We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect setting and Oast house”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Oast

The Oast
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Oast
Bedroom 1 Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
71 reviews
The Oast
Bedroom 1
Kitchen
Sitting Room
Upstairs WC
Kitchen/ Diner
Bedroom 2
Sitting room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Mayfield, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Claire W
1 review
“Perfect setting and Oast house”
Reviewed May 12, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The Oast is such a lovely place to stay and the perfect setting. We had a lovely time and will definitely come again.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
harlow
Reviewed March 6, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bigredwes...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed December 6, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

The Oast was everything we needed and more for a 2 night visit to family in Mayfield. The cottage was well equipped with all we needed, plenty of bedding and kitchen essentials for a self catered stay. Daphne made sure the cottage was warm for us and was on hand if we needed anything. The rural location had a real away from it all feel, with no artificial light there were some beautiful night skies. We took a walk around the farm and saw plenty of birds and deer. We would definitely return to this great little quirky cottage, there's plenty to explore in the area too. Thank you!

Date of stay: December 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Date of stay: November 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 30, 2016
Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DeepBasu
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A relaxing stay in the middle of nature”
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

I was initially drawn to the Oast House by the architecture of the accommodation. My interest was further piqued when I checked that it was in the middle of a farm with serene greenery to sooth our senses.
Daphne was very helpful and was always available before and during our stay. The provision of the breakfast and milk was something totally unexpected and shows how much she cares for the visitors.
The location can be accessed through a narrow road - advise checking in Google Maps before hand. I have managed to add it in Google Maps.

The actual house is beautifully converted with a circular ground floor living room and a extended circular bed room on the first floor. Views are spectacular with apple trees in the surrounding gardens.
The farm offers long walks with plenty of rabbits, birds and deer in view. The deer can be heard in the evening. The surrounding is quiet and very peaceful.

The Argos Hill Road that runs by the farm leads to Mayfield, but careful driving is suggested after dark. The little village of Mayfield has small artisan shops and nice restaurants to meet the needs (good thing there are no chains). A chippy van offers nice fish and chips.
The owners should be wary of a open well and the fish pond in the courtyard, especially if travelling with small children.
The accommodation is well provisioned and the 2nd bedroom has a pull out bed that can be converted into a full size single.
For those concerned about mobile phone signals, I could get a few bars in my T-Mobile connection, so rest assured you would remain 'connected'.

I would strongly recommend the property to small family or close friends for a perfect get away.

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Liked best: The tranquil setting
Liked least: Leaving for home
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2016
Thank you for this and for giving us the opinion that we are undercharging. Since you hope to return you may be glad I am not intending to act upon that remark any time soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet, comfy bed, decor, comfortable rocking chair, and my sons liked the wi-fi
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing