We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always provides good service and lovely wholesome meals.”
Review of Oasis Coffee Shop

Oasis Coffee Shop
Price range: $5 - $9
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A family run business offering a range of Coffees,cakes and pastries, sandwiches, breakfast and light lunches.
Bexhill on Sea
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Always provides good service and lovely wholesome meals.”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I visited the Oasis most weeks during term time and always was served with well presented and wholesome meals. The coffee and tea is exceptional and the staff friendly and helpful. Always proaud to take special guests there. Long may it continue even in the weird place Robert Clay believes Bexhill to be.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DaisyBexhillonSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    12
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Oasis by name and nature”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Simon and Nicky run a most welcoming establishment with a great variety of brilliant snacks and coffees etc. The atmosphere is very friendly and we are very confident in recommending the Oasis.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a gem in Bexhill”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Bexhill is a weird place. The town centre is dreary, dead, decades behind the times, and unspeakably dreadful. Yet the Oasis Café, half way between the station and the sea front, is a breath of fresh air.

I had the best cup of coffee here that I think I've ever had. It's gorgeous slightly smoky taste lives on in my mind and I can't wait to experience it again. I was told that it is a special blend their suppliers created just for them. It's also reasonably priced.

The menu is limited, and not in any sense exciting. But the food is beautifully prepared and presented. And again it is reasonable.

There is no real indication from the outside that there is anything special about this café. But the experience was just excellent. I'll be back. And I'd recommend it to anyone in or visiting Bexhill. Heaven knows, with excellence in such short supply in this town, this really is a welcome, and welcoming, oasis.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertClay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastbourne
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best coffee shop in town”
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Excellent, good value coffee and friendly happy-to-help staff. When I've stopped in for more than a coffee the food's always been great too

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshine_mel_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bexhill england uk
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“couldn't poach an egg but good in other ways.”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

On the plus side, friendly staff, good portion sizes, nicely cooked but some things niggled. The plastic tablecloth was tacky in both senses of the word, my coffee cup stuck to it. Also they were unable to provide a poached egg, fried or scrambled only, due to they say lack of space in the kitchen. Rather odd in the days of plug in electric rings and electric frying plans etc, surely a little space could be utilised for the healthier option. Finally was disappointed by some of the ingredients, smoked bacon did not taste at all smokey and farmhouse west country cheddar mysteriously seemed to have had a personality swap with mozzarella in an omelette. Very odd.
However, it was reasonably priced so would probably go there again without such high expectations.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lila099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oasis Coffee Shop also viewed

Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
 
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
 
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
 

Been to Oasis Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing