We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of The Viceroy

The Viceroy
Reserve with OpenTable
The Viceroy is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 35 Restaurants in Newhaven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Delicious meal- cannot be beaten on taste or value!

We are walking on the south downs way and from trip advisor recommendation came to viceroy. We were not disappointed. Attentive in service, helpful in choice recommendation and beautiful meal after a hard day walking!

Would highly recommend! You will not be disappointed!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ZJger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    32
    10
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
SE England
Level Contributor
135 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“We arrived here with low expectations...but were wrong”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

On a walking trip with my brother on the South Downs we stayed at Newhaven. Felt like Indian Food. It was the best of type I have ever had!... regretably it took a long time to arrive. Seeing the place was quiet suprising... but it did not matter to us.... remember great food.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 48Fred48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Been many time and never disappointed.”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

There are many Indian Restaurants, but only a few really good ones. The Viceroy in Newhaven is a really good one. I have been there many times over the years and have never had a bad dish. The staff are extremely nice, service is quick and the restaurant has won many awards. All in all, you won't go wrong. The only downside is having to visit Newhaven!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newhaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent, as always!”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Always a good curry and friendly (but not over the top) service!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewJHarvey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Genuine Authentic Indian!”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Absolutely adore this restaurant, luckily found it by using the Tripadvisor app and was compelled to leave it a review!

Not going to make this long, but must have been one the best quality Indian I've had in a while.

The only complain would have been the price, a bit on the pricey side but I don't mind as it was quality food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravisMcCoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Viceroy also viewed

Newhaven, East Sussex
Newhaven, East Sussex
 
Newhaven, East Sussex
 

Been to The Viceroy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing