We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newhaven
Certificate of Excellence
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at the Premier Inn Newhaven last night, attending a party in Lewes in the evening. Check in was friendly and efficient, the room was clean and a good size with everything you need. The bed was comfy, with a choice of hard or soft pillows. Bathroom was also a decent size, with bath and shower, and clean. The hotel was quiet throughout the night and the blackout curtains were welcome.

Unfortunately, we were woken at 5.30am by the TV suddenly switching itself on at fairly high volume - am assuming the previous guest had set the alarm to wake them at that time. So that was a rude awakening! We mentioned it to the receptionist the next morning, just to let them know for the next guest, and she immediately said she would refund our night's stay, which we hadn't expected and were most impressed by.

Breakfast was reasonably priced and served in the Brewers Fayre pub next door to the hotel. It was a good standard.

We would stay in this Premier Inn again and can recommend to others.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hjag2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    271
    95
    25
    21
See reviews for
250
303
43
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
265 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Clean, comfortable, good shower, desk for working and large TV screen. Just wish free wifi was for more than 30 mins but that is a Premier Inn policy not specific to this hotel.

It can be slightly confusing finding the hotel with lots of signs for different shops and restaurants, so follow the sign to Sainsburys. Useful to have Sainsburys next to the hotel and McDonalds across the road. The traffic towards Brighton was very busy early the next morning, so allow plenty of time if you have to be there at a specific time.

I paid the saver rate in advance so it was good value.

Room Tip: Away from the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poole11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckinghamshire, england
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed at Newhaven last weekend attending a wedding locally . Arrived Friday evening , but the Hotel was a bit difficult to find . Its hidden by the side of Sainsbury supermarket , so if your driving look for sainsbury and its just behind petrol station .
Check-in was OK a very friendly smiling and helpful receptionist, who explained the Good nights sleep policy,was helpful with directions to railway station ,and explained that the restaurant was quite full till 9pm but worth going in to see if we could be fitted in .Room was upstairs which did not cause any problems and the room was up to usual premier standard . Our two night stay was comfortable quiet and no problems .
The attached Restaurant was very busy Friday evening, but on asking the duty manager on duty went out of her way to accommodate us. we had a table for two within 10 minutes and all the staff were polite smiling and friendly .The next morning Breakfast was fine though i do feel that there never seem to be enough staff on duty and the area around the food and tea /coffee become chaotic and full of people waiting as the coffee machine breaks down the fried eggs run out cups run out bread runs out . Few staff makes all these problems slower to react to . staff on duty were doing there best and it amazes me that the duty manager /supervisor spent his time running around clearing tables and doing 101 other jobs . A manager should be directing and managing the very few staff and make sure they are on top of problems . Instead sadly it seemed chaotic which i have often noticed in restaurants attached to premier inns particularly at breakfast . Its a shame as both evening meal and breakfast were ok but the chaotic nature of operation is rather off putting . It probably needs more staff but then money rears its head !! Overall a good stay the Hotel very good and restaurant ok with hard working FEW staff running around doing everything

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank easyrider39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vila Nova de Milfontes
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is easy to find and is only 2 minutes from Dieppe ferry. Rooms are basic could do with a second chair for example after all rooms are for 2! Bed adequate but pillows awful, not nice and fluffy as described on ads! Restaurant car park was outside our room se we couldn't open window therefore room was stuffy, no air conditioning, only heat. Everything was clean. Rooms poorly soundproofed so if you have unreasonable neighbours or above you, tough!. If you can book early price is reasonable but later booking rates are too high for quality of hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank caprontee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stay here, it is lovely,. staff are courteous, friendly and the room is great, the breakfast good. Great value for money. Excellent as a base if you are touring the area. Cheaper Inn than staying in brighton centre, peaceful and quiet

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walding24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel at the end of june, and found it very hard to get to, Directions and signage if any were not clear as trees and shubs in the way. Helpful staff though, went out of their way to make our last days great. Rooms in this hotel had no air cond which we found a bit weird being a sea side town. we were offered a number of fans to keep us cooler. But the resturant was pretty good. Busy area for such a small town. but thanks for the stay

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kateandkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have stayed a few times at this Hotel and have always been very impressed with the immaculate conditions, very warm welcome and excellent food at the adjacent restaurant especially the breakfasts. Our week was during a very wet period and the staff were very helpful indeed, we would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: All our room choices have been very good indeed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newhaven
2.5 mi away
The Avondale
The Avondale
#2 of 2 in Seaford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
7.2 mi away
Malmaison Brighton
Malmaison Brighton
#14 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
4.1 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
White Horse Hotel
White Horse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rottingdean
3.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
6.4 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#4 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
8.0 mi away
Premier Inn Eastbourne (Polegate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel
Address: Avis Road, Newhaven BN9 0AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Newhaven
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newhaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Brighton and Eastbourne town centres, a short drive from the beautiful South Downs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel Newhaven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing