We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of HOOTS TREEHOUSE

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Tree house -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Mayfield, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
alison y
2 reviews
“Wonderful”
Reviewed November 1, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

A fantastic place, everything about it is perfect. I loved the little details that make it so special. For Halloween we were greeted with lit pumpkin lanterns along the walkway and decking, the logburner was already burning and homemade cakes ready for us to devour. The lovely Lucinda does a wonderful job making you feel so welcome and you can tell she really takes pleasure in making guests fall in love with this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 7, 2017
So glad you enjoyed your Halloween visit to Hoots - have just chopped down one of our little Christmas trees and Hoots is now looking gloriously festive!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midori C
1 review
“Very special and magical place! You can hear owls hooting every night!”
Reviewed October 29, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

it is absolutely amazing, quiet woodland location, cleverly designed and beautifully built house itself is almost work of art! We loved it! The owner, Lusinda's attention to detail and extra effort in the house would make you feel very welcomed. We have been doing 'half term glumping trip' for last 4 years but this is the best and first one we felt like we want to come back again!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simple Luxury”
Reviewed October 25, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This place is incredible. Created with such care & passion by owner Lucinda. We were fortunate to meet the craftsman who built the treehouse the following day as we were leaving and it was brilliant hearing their story together of how they created this beautiful little house together. So many beautiful details - a serene and restorative setting - luxury in the best sense of the word... Thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kodi-Bram...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical, world-escaping haven”
Reviewed October 2, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

I was told by a friend about this. I booked for 2 night for my girlfriends 25th as a surprise. Firstly, Lucinda! She is the owner and an absolute diamond. Totally up for throwing my girlfriend some red herrings if I needed to throw her off the track a bit. We arrived too lovely homemade brownies and a cute hanging Happy Birthday sign.

It's just a lovely, beautiful place. The pictures totally do it justice, it looks exactly as amazing as it does online. I posted some pictures on facebook during our stay and already had 10+ people ask for the link, wanting to book in. It's just so unique.

Thanks for such a lovely experience..... We'll be back. Kodi + Sophie

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2017
Thanks Kodi for an amazing review! Always happy to "throw a few red herrings" if needed!!!! It's a joy to witness guests love "Hoots" as much as I do - we look forward to welcoming you back one day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kate h
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect escape”
Reviewed October 1, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We enjoyed a fab couple of nights. The niece and nephew (9 and 7) loved their sleeping spot in the eaves. It was such fun for us all. Long walks (with the cats as company), toasting marshmallows at the firepit and playing on the swings and the zipwire. Thoroughly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2017
Great! Lots of people return to "Hoots" after their initial stay - maybe travelling from Melbourne might be a bit of a long way! However if you are visiting your niece and nephew again in the future, you know where to find us! "Hoots" is looking gorgeous surrounded in gorgeous autumn colours - just as you are embarking on Spring!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip S
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed September 26, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Went for one night to get away from it all - children at home too much business travel and in need of some quiet time together. What a great place - like most trips I have little time to set expectations of what I may see , however if I had for this visit it would have “exceeded “ expectations. Hosts have gone to a lot of trouble adding luxurious nice touches, high quality fixtures and fittings and everything you could possible need to make your stay comfortable. Outside of the treehouse there are lovely walks, a zip wire ! And use of tennis courts. Extremely peaceful and quiet. Highly recommend it if you are looking for a relaxing night away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KentBride...
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed September 25, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We spent the most wonderful weekend away here, no other people, fabulous accommodation, lovely deck among the trees for afternoon champagne tea and leisurely morning breakfast. Peaceful, comfortable, top quality finishings ... faultless. Lovely country walks, outdoor Firepit and zip wire if you fancied it! Would be great with the children ..... even better without! Well worth every penny! Thank you Lucinda and Andrew, a magical place. We will be back! x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2017
So glad you both enjoyed your stay at "Hoots" - we look forward to welcoming you back - maybe with the children?!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing