We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lovely place to stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Games Barn

The Games Barn set in 30 acres of working farmland with fantastic views over open countryside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Games Barn set in 30 acres of working farmland with fantastic views over open countryside
Ramp access to the barn Living room with woodburner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
57 reviews
The Games Barn set in 30 acres of working farmland with fantastic views over open countryside
Ramp access to the barn
Living room with woodburner
The stream which runs through the entire length of the farm
The decking area with views to open countryside
The dining area
The sitting room from the other end!
And another angle of the sitting room
The front of the property
The view from the bridge
Enter a caption for your photo
The kitchen
A single bedroom (can be twin or double too) with cot
A double bedroom
The other single bedroom (which can also be a twin or a double)
The other double bedroom
The disabled wet room
The disabled wet room showing the sit down shower with no basin
The main bathroom
The ramp up to the property
The farmer, his dog and his tractor
Our happy chickens - you can feed them bread and other bits if you like
One of our cows - they love people especially if they get fed some hay or a bit of apple
One of our litters of piglets. They eat anything (except meat) and love you throwing it to them
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Mayfield, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rob F
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
1 review
“lovely place to stay”
Reviewed July 27, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

the games barn was very comfortable and well equiped. there was 6 of us staying and there was plenty of room for us all.
excellent disabled facilities - 2 wetrooms and the hosts were very accommodating to our needs. would go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2015
Thanks for this lovely review. We always try to be flexible and meet our guests' needs so we are glad everything worked out so well for you. We hope to meet you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisawebst...
Indian Queens, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended place to stay”
Reviewed June 10, 2015 for a stay in May 2015


The games barn has given us a lovely week to get away in peaceful surroundings very homely and we'll equipped for all our needs. One of the Most valuable assets for me was the facility to use the washing machine and washing line to dry the clothes. A good base to enjoy many local sights our days out have included Kent and east sussex railway to Bodiam castle. Drusillas zoo. Eastbourne miniature railway and adventure playground. Tunbridge Wells and Brighton and a day trip into London to see a show also...
most of all the highlight of the holiday for the children has been on the farm getting involved in feeding the wonderful farm animals and collecting the eggs every day. Thank you so much to fred and maseline for giving them those opportunitys and making it so much fun for them. 3 generations went ranging from 2 up to 68 highly recommended to anyone of any age we thank you for a wonderful holiday and highly recommend it to anyone.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2015
Thanks so much for this. We greatly enjoyed your company and your help on the farm each day and very much hope to see you here again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EGF
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed May 4, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our party of 4 adults and 2 toddlers had a wonderful time at the Games Barn. The farm is beautifully situated just outside Mayfield village and is incredibly peaceful. The children loved wandering around looking at the animals and playing in the fields. The accommodation is excellently equipped and was ideal for our group. We got a lovely welcome from the owners and it was great seeing the working farm. Despite a short stay, we managed a trip on the Bluebell Railway which we really enjoyed as well as walk at Wilderness Wood which the children thoroughly enjoyed. The village has a great pub as well as some interesting shops and a super Indian takeaway. We would definitely recommend the Games Barn to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The farm animals
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 5, 2015
Thank you so much for this lovely review. We loved having you here and very much hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenGran
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A spacious, well organised cottage in a beautiful location in a working farm”
Reviewed May 3, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Various friends and family stayed including my 3 year old twin grand daughters who loved going round feeding the animals with Madeline.It was a chilly weekend but with the wood burning stove going the cottage was cosy.
Friendly hosts and delicious cupcakes in the fridge when we arrived!
Just remember that self catering means bring your own loo paper, dishwasher tabs etc and leave time to clean before you leave.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 4, 2015
Thanks for this review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks also for explaining that this is a self catering home and as such we ask guests to provide all your own consumables. However, we will always supply items if they are required in an emergency. In this case we were asked to provide loo rolls on day 2, dishwasher tablets and aspirin on day 3 and did so without charge. As far as cleaning is concerned, we simply ask you to leave the place as you would wish to find it but if you prefer to ask us to do the cleaning we will do so for a further small charge.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarlHacke...
Maputo, Mozambique
2 reviews
“Plenty of space, great location, kids loved it, friendly owners, well priced.”
Reviewed March 31, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My wife and I stayed here with our 4 year old and 1 year old boys and had a great time. The rooms are a good size, the kitchen is well equipped, and the owners are always available but give you privacy.

The boys loved running in the fields and feeding the animals. A great spot with great accommodation. Thanks Maddie and Fred!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 1, 2015
Thanks for this lovely review. We greatly enjoyed your company and hope to see you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRE2013
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“Just what we were looking for!”
Reviewed December 21, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

A spacious accommodation in a fairly secluded spot right in the middle of the South Downs - and to make it even better, on a working farm which our girls aged 7 and 9 enjoyed no end, as the hosts were happy to let them help feed the animals. Madeleine and Fred are lovely and we could not have had a nicer time.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 22, 2014
Thanks for this lovely review. We are so glad that your girls enjoyed life on our farm and we hope to see you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travellin...
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing getaway in the country.”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed at the Games Barn for a weeks family holiday. The accommodation was roomy and comfortable. We were 3 generations: 3 couples and 2 small children and fitted easily into the four double bedrooms. The cot and highchair provided were also very useful. We made most of our meals in the Barn and found all the utensils needed in the kitchen.

The advice to bring wellies & waterproofs should be heeded as we had a very wet week and took lots of walks around the farm and surrounding area.

Fred and Madeleine were very welcoming and took time to explain to us and the children about living on a farm and even introduced us to the animals. The chickens provided us with lovely fresh eggs too.

WIFI and phone reception available, but not great - which helped us to switch off from our gadgets for a while, and enjoy the true countryside experience.

There was lots to do in the area - including several close National Trust properties and many scenic walks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2014
Thanks for this review. We are glad that, despite the unseasonal wet August weather, you still enjoyed all that the farm has to offer. We note your comments about the mobile and internet . Sadly it is something we cannot fix but we do try to make it clear on our website that broadband in rural Sussex is super slow not super fast and that mobile reception can be tricky. We hope this did not spoil your stay and would love to see you all here again sometime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing