We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling service and food”
Review of Italian way

Italian way
Ranked #20 of 128 Restaurants in Bexhill-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Appalling service and food”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Booked this for my brother's birthday. They messed the booking up completely booking us in for 6 instead of 1. We waited over an hour for food. My brother got a pizza which was a strange hybrid of his and mine and I didn't get one. Subsequently my brother and I had to wait another the twenty minutes for replacement pizzas whilst everyone else eat. On top of this, one of the salads had several long hairs in it and the cheese was off. When our correct pizzas arrived they were soggy and obviously rushed. The couple sat behind us also sent their food back.

We received no real apology save some free beers we didn't ask for and the price of the soggy pizzas back. This restaurant has some major problems, I strongly advise you go elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jtreach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    107
    41
    25
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
116 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Speedy service with a smile”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

As soon as we sat down a charming waitress welcomed us with a smile and asked what we'd like to drink. Our drinks were with us and our meal orders were taken in a flash . We both had the tuna and cannelini beans with salad which was very fresh and delicious.We had excellent coffee to follow which was served with a little amaretto biscotto which was a nice touch.The meal was very good value for money and the experience was a pleasant one as we sat outside looking across at the sea. I'd certainly go again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nutellaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed with breakfast”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Being new to the area, a friend recommended The Italian Way to me.
Unfortunately, I was very disappointed with my experience there.

The service itself was good - my partner and I were served by a pleasant/polite waitress - but there were several problems with the food/drink order.

Firstly, I asked for cold milk with my coffee but received hot milk. Not a massive issue but it was the start of a pattern that emerged. My partner ordered a bacon sandwich on brown bread but was served bacon in between slices of white toast! I ordered a ham and mozarella panini... which is not quite what I received. The cheese was cheddar (I think) but it certainly wasn't mozarella. And the ham was rather rubber-like in texture.

I'm not sure what I was expecting. After all, it was only a short trip into town for some breakfast; I wasn't expecting a 5* meal but I was left extremely disappointed with the whole experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Proper Italian Food”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Excellent service, excellent food, a real italian restaurant, this from a neapolitan who loves his italian food

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank guglielmo2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent pasta”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We went there a few weeks ago and had a lovely meal.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank KempyBurrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Italian way also viewed

Battle, East Sussex
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 
Hastings, East Sussex
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
 
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 

Been to Italian way? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing