We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap and cheerful”
Review of The Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Pevensey B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 13, 2013

room clean,bed comfy,breakfast ok.bit dated but sort of suits the place.tv kept freezing for some reason.handy for sovereign harbour where we ate.lots of variety for food in a tiny area.very quiet but thats what we wanted.the hotel itself has a large car park for guests who need it.overall very average but the price was good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suziesue55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 149 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

Room comfortable, no complaints about the en suite, breakfast ample, staff helpful, location useful for the South Downs, good play area for young children. All a little dated, but nothing unexpected nor unpleasant.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Very nice stay, the room we stayed in was big and clean. The room was above the bar but didn't here any 'bar noise' from downstairs. The owners were great and made sure the 3 of us had the the right rooms by giving us an extra room for free instead of squeezing the 3of us into one room.
Would definitely stay again although wouldn't recommend the food :-(.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Lawson72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Before I start this review, I would like to point out we only paid £36 for a one night stay - and that included breakfast. Also, it has been one of the coldest weekends of the year.

We arrived late Saturday afternoon and were given room 4, going into the room it looked a bit dull but clean and adequate. Going into the bathroom, it was clean apart from the mould in and around the shower. A good clean and some product on this would sort it. However, the shower head holder was broken, we tried ourselves to fix it but gave up and got the man from downstairs to try to sort it. He did try but said he would fix it in the morning. We also had a problem with the TV, it kept freezing and you had to turn it off at the wall and wait a few seconds before turning on again ( very frustrating when nice and warm in bed!) The windows are large and bright but only single glazed, this was very chilly when standing close to them. We asked if there was another room as we had the problem with the shower and TV and were given room 10. This was a twin room with another big single glazed window facing north. One of the single beds was right up against the radiator so all the heat from it was going into the bed. It was a very cold and small room. In the bathroom the hair dryer pipe was shredded so impossible to use. We returned to room 4 as no other room was available. the nights sleep was ok bed comfortable and warm. Breakfast was a choice of cereals, tea, coffee etc. Orange juice was squash but apart from that good. A lot of dirty linen bags were strewn in the corridors that gave a unkempt appearance. But the welcome was warm and for the money good value. However, I think next time I would spend a bit more money and get a better hotel.

This is nothing to do with the hotel but in the evening we decided to try and find somewhere else to eat, this was a bad move. We went to the pub over the road, the local baker/restaurant and the Chinese restaurant to find private parties booked in. So ended up in the local fish and chip shop. And I have to say - they were the best fish and chips we have eaten for a long time! Take note it may be better to phone and make a booking prior to walking round the village to find somewhere to eat!

Room Tip: Get a south facing room in the winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCOLE101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Myself & my boyfriend have just returned from a 3 night stay in The Bay Hotel, whilst visiting family. We can't fault it. The staff are all very friendly and helpful, the atmosphere of the pub is perfect, even kids can stay until 9pm and there is a ball-pit for them to play in downstairs (or adults too like we did!) We were given a family room which was very spacious, had a very good sized en suite which was spotless, extra bedding if needed and all tea/coffee making facilities. We even slept in and missed breakfast the first morning as our bed was so comfortable. The food served downstairs is delicious! We had breakfast twice and evening meals on two nights and neither of us left a scrap! Real hearty home-cooked grub! As the winter menu is on at the minute, main meals were also buy one get one free! We really enjoyed our stay and will have no problem staying here again when we visit the family in Pevensey Bay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vanessa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed few times now, rooms are reasonable for what you pay and breakfast was very nice. Def stay again. In good location in small town right by sea. Good curry house restaurant nearby aswell as another pub (castle) that serve good food with nice atmosphere if you fancy change of scenery

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ray251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We would not normally choose to stay in rooms above any Pub but we needed 2 rooms for a last minute trip to Hastings over the Xmas period and booked in a hurry. The Bay Hotel had the only reasonably priced rooms available for 3 nights close by. The staff were friendly and pleasant and the breakfasts were served promptly and were well cooked and well presented and set us up for the day. The rooms were basic but the beds and towels were clean and the showers were hot and toiletries were provided. Yes, The Bay Hotel is tired and dated in most respects with some drafts, some peeling paint and wallpaper, noisy extractor fans in the toilet and some road noise and limited heating in the rooms but it was cheap. The Hotel was quiet throughout our stay ~ maybe it was out of season. I was a bit concerned about what I had signed up to in haste based upon the many bad comments that I then found against this Hotel. Thankfully, the Bay Hotel was perfectly OK. It was functional, cheap, clean and a lot better than I feared and we got a great deal for 3 nights B&B for 3 adults of only £24pppn !!!

Room Tip: It might be a good idea to check beforehand about any seasonal activities or functions that could re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MandBCramlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pevensey
17.6 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#4 of 7 in Lewes
261 reviews
1 mi away
Priory Court Hotel
Priory Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pevensey
223 reviews
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Eastbourne Willingdon Drove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Pier Hotel
Pier Hotel
#58 of 75 in Eastbourne
268 reviews
5 mi away
The Horseshoe Inn
The Horseshoe Inn
#2 of 5 in Herstmonceux
299 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Sussex Hotel
The Sussex Hotel
#23 of 23 in Bexhill-on-Sea
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Hotel

Address: 2-4 Eastbourne Road | Pevensey Bay, Pevensey BN24 6EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Pevensey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pevensey
Price Range: $71 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Hotel Pevensey, East Sussex, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing