We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly recommended”
Review of The Anchor Inn

The Anchor Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hartfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Anchor Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hartfield B&B and Inns
Arnhem, The Netherlands
1 review
“Thoroughly recommended”
Reviewed November 5, 2011

I stayed a couple of days at the Anchor and had an excellent time. The room and bathroom were spotless and the bed was very comfortable with a thick duvet. Only the window could use a net curtain. It would give you just that little bit of extra privacy. The staff are very professional and the food is very good. The bowl of mussels was enormous. The Anchor has a big dining room and could easily serve a busload of people. The manager James was very friendly and helpful , telling me about the walking tracks in these beautiful surroundings. I will definitely come back someday.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erwin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    12
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
26
25
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tring, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed at The Anchor whilst golfing nearby. All the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, the food was good and home cooked to order including the breakfasts - the portion of prawns was the biggest I've ever seen! The room was spacious and clean with plenty of toiletries and tea and coffee. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have slept in at a hotel anywhere in the UK. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golftraveller49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed at the Anchor after a family 30th Birthday party in the Pub Garden. The Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We had two rooms and they set up an extra bed to make a triple and a double for us and our three kids. The rooms were very smart and had some very nice touches, with attention to detail. Would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonSamways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Warm, friendly pub and Inn, perfect if you are looking for a pub with a traditional village atmosphere. The food is very tasty and the service was excellent - we were made to feel very welcome. The Inns rooms themselves are newly refurbished and come complete with flat screen TV's.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinah016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

I stayed here last weekend with my husband as we were going to a wedding in Tunbridge Wells and had left it too late to find a hotel to book into with reasonable rates.
We had viewed local places to stay and The Anchor Inn in hartfield came up as an option.
It is in a beautiful village, and we couldn't have been more pleased with our decision to stay there.
The rooms, we were told had been newly refurbished, very nicely done up, boutique style design, neutral colours. ensuite shower room, lovely and clean. Bed very comfortable, lovely crisp white cotton sheets, made for a good nights sleep.
Fluffy towels and coffee/tea making facilities all in the room with a flat screen TV too!
We were given a key to let ourselves back into the building, which meant we didn't need to be back by a certain curfew.
Check in was easy, as was check out. £75 per night including a delicious cooked breakfast in the morning, served by friendly staff.
James, the manager was also very helpful when I booked over the phone and also ordered a cab for us to be picked up from the wedding we went to, which turned up on time and was really well priced.
Thanks to all at the Anchor Inn, see you again soon!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katieb8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2011

I stayed at the Anchor Inn last year and found it friendly enough we wanted to return. We were amazed by the complete transformation of the rooms. Our room looked more like a room of a smart boutique hotel a far cry from the tired looking room we had last year. Food had equally improved and we had an amazing evening evening meal and a great breakfast. Will be highly recommending this one to anyone wanting to stay near Ashdown Forest!!! We'll definately be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phesantpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2011

What a lovely pub, real New England look. The staff were lovely and so helpful, bedroom and bathroom spotless, looking out onto a beautiful house with roses growing up the wall. .I was surprised to read previous reviews but then we had taken a chance and just looked for B and B's in the area. The bonus the food, excellent. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 671cathym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartfield
3.7 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
6.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
1,281 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Roebuck Hotel
The Roebuck Hotel
#1 of 2 in Forest Row
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Brambletye Hotel
Brambletye Hotel
#2 of 2 in Forest Row
223 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
682 reviews
7.8 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor Inn

Property: The Anchor Inn
Address: Church Street, Hartfield TN7 4AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hartfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hartfield
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
The Anchor Hotel Hartfield
The Anchor Inn Hartfield, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing