We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Pevensey

“Brilliant!”
Review of The Moorings

The Moorings
Ranked #7 of 26 Restaurants in Pevensey
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed January 21, 2020 via mobile

We booked a table for three, and arrived at 2.30...the place was heaving, a good sign itself...we were shown to our table, ordered three classic menu options £10 for three courses!! Brilliant food coupled with very good, polite service from a lovely young lady... highly recommend this restaurant, but be warned.... BOOK your table to avoid disappointment.. we have already booked for February Tracey Wendy & Lawrence... thank you & see you next month

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank FREQUENTLYUSED325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,028)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 1,028 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2020 via mobile

We regularly visit for dinner and usually it's very busy. The standard menu of £10 for 3 courses but recently this has reduced to £8 Inc a drink and today £6!! We had a choice of soup which was good and duck pate and a ginormous garlic mushrooms portion. All of us each had an excellent half duck with orange and ended with a choice of lemon meringue pie, brownie and Eton Mess All very good basic fare Good service. All for £6 each plus drinks. Not sure how this works as a business though once the manager whispered to me the secret was that they had oompa loompas in the kitchen! Give it a try!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Michael2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2020

5 of us, all over 60, lunched at the Moorings on a weekday in January. If we hadn't booked doubt we might have got in! Very busy seaside restaurant with extensive good value menu. Seems to have a deal every day making it even better value for money. Food was excellent in all 5 cases. Service good, no waiting around.
Yes, it is a bit crowded and the car park is in front of the sea and the customers are on the older side. Take all of that into account and you'll love it. Many customers return frequently and you can see why. Gourmet dining it is not, but good quality food served at a decent price it definitely is. Book in advance and go!

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tom_saville_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020 via mobile

Mixed feelings. Whilst the food and service was great today for carnivores who were eating with us today, we asked whether the vegetarian nut roast was suitable for vegans. We were told that it wasn’t suitable for vegans as fried in the same fryer as meats. Surely this is not acceptable to vegetarians either? I don’t understand why a separate fryer can’t be on hand to satisfy everyone’s needs.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank amandatF6292UU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2020 via mobile

I went here with family for Sunday lunch. It was very busy with a few large tables. The food wasn’t great and neither was service. They were friendly enough but seemed a bit overwhelmed with how busy it was missing simple things in the order process. If you are looking for a cheap place to eat then it’s fine.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Nsabp44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Moorings also viewed

Pevensey Bay, Pevensey
Pevensey, East Sussex
 
Pevensey Bay, Pevensey
 

Been to The Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing