We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Full of character, peaceful and perfect for a...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Oast

The Oast
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Oast
Bedroom 1 Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
The Oast
Bedroom 1
Kitchen
Sitting Room
Upstairs WC
Kitchen/ Diner
Bedroom 2
Sitting room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Mayfield, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
BenJSmyth
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Full of character, peaceful and perfect for a retreat from normal life”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We booked The Oast for a surprise birthday weekend for my partner - the two of us, our 2 year old and my partner's sister and partner. We wanted a relaxing, peaceful, country getaway. The Oast was absolutely perfect.

We arrived and were greeted by Daphne who let us in and gave us a quick brief of The Oast. There was a folder of information describing the farm and its origins and recommendations of areas to visit nearby.

The kitchen was well kitted out - tea, coffee, milk, biscuits, eggs, butter, washing up liquid, cooking oil, cleaning equipment and quite a bit more. Very generous indeed and really made us feel welcome.

The Oast itself is full of character, great sized rooms but still very cosy. The main double bedroom is fantastic and very spacious. We took a walk around the grounds, through the fields. Very picturesque. Even our two year old managed the mile and a half walk and loved seeing the cows and Daphne's cat!

I would highly recommend The Oast to anybody. A really welcoming place and one I hope to return to again this year - perhaps in the summer when it's not quite as wet!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12Travell...
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute heaven!”
Reviewed December 2, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

I booked this cottage at the last minute (on the morning of arrival) and I could not have asked for a better place.

When we got there we found a welcome basket with everything one could need to start off the holiday in peace and tranquility (fresh crusty bread, butter, 2 pints of milk, free range eggs, sugar, instant coffee, tea, decaf coffee, Dorset muesli, fresh fruit and biscuits). This is incredibly generous and very thoughtful from Daphne.

The cottage is lovely and peaceful set in a beautifully tranquil location, lovely for kids and adults as well. Inside it there are all amenities one would expect however, the standard and quality of furnishings is very high! The bed is incredibly comfortable and, on close inspection, is a John Lewis king size bed with high quality matters. I have the same one at home as I like my luxury sleep and it is lovely to see that cost is not an issue for Daphne who strives to give her guests the best of everything.

Kitchen has everything one could need cooker, oven, microwave, fridge and biggish freezer, and washing machine. It was a lovely surprise when I opened the cupboard to find all that I might need for cooking i.e. salt, pepper, vinegar, spices,oil, etc and all the cleaning materials as well including washing powder. This is lovely as the children got muddy and I was able to clean their clothes.

There is a family bathroom which is brand new and lovely and another toilet upstairs which also had brand new fittings.

I am so happy with the holiday and am already planning my next visit. Thank you Daphne for a very relaxing and pleasant stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Piece and quiet.
Liked least: Could not work out the heating timings but I'm not great when it comes to technology.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hovebloke
hove
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very lovely break....”
Reviewed November 19, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We have just enjoyed the most fantastic week at the Oast. My wife and our small daughter (15 months old) absolutely loved the accommodation, setting and welcome we received from Daphne.
The Oast and the farm gave us the peace and solitude we needed after a very busy year and provided the perfect base for us to explore the Sussex countryside and especially the Ashdown forest. Thank you very much Daphne (& Terry) - we will be back - be warned!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janettean...
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Had a lovely time in this great cottage would love to go back.location and amenities are great,bed were very comfy nice to have tea and coffee butter milk so we could have a cup of tea before unpacking

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of hoilday
Liked least: Weather
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMTesta
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Picturesque and perfect -- everything I was looking for”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

I was bringing my mom to England to visit for the first time. I could not have asked for a better cottage. The cottage is located in the most beautiful part of England with rolling hills of farmland and wood. The cottage is on a secluded, narrow lane that is characteristic of England. We spent a week and that was not even enough time to enjoy all there is to see in the south of England. There is unlimited space to walk and enjoy the peacefulness of nature around the cottage and on the farm's property. There are nearby villages with quaint old pubs and shops. I cannot say enough good things about this place. The cottage itself was well stocked and very comfortable, getting my best sleep in months! I would say that the cottage fits four adults most comfortably, there are sufficient tv stations (if you want to watch English tv), the washing machine was very useful and the kitchen had everything we needed. We are most grateful for the opportunity to stay here and appreciate the kind graciousness of our hosts!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beauty of the location
Liked least: I don't think the property had wifi, if it did, I couldn't get it to work...
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiROC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“Like coming home”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

The whole family were looking forward to our stay, as we'd been here before, in May, and we knew how comfortable and peaceful it is. We slept very well in the quiet. The countryside here is gorgeous. Thanks to Daphne who made its feel so welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Walks on the farm
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 25, 2013
We seem to have been blessed with remarkably civilised guests since developing the holiday cottage on the farm!That goes for those to whom it does not occur to review us on the website as well as those who do. Huge thanks to all of you for being such nice people.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo_B98765...
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage in a peaceful setting”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

The Oast is a lovely, spacious cottage situated on a peaceful farm. Our 2 year old son loved going to see the cows and watching the rabbits in the adjacent field. The self contained garden was also good for him to run around in.

The cottage was very clean and furnished to a high standard with everything you would need for a self catering holiday. Our hosts were lovely and available if any help was needed.

We did lots of day tripping, with the coast about 30 minutes away and lots of National Trust properties close enough for a day trip, the cottage is in a good location. Would highly recommend a visit to the Bluebell Railway.

We would definitely make a return stay and recommend it to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing