We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful Rural Retreat”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Oast

The Oast
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Oast
Bedroom 1 Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
70 reviews
The Oast
Bedroom 1
Kitchen
Sitting Room
Upstairs WC
Kitchen/ Diner
Bedroom 2
Sitting room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Mayfield, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 70 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
travellin...
Wells, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Peaceful Rural Retreat”
Reviewed July 17, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We arrived at Mayfield in an horrendous thunderstorm after a pretty bad journey from Gloucestershire, but were soon able to get ourselves warm and dry, thanks to the comprehensive welcome folder that included instructions for all of the household appliances (including the central heating).

The main bedroom is an absolute delight being set in the round tower of an old oast house with double aspect over the farm and trees. The upstairs toilet was also a boon in the wee small hours!

The sitting room was spacious and comfortable and the kitchen well-equipped with crockery and kitchen utensils, with the added bonus of a lovely welcome pack which included milk, bread, eggs, teabags, etc.

My sister and I were travelling with our elderly mother so I had been looking for easy access, wide and safe stairs and a toilet on the same floor as the bedroom and here, at Mayfield, we found the perfect combination. The peace and quiet was disturbed only by the occasional cow mooing, a few cars and an owl in the evenings - wonderful!

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rostrevor...
County Down, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Great Little Oast”
Reviewed July 6, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This Oast was just what we were hoping for. It's located in a very quiet area close to the historic village of Mayfield, on a working farm. The owner, Daphne, greeted us on arrival and had left a welcome pack which include fresh bread, milk, eggs, butter, tea, coffee and fruit.
The Oast was spotlessly clean with generous hot water supplied throughout our 4 night stay. The main bedroom is delightful, with a very comfortable bed and ample wardrobe space.
The WiFi is excellent...when the wireless code is entered.
Overall we found this accommodation to be very comfortable and excellent value. One slight caveat....the first floor toilet door masks smaller bedroom door adjacent to the top of the stair. Ensure you have a light on at night to ensure you do not mistake one for the other !

Date of stay: July 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect for our family”
Reviewed January 20, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for a long weekend with my Husband and two small children in January. The cottage was brilliantly equipped with everything we needed including a proper cot and high chair for the baby and the addition of the basic groceries such as bread , milk, biscuits etc was a welcome surprise. Every where was clean and well looked after and the cottage had a lovely cosy feel. The location is great for getting away from it all with wonderful views and great local walking, My 3rd old especially liked the cows right outside the window. We will definitely be going back!

Date of stay: January 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: location
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Car0made
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed October 7, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 5 days at the end of a driving trip around the UK. What can I say, this place is amazing. The cottage is spotlessly clean, the shower hot, and the bed the most comfortable we slept in for the entire month. There was even a welcome pack of a few basics, bread, milk, fresh fruit and a bottle of wine. The owners go out of their way to ensure the guests are comfortable. If I lived in the UK I would be returning for sure.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The seclusion and quiet, and the bed
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony A
Swansea County, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delightful former oast house cottage”
Reviewed September 27, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We were delighted with the Oast and have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone who wants a quiet secluded hideaway in the gorgeous Sussex countryside, within an hour's drive of central London. Apart from the delightful spot on this small farm, the cottage itself was well presented exactly as described in the particulars. Everything was clean and the welcome pack a splendid surprise. Our hosts were exceedingly friendly and helpful without being obtrusive. We enjoyed the silence and the complete absence of street lighting so that the night sky could be appreciated.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The quiet seclusion
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StanR
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Could use a little more attention to detail”
Reviewed September 19, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The Oast House is located on a farm down a narrow farm road. It is very quiet and peaceful. The welcome kit was very much appreciated. There needs to be some more attention to detail. We felt that we had to wash every dish and pan we used. The shelf where the pots were stored was dirty and greasy (see picture ). The entry door was missing it's curtain exposing you on the way to the main bathroom (see picture ). One other door did not have a curtain exposing you as you come down the stairs. Yes, you are on a farm, but one morning two gentleman were just outside the door rearranging gates for about 30 minutes. Also the toilet seat in the main bathroom has the paint peeling on the bottom of the seat. The WIFI was excellent.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nice location for visiting National Trust properties
Liked least: Lack of proper cleaning
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimandyw
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Everything thought of”
Reviewed August 8, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely to have a welcome pack...including tea, coffee, biscuits, fresh bread, milk and cereal. The bed linen was crisp cotton. There was a fabulous garden, where our children played football, while I could sit in the garden , with a glass of wine, in the sunshine. Daphne was friendly and welcoming, without being intrusive..we knew she was on hand if there was a problem, or if information was required. If you have teenage boys, there is a fantastic mountain boarding centre 25 minute drive away. Have fun, and enjoy, in this very reasonably priced cottage, which does not appear to have school holiday premium.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing