We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Boship Lions Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalk Farm Hotel(Willingdon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Forge(Halland)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stone House(Heathfield)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (546)
Filter reviews
546 results
Traveler rating
73
128
97
105
143
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
73
128
97
105
143
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsextensive groundsfull english breakfastenjoyable stayllamasrheas
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
335 - 340 of 546 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2012

just had 2 nights with evening meal, the hotel is undergoing a face lift but was not interfering with any guests. the staff could not have more helpful and in particular josh, thank you, we didn't know it had recently changed hand

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1,250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Great hotel this time. Its been my forth time staying at the Boship hotel. Found out later that its been took over by new owners. The food was excellent , accommodation excellent. Saw the manager in the bar but did not know it was him, or I would have told him myself. I was part of a large group staying at the hotel with the starfish project. Staff also excellent. Please keep up the good work Boship. See you next year.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Me and my partner stayed at the Boship Farm Hotel as part of the Groupon offer, which as a whole we found great value for money.
Upon arriving at the hotel the location was excellent and and exterior of the hotel was under maintenance, which we did not mind as we later found out was due to a change of ownership and part of a major refurbishment. We were greeted by a lovely woman on reception who told us everything we needed to know and directed us to our room.
We found a couple of problems with the room (heating and television didn't work) so we rang reception to see if we could get it fixed, and was assured someone was on their way. After an hour of waiting I decided to go to reception to see what the hold up was, but was treated with appalling customer service by the young boy at reception who was clearly under the influence of something (who we later found out was a Senior receptionist!)
An obviously angered member of management came and fixed the television and provided a portable heater but stank to high heaven to say the least!
The evening meal was delicious and served by helpful and polite staff, as was the cooked breakfast the following morning.

Overall the hotel and food were excellent, We enjoyed our stay but was somewhat blighted by the couple of staff!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathysd16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I believe we were lucky, we arrived 5 days after the new owner had taken over. It would have been dreadful if the old owners were still running it.
There was a lot of refurbishment going on, but nothing that had a negative impact on us. Staff were very helpful and enthusiastic. We had tea on arrival in the lounge which was excellent. Our room was ready on time and large but to say it was tired is an understatement. However it was clean with fresh lining and towels, all the shampoos etc were in the bathroom that again was very very tired.
The very small TV had 4 channels showing Central Television? For us not a problem as we do not intend to spend much time in our room.
The grounds of the hotel are large with lakes woods etc. and look really good, the hotel built in 1650 is central to many attractions, shame about the continual rain when we stayed.
We had dinner both nights and the food and service was excellent. The full English breakfast set you up for the day.
The bar area was very pleasant bar prices could be better but the log fire helped us get over that.
No internet, and very tiered bedrooms let the place down.
It was obvious the new owner (Lion hotels Eastbourne) was moving fast to improve the hotel and will probably solve all the issues before Xmas.

Room Tip: All the anex rooms should be quite as they over look the open grounds and are double glazed, the room we had was warm even though we turned the heating off.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyjacquiviewworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I've been coming to the Boship for many years now and I'm very fond of the place. In recent months it's really significantly improved: The building and grounds were always lovely and always it's strong point and this remains the case, but the food and service have dramatically improved under new management and direction this year.

It's certainly seen highs and lows and I can recognise some of the negatives comments about the food and so forth from previous years and periods. But the three times I've stayed here this year, the food has been fantastic and all the other guests have found the same.

The rooms are currently being refurbished, so I can see that some of the older rooms are a bit tired and some comments here reflect that, but it's clearly being addressed and they are currently moving through the hotel and re-decorating the rooms.

It's got a good little bar with nice lagers and beers on tap, my only recommendation is that for some reason it feels more bare and less cosy than it used to.

I look forward to staying here again over the coming years.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamBton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews