We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Hidden Gem at Hartfield"”
Review of The Anchor Inn

The Anchor Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hartfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Anchor Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hartfield B&B and Inns
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“"Hidden Gem at Hartfield"”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Enjoyed this pub, friendly, good food and most of all comfy beds! They only have the two bedrooms one double and one twin, breakfast straight forward no frills. We happened to stay on a Friday night which was steak night plus a drink thrown in, good value.

Room Tip: Both good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saroko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    12
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
26
25
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesex
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've stayed at The Anchor a handful of times over the years, and the previous time the room had been looking pretty tired. But they've clearly done a lot of work, the room was crisp and fresh, good bathroom, firm comfy bed and lovely and quiet. Breakfast was good too. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Red_to_the_bone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laughton
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Didn't stay in the B&B, but used the restaurant and the food was superb. Chef was very accommodating and was keen to recommend dishes based on availability of fresh local produce. Although we didn't stay, the pub is ideally located for Poo Bear country.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank LaughtonFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

A really friendly place with extremely comfortable, clean and pleasant accommodation. We used it as a base for some local walks and enjoyed the informal, attractive surroundings. Unpretentious pub food in large quantities and a substantial breakfast set us up for the day. Easygoing, warm staff made it a very relaxed break.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Breezybrightonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

My wife and I booked to stay here whilst attending our grand-daughter's 3rd birthday party in the next village where they now have 2 children with separate bedrooms so no spare bedroom for us any more. We arrived at around 6pm and meals were being served in the bar so staff were busy but we were welcomed and shown to our room quite quickly. The pub got quite noisy and busy in the evening but we could not hear it in our room at all. The bathroom was quite tiny but the shower in it was quite big with an electric shower that was very efficient. There was a large screen television at the opposite end of the room to the beds with an electric kettle adjacent to it. The tea, coffee and biscuits however were at the other end of the room on a large wooden tray standing on a small table adjacent to 6 coat hooks and 6 hangers which is where we had to hang our clothes as there was no wardrobe. There were plenty of biscuits and a variety of coffees in jars and packets with more than enough small containers of cream and milks to last us for 2 nights, which was as well as no-one came to clear away the used ones or wash up the cups we used ready for the next morning. The only other thing we were mildly surprised about was that no-one changed our towels or re-made the beds ready for the second night.
We were offered a choice of breakfasts and tea and coffee etc in the mornings and had a full English on the first day in which all the food was lovely.
On the second day we started with a cereal and milk but had to ask for replacements as the milk was off, but it was changed immediately. This has not put us off and we shall certainly book here again the next time we visit our family.

Room Tip: We got the one overlooking the garden. It had 2 very comfortable single beds with clean and pressed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoemanEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Arrived at the pub, have previously been here before, to have a family meal. Walked in the main bar area to the Restaurant no one came to take any order for drinks or food too busy serving regulars in the bar area it appeared, after 5 mins walked out, lost out on a large food order. Restaurant area looked nicely laid out, pity wont be coming back, and such a nice village location

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank transporterdcc750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Thank you for a great short stay, a shame it was not longer, The staff were very friendly and the food was good. Beer was just right and gave me a good nights sleep :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartfield
3.7 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
6.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
1,283 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Roebuck Hotel
The Roebuck Hotel
#1 of 2 in Forest Row
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Brambletye Hotel
Brambletye Hotel
#2 of 2 in Forest Row
223 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
682 reviews
7.8 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor Inn

Property: The Anchor Inn
Address: Church Street, Hartfield TN7 4AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hartfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hartfield
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
The Anchor Hotel Hartfield
The Anchor Inn Hartfield, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing