We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smelly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newhaven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel made me feel so ill, the smells in the corridors were awful.and our room smelt of stale smoke that made me feel physically sick! Bed wad so uncomfortable still suffering now staff didn't look like they wanted to be there either

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kayleighmichelleburt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be followed up with the Management Team. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (905)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

668 - 674 of 905 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

This was a good base to explore Brighton and the surrounding area on a sunny weekend. We found the hotel difficult to find using a sat nav but once there it was a comfortable and clean room and staff were friendly. The buffet breakfast was included in our room rate and was tasty and plentiful. All in all a good stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyLightf00t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Dear Lenny Henry,
It must be great being you eh? You can just magically book any Premier Inn you like at £29 a night...just how do you do it? If you would be kind enough to let me and all the other folk who had to pay £100 a night to stay in the Newhaven Premier Inn (room only) know your method, I'm sure we would be eternally grateful.
I had no choice but to book it as Lewes has about 2.4 hotels and as I don't routinely carry a firearm I decided that I wouldn't stay in the White Hart + I wasn't in possession of a large amount of gold bullion so couldn't afford to stay in the coal shed at The Shelly's (when did that go up and who on earth would pay it?). The Prem Inn staff are great and the rooms are exactly what you would expect...but £100 for room only? You are having a laugh!
Coincidentally, that is the first time I have laughed at anything to do with Lenny Henry since 1975.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Excellent friendly staff who couldn't do enough to help. the best Premier Inn I've stayed in. Great location for exploring the South Downs well situated between Brighton and Eastbourne. Breakfasts were great value for money and very good quality. Room was very clean and well equipped

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

This isn't claridges, but it is not £500 a night either.
For £49 per night this a real bargain, the rooms are ideal. Very well kept and cleaned. The location of this hotel is excellent as well10 min walk from the harbour and the train station. It's also right next door to a sainsburys but the rooms are quiet as well. 25 min to Brighton by car or train with free parking. We will definitely use this again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G1ant1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is the second time in a mouth I have stayed in a Premier Inn and I must say this and the other have been very good, this is a working trip and others have booked for me, I would normally book a proper Hotel where you haven't got to go down the road for breakfast,( well across the car park!) The staff were very helpful and pleasant , you get a very nice room and good bed, this is not a cheap Hotel at around £100 a night plus's £8.50 for breakfast, but the breakfast is very,very good and again good service

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nige1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The staff at this Premier Inn are fantastic and very helpful.The bedroom was clean comfortable and quiet. The pub next door was great and the staff good. We would certainly stay here again. We chose to stay here on the way back from a trip to France, much better than the place we chose to stay on the ouward trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonblob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newhaven
2.6 mi away
The Avondale
The Avondale
#2 of 2 in Seaford
100 reviews
5.5 mi away
Pelham House Hotel
6.4 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#4 of 7 in Lewes
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#3 of 7 in Lewes
403 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
241 reviews
5.2 mi away
White Horse Hotel
White Horse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rottingdean
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel

Address: Avis Road, Newhaven BN9 0AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Newhaven
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newhaven
Price Range: $60 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Brighton and Eastbourne town centres, a short drive from the beautiful South Downs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel Newhaven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing