 years of marriage is a good excuse for a celebration . You all made the day very special.As always the food was fantastic and ALL the staff very help full and attentive . I am a local Magistrate and will always highly recommend to all of my colleague s .
Once again thank you , will see you again soon.
All t he best
Cliff Wilson
Bexhill on sea

Sent from my new I pad

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cliff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

!5 of us had a wonderful 3 days at this hotel. We were wonderfully looked after. The food was fabulous and the staff extremely helpful and pleasant. Thoroughly recommend this venue there was constant very hot water ,beds very comfortable

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jangolf339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here for a Sunday night in September. We paid the dinner bed and breakfast rate. The hotel is quite expensive but staff are welcoming and efficient. Food was excellent and restaurant staff polite and welcoming. The hotel obviously has a good reputation as the restaurant was busy even on a Sunday night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellersteve044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Our Parents special luncheon party was held in the garden room next to a well stocked bar and garden area..great for energetic toddlers.
Not only was our food superb it was silver served by helpful and polite members of staff who really couldn't do enough for us.
On what was obviously a very busy time in this beautiful establishment our event was carried out in a polite and professional manner at all times.
I would not hesitate to recommend the Brick Wall to anyone thinking of holding a similar event..the complete experience ensured my parents had a memorable time on their special day.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Old fashioned Country House Hotel with fantastic devoted hard working staff that made us feel special, great breakfasts and dinners. Great for exploring the area, plenty to see in a few miles. Rooms need a woman's touch but very adequate. Feeling too full. Would certainly revisit.

Room Tip: Rooms vary in size, ask on booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annsandell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Went for dinner with friends and the atmosphere is warm and cosy. However, the menu does not seem to have changed since the 1970's, I expected Gene Hunt to be at an adjacent table! The prices though seem to have come from the future.

The service was very good but the food was extremely average. Certainly not worth over £50.00 a a head.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank RyeDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedlescombe
1.7 mi away
Claverton Country House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Leeford Place Hotel
Leeford Place Hotel
#2 of 5 in Battle
431 reviews
3.2 mi away
PowderMills Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
1.2 mi away
Sedlescombe Golf Hotel
Sedlescombe Golf Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sedlescombe
267 reviews
8.8 mi away
The George in Rye
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brickwall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brickwall Hotel

Address: The Green, Sedlescombe TN33 0QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Sedlescombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sedlescombe
Price Range: $130 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brickwall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brickwall Hotel in Sedlescombe, on the outskirts of Battle, is a charming 16th century Tudor Mansion in the heart of the East Sussex countryside. The hotel is conveniently situated just off the A21, within easy reach of Hastings, Bexhill on Sea, Rye, Tenterden, Eastbourne, Tunbridge Wells, the A259 and M25. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your The Brickwall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brickwall Hotel Sedlescombe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing