We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two artists with romance in mind...”
Review of The Roebuck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Roebuck Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forest Row
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Linocut artist Chris Sinden collected his "recently landed" partner, pastel artist Jackie Cox
from Terminal 5, Heathrow. She'd been working on a commission in Texas. A romantic "Welcome Home" was on the cards.

We headed for the Roebuck, a constant favourite of ours.
I'd already telephoned the manager to ask if our room could be made available at 12.00 instead of the usual 14.00. It was, so Jackie was able to catch up on a couple hours
of much needed sleep.

The Roebuck Hotel is a 17th century country house full of "Old World Charm"
...lots of oak beams and open fires. (We later took tea on one of the leather sofas in front
of a blazing fire in the lounge.) The hotel is a convenient place from where to visit Sheffield Park and its Bluebell Railway, Hever Castle or, a little further, Brighton. But we weren't there for sightseeing!!

Our room was warm, clean and quiet and overlooked the lawned garden to the rear of the hotel.

Much later, we took dinner in the Beagle Bar having decided that "comfy chairs" were in order rather than formal dining in the restaurant. Our meal came up to expectations (as it always does at the Hotel). A nightcap each, followed by several games of pool(!), before retiring to our room.

I enjoy my Roebuck breakfast because it's "waitress service".
Not warm components of an English Breakfast going limp in containers under heated lights! We placed our order and hot, fresh food was individually served.

Our brief stay at the Roebuck was an enjoyable one and a fitting "Welcome Home"
for "jet lagged Jackie". We recommend the Roebuck for your Sussex stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Thank you for your review and we are really pleased you enjoyed your visit and in particular your freshly cooked breakfast …thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (555)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 555 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed here last year and enjoyed it enough to return for an overnighter. Had a fantastic deal on the room-under £30- and the evening meal was excellent. My wife chose one of the specials and was very impressed. Total bill for dinner b&b and drinks before and during dinner was under £80.
All done with friendly service from manager down, a great team.
Rooms are a bit small but comfortable although pillows a bit hard. Also suffers from the problem of overloud muzak in public areas, though thankfully not in the restaurant over dinner.
The glass of white wine that came with the fish was a bit less than well chilled, apology given for using a glass straight out of the washer and replaced without fuss.
At these prices the whole experience is brilliant value and we shall return again if we plan to be in Sussex for a break.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PnJStanmoreLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Thank you for your review and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We called in for lunch recently and were very disappointed.We were greeted by a very amiable
Mine Host, but the food unfortunately failed to deliver. The menu is long which clearly points to the microwave. I chose Haddock and chips which was poorly presented and tasted awful. My wife had a chicken dish which she said was tasteless.
Price for my fish and chips nearly £9. Too much.
They do however serve a nice pint.
Dich the microwave get a decent chef and limit the menu to home cooked fayre.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topper1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Thank you for your comments and we are sorry you didn’t enjoy your fish and chips and chicken dish on this occasion we will check that all future meals are spot on ..thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We visited this inn in may and really enjoyed it so booked again to visit ash down forest and national trust gardens close by to see the autumn colours. It did not disappoint. The food is excellent and good value. It is cooked to perfection. Plates and food hot, wine chilled. The ambience in the bar which we ate in is second to none. There were only a few people there but felt a lovely atmosphere. It was lovely and warm. The standard rooms are a bit tired but this reflects in the price. The bathrooms could do with a refurb or at least regrouting. The bed linen is excellent quality and the beds very comfortable as are the fluffy white towels. Breakfast has greatly improved since our last visit. There is now waitress service with a wonderful choice. All cooked to perfection. Again a lovely ambience in the restaurant. The staff are very efficient and polite and we felt very spoilt. We are already planning our next visit in the new year.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angie60Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Thank you for your feedback and glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here in September for two evenings. The first impression was good. But on entering the Inn we were told we could not eat the following evening as a wedding was booked so would have to find somewhere else at short notice.We had not been informed due to booking on line apparently.
As we had an appointment the next day at eight thirty we enquired as to the time of breakfast, unfortunately we were told it wasnt untill eight. This was not convenient as we wouldnt have time to eat and get to our appointment. I had assumed that most breakfasts began to be served at seven or half seven.
That evening we ate at the Inn and as I am a vegetarian and lactose intolerant I asked what I was able to eat, the same man that was booking us in said they werent aware of my dietry requirements as [once again ] I had booked on line and they didnt read the special requirements !!!
On reaching the dinning room I asked a waitress what I was able to eat and explained my needs. She enquired whether I needed lacto free and vegetarian food for the starter or the main course ? I tried to see the funny side of her ignorance and stupidity.
The next morning we got down for breakfast at a quarter to eight in the hope that we may be able to get food a little earlier only to find the dinning room almost full of people some of which had almost finnished eating. When I enquired from the manager about the misinformation we had been given the previous evening I was told that as they had a film crew in they had done breakfast early for them, but no appology!
The breakfast was also cold !!
The food was adequate and room clean but I will not return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthYorkman, Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2015

Appreciated thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have eaten many a Sunday lunch at The Roebuck Hotel, it never fails to hit the spot the food is tasty, well cooked with a good selection of meat and variety of vegetables, superb value! If your looking for an informal lunch destination in beautiful surroundings with a warm welcome from all the staff and a filling sunday lunch The Roebuck would be hard to beat.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank janineb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthYorkman, Manager at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2015

Appreciated thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I've stayed at the Roebuck a few times and it just gets better. The staff are welcoming, friendly and very helpful. The food is good value and quality. The bar and lounge areas are cosy and comfortable. The bedroom was clean, the bed very comfy and the shower was one of the best I've come across in an hotel. I really appreciated the large bath sheets as very few hotels seem to supply these. Hot drinks, milk and biscuits were also most welcomed. Breakfast was lovely with a good selection of fresh fruit and cereal and the cooked food was of high quality and cooked to order.I will certainly continue to stay at the Roebuck in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Roebuck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you for your feedback and lovely comments which we will pass on to the Team . We are really glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forest Row
2.2 mi away
Brambletye Hotel
Brambletye Hotel
#2 of 2 in Forest Row
227 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
7.2 mi away
Best Western The Birch Hotel
Best Western The Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haywards Heath
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
1,333 reviews
7.0 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,473 reviews
4.9 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roebuck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roebuck Hotel

Address: Wych Cross 1, Forest Row RH18 5JL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Forest Row
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Forest Row
Price Range: $75 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Roebuck Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Roebuck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Roebuck Hotel Forest Row, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing