We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If your under the age of 60 and like your food DO NOT!!!!! stay here...”
Review of The Roebuck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Roebuck Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forest Row
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

From the outside this hotel has lots of potential and when you first walk in your not disappointed as it looks very cosy and inviting. However this is where it ends. The welcoming at reception is frosty and not at all welcoming, staff are rude and could not even crack a smile. The rooms are tired and dated. There are stains on the carpets and could seriously do witha paint. The dinner was awful a very basic prawn cocktail with watery frozen prawns with no flavour, hard vegetables and burnt steak pie and the complimentary breakfast was possibly the worst I have ever had...under cooked eggs, cold toast, burnt pastries and ham that looked brown not pink. Whilst under the same management we will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthYorkman, Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2015

Appreciated thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
There are newer reviews for The Roebuck Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 548 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

We originally stayed in this hotel late 2012 after attending a family event in the area, we booked 2 rooms for a family of five, ate dinner and were happy with the stay. So when we needed to stay in the area again last friday we tried to book the same. My husband called the Roebuck and booked the rooms.

We arrived at 6pm following some time in the car, The three children (the youngest is 18 months) and I went to reception while my husband took the bags out of the car, I greated the male receptionist and explained we had two rooms booked in our family name, he laughed in my face, then told me he had no booking under that name.

My husband joined me at reception and we greated in a similar fashon, Obviously we asked the receptionist to check again and my husband explained to him how he had booked on the telephone (asking for two rooms close together and a dinner reservation etc etc) the receptionist replied, you havent booked here.....

As it transpired we had made a mistake and booked another Roebuck hotel. BUT what I am reveiwing is the responce from this member or staff who could clearly see we were travelling with Children
Following laughing at me, he went on to tell us we could not have made a booking with his hotel, only when asked did he tell us his hotel was full but he also add, with pride in his voice that the only other local hotel was also full... He made no ther suggestions how we could find a room for the night. I would expect hotel staff to treat every member of the public as a possible guest, he was not helpfull, he was rude.
We took the three children back to the car and sat in his car park, within 15 mins we had three possible hotels - the farest being 20 mins drive away, we stayed in the Chequers Inn - wonderful place, fantastic food, we had three courses for £9.95 I will (as I have with other hotels) be writting the Chequers Inn a good review.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank debo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthYorkman, Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2015

Appreciated thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at the Roebuck for 2 nights on bed & breakfast and also ate in the restaurant on both nights.
The hotel rooms are clean and the staff were extremely friendly.
The breakfast was very good with a lovely selection of fresh fruit, cereals and of course a fully cooked English breakfast which was also very good.
The evening meals in the restaurant were good and the drinks represented good value for money.
Overall a very enjoyable stay - Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusPassHolders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthYorkman, Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2015

Appreciated thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stopped here on the off chance while taking parents out for the day. Good food and good service for a reasonable price. Friendly staff which was good and helpful with disabled mother in law.
Prices average although more special offers would be great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthYorkman, Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2015

Appreciated thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed for one night after attending a 50th wedding anniversary party locally. The hotel is an old traditional type establishment with leaded windows and beams. The bar is a quite area with comfortable chairs. When we arrived at around midday we were able to leave our bags in the room which was overlooking the gardens and away from the busy A22 road. The room was clean and comfortable with plenty of hot water. The bathroom was a little cramped but quite adequate for an overnight stay.
On our return from the party we only wanted a snack and it was no problem for us to share a Lasagne and salad. We enjoyed a bottle of red wine priced very reasonably and retired to a very comfortable bed. The breakfast was cooked to order which is so rare these days and was most enjoyable. This hotel is part of the Old English Inn chain and we will definitely look at other hotels in the group when travelling in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthYorkman, Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2015

Appreciated thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We needed to stay in the area but with very few good quality hotels in Forest Row we decided to plumb for the Roebuck. This is not a modern hotel but traditional and simple.

It needs to be said right at the beginning that the staff, from the reception and restaurant to housekeeping could not have been more friendly or helpful.

It is obvious as soon as you walk through the doors that the premises have seen better days, worn out carpets,old curtains,dated furniture, a miss matched array of tables and chairs a little TLC needed but saying that everything was in working order and very "cosy".

We had a large double room on the back overlooking allotments and a large car park, surprisingly quiet and comfortable. Tea and coffee tray with more available on request,bright and tidy bathroom with our only quibble, the towels provided had seen better days and were a little thread bare, it's always nice to put a fluffy towel around you when you get out the bath.

The food served in the restaurant is not gourmet, but properly supplied by 3663 or Brakes saying that it fills an hole when In need of something hot and filling. Breakfast could not be faulted with both hot and cold food available.

If you are spending time on the coast Brighton and Hove plus surrounding areas it is well worth travelling out to an hotel like the Roebuck as you get better value for your money. Would not think twice about staying here again and if you don't mind hotels that need a little restoration this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lowena7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthYorkman, Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2015

Appreciated thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is an old inn, part of a group called "Your Old English Inn" (www.youroldenglishinn.co.uk), and belongs to the brewer Greene, King. What you get is absolutely traditional; leaded windows, patterned carpets, a lot of oak and mahogany, beamed ceilings. This is not a boutique hotel, and the food does not pretend to be a gastronomic experience. The rooms are, however, extremely comfortable (we slept amazingly well), and the food is delicious. The menu is sensibly varied, there are specials of the day, and a prix fixe menu of extraordinary value. Breakfast is generous, with very good choices. The Sunday lunch is outstanding: a carvery buffet offering three perfectly roasted meats with all the trimmings. You are given a huge plate on which to help yourself - not the usual mini-dishes the meaner-spirited buffets offer. This meal is so delicious and such good value that booking is essential; it is very popular indeed with the locals, and every part of the hotel was full of happy Sunday lunchers.

Above all, the staff deserve a very special mention. Outstanding, in that there seem to be few of them, but all of them serve equally in the restaurant, at the bar, at the reception desk with unfailing charm and cheerfulness. Nothing is too much trouble, and they give the impression that they are very happy in their work.

I recommend the Roebuck for a very comfortable stay indeed. You will be exceptionally well looked after, I am sure.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ConstantineG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthYorkman, Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2015

Appreciated thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forest Row
0.7 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
2.2 mi away
Brambletye Hotel
Brambletye Hotel
#2 of 2 in Forest Row
225 reviews
5.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Best Western The Birch Hotel
Best Western The Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haywards Heath
406 reviews
4.9 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
7.0 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roebuck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roebuck Hotel

Address: Wych Cross 1, Forest Row RH18 5JL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Forest Row
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forest Row
Price Range: $79 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Roebuck Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Roebuck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Roebuck Hotel Forest Row, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing